[No] Add language option to the GZDoom launcher

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Re: Add language option to the GZDoom launcher

Postby Tapwave » Sat Mar 16, 2019 12:42 pm

Xaser wrote:Please reconsider adding this. With the current option placement, it's basically impossible for a non-English speaker to even find the option to begin with, which defeats the point.

Agree with that, and imo it might help bring in more casual users as well.
User avatar
Tapwave
On the GREEN!
 
Joined: 20 Aug 2011
Discord: Insulting#2455

Re: Add language option to the GZDoom launcher

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat Mar 16, 2019 12:54 pm

Right now there's simply too many problems with non-English text to make this more prominent. There were good reasons why this was mostly a hidden option in the past.

Remember: There needs to be an option for graphics replacements in the main menu, there needs to be better font handling for mods that replace the fonts being used to print the text - in short: There's lots of things that need fine tuning and fixing. For the upcoming release I consider this a beta feature that's mainly meant to collect and address the issues that need handling to make this really useful.

Last but not least: Load any mod that does more than replacing levels - either replacing level names, intermission texts, menu graphics, fonts - it will look very broken with non-English language because you either got a mishmash of content or have to forcibly override the mod's content.

Once all this stuff has been addressed in a way that such a mod appears to be reasonably consistent - THEN is the time to add a language options submenu.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Add language option to the GZDoom launcher

Postby Xaser » Sat Mar 16, 2019 1:29 pm

Graf Zahl wrote:For the upcoming release I consider this a beta feature that's mainly meant to collect and address the issues that need handling to make this really useful.

That's fair -- if it's still a work-in-progress, then yeah, best to wait. So long as it's in the "later" bucket, not the "never" one.
User avatar
Xaser
anarchivist
 
 
 
Joined: 20 Jul 2003

Re: Add language option to the GZDoom launcher

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat Mar 16, 2019 1:55 pm

That's the bigger problem - who knows how much time I can invest here later...
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Add language option to the GZDoom launcher

Postby theleo_ua » Sat Mar 16, 2019 8:32 pm

Graf Zahl wrote:Right now there's simply too many problems with non-English text to make this more prominent. There were good reasons why this was mostly a hidden option in the past.

Remember: There needs to be an option for graphics replacements in the main menu, there needs to be better font handling for mods that replace the fonts being used to print the text - in short: There's lots of things that need fine tuning and fixing. For the upcoming release I consider this a beta feature that's mainly meant to collect and address the issues that need handling to make this really useful.

Last but not least: Load any mod that does more than replacing levels - either replacing level names, intermission texts, menu graphics, fonts - it will look very broken with non-English language because you either got a mishmash of content or have to forcibly override the mod's content.

Once all this stuff has been addressed in a way that such a mod appears to be reasonably consistent - THEN is the time to add a language options submenu.


Agree
User avatar
theleo_ua
 
Joined: 07 Feb 2016

Re: Add language option to the GZDoom launcher

Postby Jekyll Grim Payne » Wed Mar 20, 2019 8:37 am

I'd like to report that I run an English version of Windows (which was always English and installed as English) but am located in Russia, and after the update GZDoom started in Russian, even though phantombeta claims it's not supposed to be able to read my location; apparently it does check for something other than system language. I'm fine with where the option is located, but I personally highly dislike automatic language selection anywhere, and it seems especially pointless for a product that has existed for so long in mostly one language. I vote for it being set to English by default.
User avatar
Jekyll Grim Payne
 
Joined: 21 Jul 2008

Re: Add language option to the GZDoom launcher

Postby Undead » Wed Mar 20, 2019 8:41 am

Automatic language detection has already been removed from GZDoom.
User avatar
Undead
 
 
 
Joined: 26 Dec 2013
Location: Sweden

Previous

Return to Closed Feature Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests