Doom Runner (yet another graphical Doom launcher)

Launchers like ZDL, DoomRunner, and others belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
aJynks
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2024 6:19 pm

Re: Doom Runner (yet another graphical Doom launcher)

Post by aJynks »

I ended up writing a new version of my batfile....

Code: Select all

@echo off

rem Ensure we have at least two parameters
if "%~1"=="" (
    echo Error: You need to provide at least two parameters.
    echo Usage: moddir [on|off] "Name"
    exit /b
)

rem Parameters
set "pram1=%~1"
set "pram2=%~2"

rem Check if the second parameter is enclosed in quotes and strip them if so
set "name=%pram2%"
if "%name:~0,1%"=="\"" if "%name:~-1%"=="\"" (
    set "name=%name:~1,-1%"  rem Remove surrounding quotes only if they exist
)

rem Adjust sourcefile_cfg based on pram1 (on or off)
if /i "%pram1%"=="on" (
    set "sourcefile_cfg=e:\Applications\Games\Doom\_ConfigData\Doom-mouseLook_ON.cfg"
) else if /i "%pram1%"=="off" (
    set "sourcefile_cfg=e:\Applications\Games\Doom\_ConfigData\Doom-mouseLook_OFF.cfg"
) else (
    echo Error: Invalid first parameter. It must be "on" or "off".
    exit /b
)

rem Create target paths
set "sourcefile_ini=e:\Applications\Games\Doom\_ConfigData\_Default\_Default.ini"
set "target_dir=e:\Applications\Games\Doom\_ConfigData\%name%"
set "target_ini_File=e:\Applications\Games\Doom\_ConfigData\%name%\%name%.ini"
set "target_cfg_File=e:\Applications\Games\Doom\_ConfigData\%name%\%name%.cfg"

rem Create directory if it doesn't exist
if not exist "%target_dir%" (
    mkdir "%target_dir%"
)

rem Copy and rename the INI file into the specified directory
if exist "%sourcefile_ini%" (
    copy "%sourcefile_ini%" "%target_ini_File%"
) else (
    echo Source file "%sourcefile_ini%" not found.
    exit /b
)

rem Copy and rename the config file into the specified directory
if exist "%sourcefile_cfg%" (
    copy "%sourcefile_cfg%" "%target_cfg_File%"
) else (
    echo Source file "%sourcefile_cfg%" not found.
    exit /b
)

rem Remove read-only attribute if set
attrib -r "%target_ini_File%"
attrib -r "%target_cfg_File%"

rem Replace line 384 (array index 347) in INI file using PowerShell
powershell -Command ^
    "$content = Get-Content -Path '%target_ini_File%';" ^
    "$content[26] = 'Path=%target_cfg_File%';" ^
    "$content | Set-Content -Path '%target_ini_File%'"

echo Script completed successfully.
pause
I mainly play on gzDoom.

In the "add engine" section I added the engine, but also set both the data and config dir to "e:\Applications\Games\Doom\_ConfigData\". Then in the Doomrunner "data directories" section, ticked all the 3 boxes. What this dose is make screenshots and save games go into my "_ConfigData" inside a subdir named the same as whatever profile I am running.

So the way this works is that on a raw install I setup a "base settings" ini file I called _Default.ini... this is just my personal keybindings, and the gfx and sound settings I use, it is read only so I do not screw it up. This ini file is copied into the new profile directory. This way doom is always "set up" and ready to go for any new profile, with most of my settings set.

I also run basically two separate CFG files... one has Mouse Look Disabled, and the other Enabled. Both these can not be set in the INI file but must be done with "dmflags 262144' added to the CFG file, or you need to go into options every time and set it in gameplay options.... so I have one cfg file called "Doom-mouseLook_OFF.cfg" and another called "Doom-mouseLook_ON.cfg" (which is just an empty file)

The batfile works like this... : moddir on "Name of Profile". [moddir.bat | pram1 = <on/off> | pram2 = "<name of profile>"]
  • It will create a dub directory with the name of pram2 in the directory "_ConfigData" (in camel case and whitespaces)
  • It will then copy either the on / off cfg file into the same dir depending on if pram1 is "on" or "off".
  • It then copies my "default.ini" file into the dir
  • It then renames the copied cfg and ini file to pram2.ext
  • It then edits the ini file so that [Doom.AutoExec] path points to the new copied cfg file.
Once all that is done I go into DoomRunner and make a new profile and name it the same as I did for pram2, then select the ini file.

Now I end up with a Doomrunner profile that has its own INI file. Its own cfg file. It's own screenshots and its own saves, completely separated from the rest of my mods and any other profile.

Demo
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=InK1wyoeQtU

So say I want to play a new megawad... i just type moddir off "Eviternity II"... go into DoomRunner and make a new profile called "Eviternity II", select the ini file from the drop down, add my mods and play, with mouse look off. Any settings or CFG changes I do are not completely localized to this one profile.

