TDBots Mk2 - v1 (11/05/2022)

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26531
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: TDBots: The fast-performing bots v14b (24/6/2019)

Post by Enjay »

Do you have a folder in your GZDoom folder called zcajun and does it have a file inside it called Bots.cfg?

If not, grab the file from the first post and put it in a zcajun folder. There's nothing problematic about the file (in fact, it used to be distributed with ZDoom). It just contains definitions for the bots. Without it, there are no bots defined.
User avatar
TDRR
Posts: 815
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 4:15 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Debian 12/ Manjaro
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Venezuela

Re: TDBots: The fast-performing bots v14b (24/6/2019)

Post by TDRR »

elCreyo wrote:I'm having a problem with adding a bot to the game. Not sure if I'm even doing it right. I'm just launching Doom 2 with the pk3 file loaded and typing addbot in the console.
Try doing what Enjay said, if you can't get it to work, try the Zandronum version instead, which comes with the botconfig integrated into the .pk3 itself.

I forgot about adding this to the usage guide, oops!
User avatar
elCreyo
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2018 1:10 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Debian 12/Windows 10

Re: TDBots: The fast-performing bots v14b (24/6/2019)

Post by elCreyo »

I'll try what Enjay said and I'll let you know if it worked.
User avatar
TDRR
Posts: 815
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 4:15 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Debian 12/ Manjaro
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Venezuela

Re: TDBots: The fast-performing bots v15 (21/7/2019)

Post by TDRR »

Updated!
Spoiler: Why did it take so long, dude?
So basically this new version just has fixes for support of Heretic, Hexen and Strife, much needed ones IMO. It also finally fixes the stupid bug where the bots go full sonic-speed when using Melee weapons.
The highlights would be that tdbots_weaponize now works with all supported IWADs, Strife finally works correctly (In DM only, because bots are extremely violent and will attack any NPC on sight) and i fixed a crash in Heretic.

Download link in the OP, as always.
TaporGaming
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2018 7:24 am
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Re: TDBots: The fast-performing bots v15 (21/7/2019)

Post by TaporGaming »

Can you make a compatbility for the LCA then after. Clusterfuck?
but... The bot's wont open the doors in cooperative
User avatar
TDRR
Posts: 815
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 4:15 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Debian 12/ Manjaro
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Venezuela

Re: TDBots: The fast-performing bots v15 (21/7/2019)

Post by TDRR »

TaporGaming wrote:Can you make a compatbility for the LCA then after. Clusterfuck?
but... The bot's wont open the doors in cooperative
Are you playing in Zandronum? If so, the bots will never open doors there. It's a Zandronum limitation i can't fix, Use ZDoom LE or ZDoom32 instead.

I'm never going to make a patch for clusterfuck. It's just far too much stuff for me to download, patch, fix and test. The bigger problem is the downloads, because i don't have Internet connection where i live, at least not at the moment. What's worse, the connection is only accessible for 2 hours, and the download speed is very slow (60kbps in the best possible case)

I will probably make a patch for LCA though. But only LCA alone, not LCA-DJB or LCA-ARK.
User avatar
TDRR
Posts: 815
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 4:15 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Debian 12/ Manjaro
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Venezuela

Re: TDBots: The fast-performing bots v16 (2/8/2019)

Post by TDRR »

Updated! This update packs a new options menu, complete with descriptions for each of the options and difficulty presets. Bind a key to the menu in the "customize controls" menu. Also added an option to reduce the bot's field of view, called tdbots_lessfov. It can be 1 or 0, if 1 the bot's FOV will be of 120 degrees, not 360.

Also was very curious to see if the TDBots could be done back in the Skulltag days, and suprisingly, it can be done with most of the features of the Zandronum version, including CVARs! You can get this version in the OP under the "other versions" spoiler. It works with Skulltag 0.98d, and once the ST content is removed, with ZDoom 2.3.1 too.
So this means that the TDBots could have been created back in... 2009?! Wow that's a decade ago! Shame i wasn't around back then, only found out about Doom in 2014.

