GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

News about ZDoom, its child ports, or any closely related projects.
[ZDoom Home] [Documentation (Wiki)] [Official News] [Downloads] [Discord]
[🔎 Google This Site]

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

User avatar
phantombeta
Posts: 2095
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 1:27 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Brazil

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Post by phantombeta »

Graf Zahl wrote:
phantombeta wrote: That's mostly with the smaller resolutions, for some weird reason. With the higher resolutions, there's actually more space. This was true for smaller resolutions before in the dev builds, and I have no idea why this was changed.

Has it changed for the option menus, too?
There was a change for the non-options menus because on certain screen sizes the content became too small. So I chamged the reference width (i.e. what is needed to show all content) from 640 to 400 pixels. With a few tweaks to the skill and episode names that's what is minimally needed to show everything properly.
Yup.
Commit 8dc7190f and earlier:

Commit f2d1126f and later:


I have the feeling this should be addressed, as it'll very likely be an issue with the compatibility options menu in non-English languages.
User avatar
Apeirogon
Posts: 1605
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 12:57 am

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Post by Apeirogon »

Internal code restructuring to agnostisize level structures.
Huh? Philosophical debates in source code of game from 1993? I get that this is typo

So, since most/all of previously global variables now/in near future become more "specific" this means that mod which use them in old form will break in future versions of gzdoom?! Or this restructuring touch only internal, compiled tables, not zscript?
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26535
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Post by Enjay »

phantombeta wrote:pictures
It's obviously resolution dependent because it looks perfectly sized at 1920x1200.

User avatar
Rachael
Posts: 13613
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Post by Rachael »

Apeirogon wrote:
Internal code restructuring to agnostisize level structures.
Huh? Philosophical debates in source code of game from 1993? I get that this is typo

So, since most/all of previously global variables now/in near future become more "specific" this means that mod which use them in old form will break in future versions of gzdoom?! Or this restructuring touch only internal, compiled tables, not zscript?
For now, it's only internal. It's meant to make the level loading system a lot more flexible and possibly allow for expansion of how GZDoom handles levels.
User avatar
phantombeta
Posts: 2095
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 1:27 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Brazil

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Post by phantombeta »

Enjay wrote:
phantombeta wrote:pictures
It's obviously resolution dependent because it looks perfectly sized at 1920x1200.

Indeed:
phantombeta wrote:That's mostly with the smaller resolutions, for some weird reason. With the higher resolutions, there's actually more space. This was true for smaller resolutions before in the dev builds, and I have no idea why this was changed.
It seems to only mess up on smaller resolutions.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49095
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Post by Graf Zahl »

This is definitely a bug. When changing this code I forgot to adjust one variable use.
User avatar
Rachael
Posts: 13613
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Post by Rachael »

I added more things to the release notes but I have to take a break now. I'll finish more of it later.
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17836
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Post by Gez »

Apeirogon wrote:
Internal code restructuring to agnostisize level structures.
Huh? Philosophical debates in source code of game from 1993? I get that this is typo
Making things something-agnostic is not about philosophy but about software design in this case.

The aim was to make GZDoom able to load several levels at once, which means that level structures have to be self-contained and to stop relying so much on global variables. The objective is still far from being reached but there's progress.
User avatar
Rip and Tear
Posts: 185
Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 3:54 pm

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Post by Rip and Tear »

exported all native components of APlayerPawn.
Does this mean that extending Actor will be coming soon? I believe Graf said that was the last thing blocking it.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49095
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Post by Graf Zahl »

There's one thing blocking it: Currently each translation unit (i.e. each ZSCRIPT lump) creates an implicit namespace for its constants. For allowing class extensions everything must be in the same translation unit so here's a conflict of requirements that needs to be resolved first. Unfortunately I haven't had a good idea yet.
User avatar
Armaetus
Posts: 1255
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 3:55 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10 Home
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: New York State

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Post by Armaetus »

Oh nice, a new version!

Someone on the unofficial Oblige Discord brought up this, the last skill level is meant to be a secret skill level and the user is using British English. It was meant to be hidden with just American English. Mod oversight or port oversight?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49095
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Post by Graf Zahl »

Glaice wrote:Oh nice, a new version!

Someone on the unofficial Oblige Discord brought up this, the last skill level is meant to be a secret skill level and the user is using British English. It was meant to be hidden with just American English. Mod oversight or port oversight?

Hard to tell without the mod.
User avatar
Rachael
Posts: 13613
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Post by Rachael »

So I may have underestimated how long the changelog would be this time around. But it's done. Please note that it's in two posts. It ended up exceeding the 60,000 character limit.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49095
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Post by Graf Zahl »

I think this could have been shortened a lot just by omitting the follow-up fixes of all the refactorings that took place.
User avatar
Rachael
Posts: 13613
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Post by Rachael »

Maybe - but with a lot of what was there it was hard to tell some of them apart. For what it's worth I used this command to get the full log:

Code: Select all

git log g3.7.0..g.4.0.0 > release-notes-4.0.txt
There's no diff in the output... and to be honest it would be a lot harder to process if there was.

Return to “ZDoom (and related) News”