The batfile used my own paths, but you can replace them with anything you like... it should be trivial to get it working on any directory structure as long as both the data and config dirs in the engine options, inside doomrunner are set to the same dir.
Major Cooke wrote: Sat Feb 15, 2025 12:35 pm This probably goes outside the scope of this launcher, and likely may have already been talked about, but in case if it hasn't yet... It'd be nice if we could create "packs" of mods (i.e. if I make a pack called AEons of Death, it'd have AEoD.pk3 and AEoDdat.pk3), with the ability to reposition the packs much like regular mods.

You can save packs and they're simply just .DRP files (Doom Runner Pack) which are simply text files that have the directory of each file/folder/custom command line inside. This would allow for loading/saving pack files into presets for quick and easy positioning of files to load.
This is a great idea... I was just playing with "Smooth Doom (MBF21) v6.1"... it is released as a bunch of small modules and patches... so to run the full mod is like 9 mods!
User avatar
Major Cooke
Posts: 8202
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 3:55 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Location: QZDoom Maintenance Team

Re: Doom Runner (yet another graphical Doom launcher)

Post by Major Cooke »

Youda0008 wrote: Sat Feb 15, 2025 2:31 pm Hmmm, i actually like this idea. Please write it to https://github.com/Youda008/DoomRunner/issues, so that i don't forget it.
It might also solve one of the oldest suggestions on github - https://github.com/Youda008/DoomRunner/issues/46. And it's not even hard to implement.
Oh cool! Done.
aJynks wrote: Sat Feb 15, 2025 3:10 pm This is a great idea... I was just playing with "Smooth Doom (MBF21) v6.1"... it is released as a bunch of small modules and patches... so to run the full mod is like 9 mods!
Thanks! Once this becomes a thing, I will convert full time off of ZDL and permanently make the switch over to Doom Runner for good.
User avatar
Youda0008
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2022 4:37 am

Re: Doom Runner (yet another graphical Doom launcher)

Post by Youda0008 »

Major Cooke wrote: Sat Feb 15, 2025 8:31 pm Thanks! Once this becomes a thing, I will convert full time off of ZDL and permanently make the switch over to Doom Runner for good.
Damn, that took a hell lot of effort and features to outcompete that dated application :lol: :lol:
Klemc
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2022 4:01 pm

Re: Doom Runner (yet another graphical Doom launcher)

Post by Klemc »

This would have been day1 if it handled batch files
User avatar
Major Cooke
Posts: 8202
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 3:55 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Location: QZDoom Maintenance Team

Re: Doom Runner (yet another graphical Doom launcher)

Post by Major Cooke »

HAH! I'm a simple person. ZDL has everything I need, except for the ability to have customizable packs. But hey, once it's in here, I'll probably start utilizing a lot more than just that!
User avatar
Hellser
Global Moderator
Posts: 2747
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 4:43 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Manjaro Linux
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: Citadel Station

Re: Doom Runner (yet another graphical Doom launcher)

Post by Hellser »

Youda0008 wrote: Sun Feb 23, 2025 7:42 am
Major Cooke wrote: Sat Feb 15, 2025 8:31 pm Thanks! Once this becomes a thing, I will convert full time off of ZDL and permanently make the switch over to Doom Runner for good.
Damn, that took a hell lot of effort and features to outcompete that dated application :lol: :lol:
Yeah, most of us like to use a program because we're familiar with it even if it is antique. If I was still on Windows, I'd use ZDoom Executor (ZDE). But having moved to Linux, I found DoomRunner in the AUR and have been using it. Admittedly, the UI feels a little clunky to me but that could just be a "Hellser, you idiot" thing. For context, I'm not used to selecting a map set THEN mods. ZDL/ZDE goes by "Select whatever wads you want to use and fix your order".
User avatar
mamaluigisbagel
Posts: 526
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2014 7:25 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Doom Runner (yet another graphical Doom launcher)

Post by mamaluigisbagel »

Hellser wrote: Mon Feb 24, 2025 11:58 pm For context, I'm not used to selecting a map set THEN mods. ZDL/ZDE goes by "Select whatever wads you want to use and fix your order".
To be fair, you don't HAVE to use the "select map pack" section. I often ignore it and just add the map packs I want in the same place I add the mods. Gives more control over the load order if I need to move the mapset in it. :)
User avatar
Youda0008
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2022 4:37 am

Re: Doom Runner (yet another graphical Doom launcher)

Post by Youda0008 »

Klemc wrote: Sun Feb 23, 2025 7:47 am This would have been day1 if it handled batch files
That's not so easy. You're essentially asking me to write a Windows shell interpreter. Of course i could do some primitive parser supporting only single line commands with only basic options, but that would stop working as soon as somebody wrote something like this

Code: Select all

set MOD_DIR=D:\Games\Doom\mods
start gzdoom.exe -file %MOD_DIR%\A.pk3 %MOD_DIR%\B.pk3
And i can already imagine that as soon as that feature drops in, people will start pleading to add support for this and that so that they can load all of their old batch files, and it will soon turn into a nightmare to maintain.
User avatar
Youda0008
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2022 4:37 am

Re: Doom Runner (yet another graphical Doom launcher)

Post by Youda0008 »

Hellser wrote: Mon Feb 24, 2025 11:58 pm Yeah, most of us like to use a program because we're familiar with it even if it is antique. If I was still on Windows, I'd use ZDoom Executor (ZDE). But having moved to Linux, I found DoomRunner in the AUR and have been using it. Admittedly, the UI feels a little clunky to me but that could just be a "Hellser, you idiot" thing. For context, I'm not used to selecting a map set THEN mods. ZDL/ZDE goes by "Select whatever wads you want to use and fix your order".
It get it, it was just a joke. I'm also lazy to learn new stuff when i don't have to.
But the list of map files is optional, it's there only to provide additional convenience for the common use cases i targeted. If you pretend it's not there and only use the right list, it behaves just like ZDL.
Klemc
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2022 4:01 pm

Re: Doom Runner (yet another graphical Doom launcher)

Post by Klemc »

Youda0008 wrote: Tue Feb 25, 2025 3:12 am
Klemc wrote: Sun Feb 23, 2025 7:47 am This would have been day1 if it handled batch files
That's not so easy. You're essentially asking me to write a Windows shell interpreter. Of course i could do some primitive parser supporting only single line commands with only basic options, but that would stop working as soon as somebody wrote something like this

Code: Select all

set MOD_DIR=D:\Games\Doom\mods
start gzdoom.exe -file %MOD_DIR%\A.pk3 %MOD_DIR%\B.pk3
And i can already imagine that as soon as that feature drops in, people will start pleading to add support for this and that so that they can load all of their old batch files, and it will soon turn into a nightmare to maintain.
One line in a batch can do more than a lot of lines, that's the answer you give them :p

Me i'm a one liner btw !
User avatar
stainedofmind
Posts: 184
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2019 10:59 am

Re: Doom Runner (yet another graphical Doom launcher)

Post by stainedofmind »

Youda0008 wrote: Sat Feb 15, 2025 2:31 pm
Major Cooke wrote: Sat Feb 15, 2025 12:35 pm This probably goes outside the scope of this launcher, and likely may have already been talked about, but in case if it hasn't yet... It'd be nice if we could create "packs" of mods (i.e. if I make a pack called AEons of Death, it'd have AEoD.pk3 and AEoDdat.pk3), with the ability to reposition the packs much like regular mods.

You can save packs and they're simply just .DRP files (Doom Runner Pack) which are simply text files that have the directory of each file/folder/custom command line inside. This would allow for loading/saving pack files into presets for quick and easy positioning of files to load.
Hmmm, i actually like this idea. Please write it to https://github.com/Youda008/DoomRunner/issues, so that i don't forget it.
It might also solve one of the oldest suggestions on github - https://github.com/Youda008/DoomRunner/issues/46. And it's not even hard to implement.
I'm very much looking forward to this feature. It's one I didn't realize I needed until I read this! I have so many "must have" mods I play with that when I want to set up a new profile, I often find myself just not doing it because I don't want to go through the hassle. This would be an absolute lifesaver. Ideally, it would be nice to have an interface to build packs, but I'll be more than happy with just the text file reading.

That said, Doom Runner is still my only launcher I use, and I'm glad you're still updating it. Absolutely fantastic work, and thank you.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17478
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: Doom Runner (yet another graphical Doom launcher)

Post by Nash »

DoomRunner has been my permanent launcher for a very long time now. I even use it on the Steam Deck to run GZDoom from game mode. I've been working on a GZDoom on Steam Deck tutorial that revolves around DoomRunner.
NotTheTime
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2023 8:51 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10

Re: Doom Runner (yet another graphical Doom launcher)

Post by NotTheTime »

In version 1.9.0 I got a bug. The programm crashes when I try to drag the order of mods with the mouse.
User avatar
stainedofmind
Posts: 184
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2019 10:59 am

Re: Doom Runner (yet another graphical Doom launcher)

Post by stainedofmind »

NotTheTime wrote: Thu Mar 06, 2025 12:26 am In version 1.9.0 I got a bug. The programm crashes when I try to drag the order of mods with the mouse.
Keep forgetting to post, but I can second this. Doesn't seem to matter how it's done, up, down, whatever, but it crashes every time.

Also, when I first upgraded to the current version, it updated my existing presets, and when I had this crash happen with it, it kept a hidden duplicate version of one of the mods in the list. Wouldn't show up in DoomRunner, but it would load into GzDoom. In retrospect, it may have just been a command line issue. I unfortunately do not have any screenshots or logs or whatever, and I haven't run into this issue since then.

Return to “Launchers”