Doom Runner (yet another graphical Doom launcher)

Software projects like source ports (EDGE, Eternity, etc), launchers like ZDL, and other useful utilities belong in this forum.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: Doom Runner (yet another graphical Doom launcher)

Postby NightFright » Tue Sep 17, 2019 10:16 am

It's really good. This could be the last launcher I might ever use.
User avatar
NightFright
 
Joined: 02 May 2008
Location: Germany

Re: Doom Runner (yet another graphical Doom launcher)

Postby site » Tue Sep 17, 2019 11:29 am

e: I just realized the way it's designed it cant do things like edit load order to place mods before mappacks to allow for overwrites and unless you explicitly make a preset it doesn't save any mods loaded on exit, so I'm thinking this just isn't something made for my needs and I'll bow out
site
 
Joined: 02 Jun 2019
Operating System: Windows Vista/7 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Legacy GZDoom)

Re: Doom Runner (yet another graphical Doom launcher)

Postby NightFright » Wed Sep 18, 2019 1:59 am

Well, for "map packs" I only use the official DLCs, e.g. nerve.wad, sigil.wad, sve.wad, while "mods" is for anything else. Like that it's very possible to determine load order.
User avatar
NightFright
 
Joined: 02 May 2008
Location: Germany

Re: Doom Runner (yet another graphical Doom launcher)

Postby site » Wed Sep 18, 2019 9:44 am

I guess, but at that point having a separate Maps list just for official pwads feels like a waste of ui space when you could just put those in the mod list as well
site
 
Joined: 02 Jun 2019
Operating System: Windows Vista/7 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Legacy GZDoom)

Re: Doom Runner (yet another graphical Doom launcher)

Postby youda008 » Mon Sep 23, 2019 2:25 pm

I have never encountered a case, where a mod would have to be loaded before a map, so yea it isn't designed for that, sorry. But you can always just forget the middle window with maps and just use the one on the right for everything (like you would do in ZDL), there you have absolute freedom for ordering. The path of mods isn't really anything more than just a default location for the "Choose a file" dialog, it doesn't limit you what you can put in.

The point of the separate Map pack list is that it's auto-loaded from directory so it makes it faster to switch between maps (compared to having to select a file, then remove it, and then add another via file dialog).
In general the launcher is designed to "optimize" the most common tasks, even for the cost that less common tasks become more difficult. But you can always fallback to ZDL style, where you manage everything by yourself in the right window.
youda008
 
Joined: 01 May 2019

Re: Doom Runner (yet another graphical Doom launcher)

Postby NightFright » Tue Sep 24, 2019 1:00 am

Like I said, I use the maps window for official stuff like sve.wad or sigil.wad. Other than that, I guess I wouldn't need it for anything, either.
User avatar
NightFright
 
Joined: 02 May 2008
Location: Germany


Re: Doom Runner (yet another graphical Doom launcher)

Postby NightFright » Thu Oct 17, 2019 8:56 am

I am not quite sure how the "Current" preset entry works, but I guess what you set up here is always selected first when you start the launcher. Since this apparently has to be done manually, I suggest a function that allows you to copy over any other preset to "Current" or erase it on demand.

Example:
- "Current" empty
- Switch to "Doom II" preset
- Copy any settings from "Doom II" preset (engine, iwad, map pack, config, mods) to "Current"
- Once done: Erase all entries in "Current" (via button/hotkey/whatever) - or leave it until another preset is copied over
User avatar
NightFright
 
Joined: 02 May 2008
Location: Germany

Re: Doom Runner (yet another graphical Doom launcher)

Postby youda008 » Fri Oct 18, 2019 3:24 pm

The "Current" preset exists for only one purpose and that is when people add some things to the other widgets without having any preset explicitely selected, their work is not lost. You can rename it to make it a regular preset, it will be re-generated next time again.

I understand what you want, but i don't understand the motivation. Why would you want to move things into the "Current" preset? Does it bother you that you have to make 1 click to restore the content you want? I will rather make it, so that the preset selection saves on quit and restores on next start. But this seems so unneccessary.
youda008
 
Joined: 01 May 2019

Re: Doom Runner (yet another graphical Doom launcher)

Postby NightFright » Sat Oct 19, 2019 2:14 am

I think I misunderstood the purpose of the "Current" preset, then. Somehow I assumed it is there to let you quickly select the last game setup you played without having to select the last preset you used. Tbh that also seemed redundant to me since it's just one click to select the right preset.

What you wrote about the "Current" preset makes sense and I guess it's a much better reason to have it than the one I thought of. In that case, my feature request is kinda needless, of course.
User avatar
NightFright
 
Joined: 02 May 2008
Location: Germany

Previous

Return to Software and Ports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests