GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

News about ZDoom, its child ports, or any closely related projects.
[ZDoom Home] [Documentation (Wiki)] [Official News] [Downloads] [Discord]
[🔎 Google This Site]

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

User avatar
Master O
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 3:00 pm

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Post by Master O »

Crackers0106 wrote:Does this fix the bug with AMD users where sprites don't appear and are invisible?
No gun? No sprites? READ THIS!
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 13206
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Post by Rachael »

Crackers0106 wrote:Does this fix the bug with AMD users where sprites don't appear and are invisible?
GZDoom cannot fix PIBKAC problems - i.e. refusing to update drivers.
User avatar
ClessxAlghazanth
Posts: 159
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2019 9:29 am

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Post by ClessxAlghazanth »

drfrag wrote:I plan to release a 3.8.0 or 3.8.1 vintage build very soon. I'm working on it.
And then LZDoom 3.8x or something.
I was resposible from the start but Graf started it.
Hugely appreciated , drfrag ! Very much looking forward to it ! Will it be based on ZDoom32 , or will it be a brand new fork ?
User avatar
drfrag
Vintage GZDoom Developer
Posts: 3113
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 3:51 am
Location: Spain

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Post by drfrag »

It's still based on an old GZDoom master, same as before, with recent stuff ported to the older codebase. This time with some hackery to make mods compatible.
But there's some missing stuff, due to the old texture manager the localization feature is mostly out. Titles cannot be created from texts, no extended console font, no support for vga/generic fonts and of course no extra lenguages with the new format (russian is partially working with missing console chars). There's still a lot of additional stuff over 3.7.2 tough plus bug fixes.
Edit: the new player menu is also missing.
User avatar
Crackers0106
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 9:20 am
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Florida

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Post by Crackers0106 »

Rachael wrote:
Crackers0106 wrote:Does this fix the bug with AMD users where sprites don't appear and are invisible?
GZDoom cannot fix PIBKAC problems - i.e. refusing to update drivers.
My drivers are the latest version and i'm having the problem, thats why I asked.
User avatar
wildweasel
Moderator Team Lead
Posts: 21584
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Win10 22H2, Win11 22H2, macOS 11.7
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Post by wildweasel »

Crackers0106 wrote:
Rachael wrote:
Crackers0106 wrote:Does this fix the bug with AMD users where sprites don't appear and are invisible?
GZDoom cannot fix PIBKAC problems - i.e. refusing to update drivers.
My drivers are the latest version and i'm having the problem, thats why I asked.
Which version is that?
User avatar
Zhs2
Posts: 1245
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 3:29 pm
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: Maryland, USA, but probably also in someone's mod somewhere

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Post by Zhs2 »

I recall that this is an issue for people who are stuck back in 32-bit land. AMD only serves driver updates for 64-bit operating systems now and the cutoff point for 32-bit drivers was somewhere in the middle of the "won't display sprites" debacle. You'll need to downgrade to Adrenalin 18.5.1 drivers or upgrade your hardware/OS to fix the issue.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48521
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Post by Graf Zahl »

Ugh...

One more nail in the coffin of 32 bit support. It's now short on the JIT compiler, the Vulkan backend PLUS proper AMD support...
Fortunately the number of users on a 32 bit OS is shrinking rapidly.
TaporGaming
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2018 7:24 am
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Post by TaporGaming »

Does needed a 4.0.1 version to add vintage version?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48521
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Post by Graf Zahl »

Work is underway to do a Vintage 3.8 release ASAP. A full update for the Vintage version to 4.0 is unlikely, there's simply too much that has changed to update the old renderer to it - and it's also very likely that this will be the last vintage build.
User avatar
drfrag
Vintage GZDoom Developer
Posts: 3113
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 3:51 am
Location: Spain

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Post by drfrag »

Graf Zahl wrote:A full update for the Vintage version to 4.0 is unlikely,
Is that even possible? I'd need to extend the old texture manager and i'm afraid that's way beyond my skills, hey i'm just a baboon after all. Even then i don't think using the new vga font would make sense in a vintage build. Even merging an older renderer with all the recent refactorings would no be possible i think. Besides that renderer is slow on old hardware. BTW i'm also updating LZDoom but it will be behind the vintage build.
User avatar
BlueFireZ88
Posts: 1086
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 9:04 pm
Location: Argent Tower

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Post by BlueFireZ88 »

Minor thing, but I noticed that there's no longer any support to show an ENDOOM screen in 4.0.0 as far as I can tell. This makes very miffed as the mod I have posted has an ENDOOM as an easter egg and there's no option to see it in this version.

Could it be possible to add "SHOW ENDOOM" back into this new version?
AvzinElkein
Posts: 615
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 6:35 pm

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Post by AvzinElkein »

BlueFireZ88 wrote:Minor thing, but I noticed that there's no longer any support to show an ENDOOM screen in 4.0.0 as far as I can tell. This makes very miffed as the mod I have posted has an ENDOOM as an easter egg and there's no option to see it in this version.

Could it be possible to add "SHOW ENDOOM" back into this new version?
Look under "Miscellaneous Options".
User avatar
BlueFireZ88
Posts: 1086
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 9:04 pm
Location: Argent Tower

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Post by BlueFireZ88 »

Your right, I just discovered that. Please disregard my previous statement. I'm an idiot. Thank you!
ReFracture
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2018 8:17 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Post by ReFracture »

[deleted]
Last edited by ReFracture on Mon Apr 29, 2019 10:03 am, edited 1 time in total.

Return to “ZDoom (and related) News”