Added a new compatibility patch, for Skulltag Content (In Zandronum) and Skulltag Emulation (In ZDoom + derivatives). Obviously requires Skulltag Emulation in ZDoom, and Skulltag data + actors or Skulltag Content in Zandronum. To clear any confusion, it works with both mods. And the version for the Skulltag sourceport doesn't require this patch.
User avatar
guest6777
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2016 2:50 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Brazil, São Paulo, Campinas

Re: TDBots: The fast-performing bots v16 (2/8/2019)

Post by guest6777 »

Can you fix the bots can't respawn and shoot me on cooperative mode :(
User avatar
TDRR
Posts: 815
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 4:15 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Debian 12/ Manjaro
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Venezuela

Re: TDBots: The fast-performing bots v16 (2/8/2019)

Post by TDRR »

guest6777 wrote:Can you fix the bots can't respawn and shoot me on cooperative mode :(
You seem to be playing on Zandronum. Right now i can't fix that because i'd need the BotC compiler, sorry but you have to play on ZDoom for now, i recommend either ZDoom32 or ZDoom LE to play with the TDBots.

About the bots shooting you on co-op, that can't be fixed as far as i know. I already tried multiple workarounds and not one worked, just disable friendly fire and the bots won't damage you.
I know it's not nice but at least the bots are much better than the built in bots on coop and actually help you.
User avatar
guest6777
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2016 2:50 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Brazil, São Paulo, Campinas

Re: TDBots: The fast-performing bots v16 (2/8/2019)

Post by guest6777 »

TDRR wrote:
guest6777 wrote:Can you fix the bots can't respawn and shoot me on cooperative mode :(
You seem to be playing on Zandronum. Right now i can't fix that because i'd need the BotC compiler, sorry but you have to play on ZDoom for now, i recommend either ZDoom32 or ZDoom LE to play with the TDBots.

About the bots shooting you on co-op, that can't be fixed as far as i know. I already tried multiple workarounds and not one worked, just disable friendly fire and the bots won't damage you.
I know it's not nice but at least the bots are much better than the built in bots on coop and actually help you.
Wierd, on online he can respawn :/

Here BotC compiler: https://bitbucket.org/crimsondusk/botc/src/default/
User avatar
TDRR
Posts: 815
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 4:15 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Debian 12/ Manjaro
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Venezuela

Re: TDBots: The fast-performing bots v16 (2/8/2019)

Post by TDRR »

guest6777 wrote:
Wierd, on online he can respawn :/

Here BotC compiler: https://bitbucket.org/crimsondusk/botc/src/default/
I know that, it's just Zandronum being really weird, though BotC would fix them not spawning offline. Also, does the bot play nice online? No lag or anything?

Thanks for trying to help, but i already have the source code, i just have no way to compile it. Codeblocks + MinGW64 just bombs out with something like "enumstrings" and CMake crashes when i try to generate the makefile.
User avatar
guest6777
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2016 2:50 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Brazil, São Paulo, Campinas

Re: TDBots: The fast-performing bots v16 (2/8/2019)

Post by guest6777 »

TDRR wrote:
guest6777 wrote:
Wierd, on online he can respawn :/

Here BotC compiler: https://bitbucket.org/crimsondusk/botc/src/default/
I know that, it's just Zandronum being really weird, though BotC would fix them not spawning offline. Also, does the bot play nice online? No lag or anything?

Thanks for trying to help, but i already have the source code, i just have no way to compile it. Codeblocks + MinGW64 just bombs out with something like "enumstrings" and CMake crashes when i try to generate the makefile.
Well, don't have lag that's good news, only weird on online, everytime bot respawn its says "DMFLAGS CHANGED TO" on chat :/
User avatar
TDRR
Posts: 815
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 4:15 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Debian 12/ Manjaro
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Venezuela

Re: TDBots: The fast-performing bots v16b (18/8/2019)

Post by TDRR »

Updated! This update is Zandronum only. Now the TDBots should respawn offline and online.

Also, the "DMFLAGS changed to" message should no longer appear more than once, which is great because it was annoying.
User avatar
guest6777
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2016 2:50 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Brazil, São Paulo, Campinas

Re: TDBots: The fast-performing bots v16b (18/8/2019)

Post by guest6777 »

TDRR wrote:Updated! This update is Zandronum only. Now the TDBots should respawn offline and online.

Also, the "DMFLAGS changed to" message should no longer appear more than once, which is great because it was annoying.
Thanks friend <3

I thinks bots follow players :D weird '-'
User avatar
TDRR
Posts: 815
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 4:15 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Debian 12/ Manjaro
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Venezuela

Re: TDBots: The fast-performing bots v16b (18/8/2019)

Post by TDRR »

guest6777 wrote: Thanks friend <3

I thinks bots follow players :D weird '-'
Sometimes it looks like they do and it's quite cool, but they only really follow players in ZDoom. It's not possible yet to make it work in Zandronum. If i ever find a way, i'm definitely going to put it in!

Return to “Gameplay Mods”