Xim's Star Wars Doom - Updated (MAY/4/2024)

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
Xim
Posts: 2086
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 2:46 pm
Location: somewhere with trees

Re: Xim's Star Wars Doom

Post by Xim »

Minor update, but it was a much needed one. Lightsaber colors can now be chosen with the "Reload" function, going reverse rainbow starting at the classic blue. No more dropping sabers to keep your arsenal clean. New pickup graphic too.
User avatar
Valherran
Posts: 1406
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 12:58 pm

Re: Xim's Star Wars Doom

Post by Valherran »

Xim wrote:Minor update, but it was a much needed one. Lightsaber colors can now be chosen with the "Reload" function, going reverse rainbow starting at the classic blue. No more dropping sabers to keep your arsenal clean. New pickup graphic too.
Glad you took my suggestion.

Is the rest of the inventory and/or the battery system going to make an appearance?
User avatar
Xim
Posts: 2086
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 2:46 pm
Location: somewhere with trees

Re: Xim's Star Wars Doom

Post by Xim »

Perhaps. Not totally sure how I'd do the battery system.

I am contemplating making remote and sentry droid helper items. What other inventory items do you think though?
User avatar
armymen12002003
Posts: 1419
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 10:25 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Castle Wolfenstein

Re: Xim's Star Wars Doom

Post by armymen12002003 »

Small bug when the Imperial Medic is killed the corpse disappears.
User avatar
Valherran
Posts: 1406
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 12:58 pm

Re: Xim's Star Wars Doom

Post by Valherran »

Xim wrote:Perhaps. Not totally sure how I'd do the battery system.

I am contemplating making remote and sentry droid helper items. What other inventory items do you think though?
All of the original DF equipment, such as the Headlamp, IR Goggles, and the Gas Mask would be very useful to have. Especially the Gas Mask, In Lex's MOD he converted it into an environment suit that you can toggle on and off at any time which was the best thing ever.

For the other items like the Ice Boots, you could have them make you immune to slipping on ice and pushed by wind. I'd make that a toggle at the cost of no battery power in case maps use the wind as a mechanic to get to places.
User avatar
armymen12002003
Posts: 1419
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 10:25 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Castle Wolfenstein

Re: Xim's Star Wars Doom

Post by armymen12002003 »

Also any chance of putting the props as an addon cause i was trying to play this with epic too and it really clashed with the desert levels
User avatar
Xim
Posts: 2086
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 2:46 pm
Location: somewhere with trees

Re: Xim's Star Wars Doom

Post by Xim »

Hmm... good point. I might do that actually. I guess Epic 2 wouldn't be a bad map set to play with my mod.
User avatar
armymen12002003
Posts: 1419
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 10:25 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Castle Wolfenstein

Re: Xim's Star Wars Doom

Post by armymen12002003 »

Xim wrote:Hmm... good point. I might do that actually. I guess Epic 2 wouldn't be a bad map set to play with my mod.
yea it was kind of weird seeing tech stuff in desert lol
User avatar
Xim
Posts: 2086
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 2:46 pm
Location: somewhere with trees

Re: Xim's Star Wars Doom

Post by Xim »

For now, you can remove the props easily using SLADE. Open the pk3, go to the sprites folder and then remove the props folder. It might not be a bad idea to either make a back-up copy of the pk3, or save the props folder in a zip file.

I kind of want to experiment using CVARs to make some things optional. Maybe even choose what enemies spawn where.

And my friend keeps bugging me to make force powers. I was thinking of at least having a few, that you can do with the user keys while using the lightsaber. I'm no Xaser so I don't think I can do something like Psychic (but that would be cool).
User avatar
Xim
Posts: 2086
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 2:46 pm
Location: somewhere with trees

Re: Xim's Star Wars Doom

Post by Xim »

New updated, this one is a bit bigger than the last one. Main featured is I redid the carbine, it's not an ion gun anymore. We now have an actual Ion gun, which is kind of like the DEMP2 from outcast, but more like the Jawa's blaster.
Spoiler:
I might do a battery system for items later, but I gotta figure out how to do that first.
User avatar
armymen12002003
Posts: 1419
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 10:25 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Castle Wolfenstein

Re: Xim's Star Wars Doom

Post by armymen12002003 »

Great update but i still noticed the medic's corpse still disappears after he is killed.
User avatar
Xim
Posts: 2086
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 2:46 pm
Location: somewhere with trees

Re: Xim's Star Wars Doom

Post by Xim »

Oh, I must have missed that. Should be fixed now.

EDIT: I fixed another potentially bad error too. Two ammo types had the same spawn ID.
User avatar
armymen12002003
Posts: 1419
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 10:25 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Castle Wolfenstein

Re: Xim's Star Wars Doom

Post by armymen12002003 »

Also i noticed the shadowtrooper and the elite blaster rifle is nowhere to be found any reason for this?
User avatar
Xim
Posts: 2086
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 2:46 pm
Location: somewhere with trees

Re: Xim's Star Wars Doom

Post by Xim »

Just didn't feel like they were needed anymore. I might re add them, but they'd be different.
User avatar
armymen12002003
Posts: 1419
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 10:25 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Castle Wolfenstein

Re: Xim's Star Wars Doom

Post by armymen12002003 »

Oh ok i was just wondering cause i really did love using the elite rifle when i picked it up in the old versions of the mod so i hoping you re add them in a later point in time.

Return to “Gameplay Mods”