Simple Motion Blur 1.04 - Bugfix & Velocity awareness

Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
Pixel Eater
 
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 12:31 am
Location: In between the Moon and you, between the buried and me.

Re: Simple Motion Blur 1.04 - Bugfix & Velocity awareness

Post by Pixel Eater »

Silentdarkness12 wrote:Could I have permission to pinch some code out of this for an addon i'm working on for a mod? I'll give you credits.
Yeah that's cool Silent darkness 8-)
Nash wrote:I'd add additional null checks for everything referencing the "mo" of the player, as apparently some people are still getting VM aborts in rare cases.
I wasn't aware of that, thanks. I'll be sure to look into it.
User avatar
PandaDoomer
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:05 pm
Location: USA

Re: Simple Motion Blur 1.04 - Bugfix & Velocity awareness

Post by PandaDoomer »

Got an infinite loop of this error message when entering the prison in Strife. Don't know if its useful or not.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
ClessxAlghazanth
Posts: 159
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2019 9:29 am

Re: Simple Motion Blur 1.04 - Bugfix & Velocity awareness

Post by ClessxAlghazanth »

I noticed that MBlur doesn't seem to have any effect when run on GZDoom-gles (4.6.1)

It is loaded fine (doesn't give any errors) , appears in the menu but no motion blur effects can be seen in gameplay

Is it a known problem with gles renderer ?
SanyaWaffles
Posts: 810
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 12:21 pm
Preferred Pronouns: They/Them
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11 for the Motorola Powerstack II
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: The Corn Fields

Re: Simple Motion Blur 1.04 - Bugfix & Velocity awareness

Post by SanyaWaffles »

I reckon GLES is going to be a bit more limited in how it can handle shaders. A tradeoff of working on a more minimal graphics system perhaps.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17452
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: Simple Motion Blur 1.04 - Bugfix & Velocity awareness

Post by Nash »

From the documentation:
MISSING:
All post processing gone
Present shader missing dither
Shadow maps gone
HDR modes gone
Materials gone
gl_satformula does not do anything (remove an 'if' in shader)
Also, not written in the documentation, but spotlights also don't work.

I don't know if any the missing stuff will be reinstated.
User avatar
ClessxAlghazanth
Posts: 159
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2019 9:29 am

Re: Simple Motion Blur 1.04 - Bugfix & Velocity awareness

Post by ClessxAlghazanth »

SanyaWaffles wrote:I reckon GLES is going to be a bit more limited in how it can handle shaders. A tradeoff of working on a more minimal graphics system perhaps.
Any way to get it working even to a certain extent on gles renderer ?

It works with LZDoom , but GZDoom with gles runs much better on my laptop
User avatar
Caligari87
Admin
Posts: 6189
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 3:02 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him

Re: Simple Motion Blur 1.04 - Bugfix & Velocity awareness

Post by Caligari87 »

From the mod-side, probably not. From what I understand these features are missing in the GLES renderer, which means they're unavailable for mods to use. It all depends on if the required shader features get re-added to GLES, which depends heavily on what magic the devs are able to work with these old rendering technologies (spoiler: It may not be very much).

To use an analogy, it's like there's a nitro button in your car but the nitro tank got removed to meet weight requirements. You can push the button all you want but nothing will happen until the tank gets put back in, which all depends if the mechanic can find or make a tank light enough to work.

8-)

Return to “Shaders”