Simple Motion Blur 1.04 - Bugfix & Velocity awareness

Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
Pixel Eater
 
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 12:31 am
Location: In between the Moon and you, between the buried and me.

Re: Simple Motion Blur 1.03 - Faster recovery

Post by Pixel Eater »

Yeah that should be easy. I'll try a few different ways to see which is fastest.
User avatar
Pixel Eater
 
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 12:31 am
Location: In between the Moon and you, between the buried and me.

Re: Simple Motion Blur 1.03a - Faster recovery

Post by Pixel Eater »

As insane as it sounds, adding an if statement to the shader sped up the lighten blend mode. The reason I kept seperate .fp files is because the opposite is supposed to happen! I noticed another inefficiency as well, so in all that was a pretty good suggestion 8-)
User avatar
Agitatio
Posts: 240
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2011 10:07 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Simple Motion Blur 1.03 - Faster recovery

Post by Agitatio »

Pixel Eater wrote:That should be the correct behaviour- it's brighter near to it's current position and fades to where it once was.
Right. I don't know how that thought came into my mind, now that I thought about it. Disregard.

I'm really enjoying the progress on this. I tried cranking everything to max and leaving strength at default on version 1.03, and I think I finally achieved the effect I wanted. Very subtle motion blur on really fast turns. Kinda like motion blur in Source Engine.
User avatar
Pixel Eater
 
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 12:31 am
Location: In between the Moon and you, between the buried and me.

Re: Simple Motion Blur 1.03a - Faster recovery

Post by Pixel Eater »

Samples at max? That's awesome, I can barely play above 10! :cry: :lol:
User avatar
Agitatio
Posts: 240
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2011 10:07 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Simple Motion Blur 1.03a - Faster recovery

Post by Agitatio »

Pixel Eater wrote:Samples at max? That's awesome, I can barely play above 10! :cry: :lol:
I was surprised that I didn't see any noticeable performance impact too. But it's definitely overkill.
I think the max value could be lowered, because past 50 it's really hard to notice any difference.
Zemakat
Posts: 117
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 5:11 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)
Location: United States

Re: Simple Motion Blur 1.03a - Faster recovery

Post by Zemakat »

It appears that my vision in-game instead is just a black screen. Once I enter in a new game, that always happens.

Here's a screenshot, edited so that's it doesn't take up so much space:
Edit.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Pixel Eater
 
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 12:31 am
Location: In between the Moon and you, between the buried and me.

Re: Simple Motion Blur 1.03a - Faster recovery

Post by Pixel Eater »

Interesting... any other mods loaded?
Zemakat
Posts: 117
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 5:11 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)
Location: United States

Re: Simple Motion Blur 1.03a - Faster recovery

Post by Zemakat »

Pixel Eater wrote:Interesting... any other mods loaded?
I assumed it was the case, and launched it without any other mods, but nope, it appears there is something odd going on.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17452
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: Simple Motion Blur 1.03a - Faster recovery

Post by Nash »

Remaker wrote:It appears that my vision in-game instead is just a black screen. Once I enter in a new game, that always happens.

Here's a screenshot, edited so that's it doesn't take up so much space:
Edit.png
Post your video card/graphics hardware specs. You can see it at the beginning of the console.
Zemakat
Posts: 117
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 5:11 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)
Location: United States

Re: Simple Motion Blur 1.03a - Faster recovery

Post by Zemakat »

Nash wrote:
Remaker wrote:It appears that my vision in-game instead is just a black screen. Once I enter in a new game, that always happens.

Here's a screenshot, edited so that's it doesn't take up so much space:
Edit.png
Post your video card/graphics hardware specs. You can see it at the beginning of the console.
Intel HD Graphics 6000 1536 MB
User avatar
namsan
Posts: 147
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 4:27 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Location: Japan

Re: Simple Motion Blur 1.03a - Faster recovery

Post by namsan »

This mod is pretty cool to use.
I already put this mod into autoload.
User avatar
Pixel Eater
 
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 12:31 am
Location: In between the Moon and you, between the buried and me.

Re: Simple Motion Blur 1.03a - Faster recovery

Post by Pixel Eater »

Nash wrote:Post your video card/graphics hardware specs. You can see it at the beginning of the console.
Remaker wrote: Intel HD Graphics 6000 1536 MB
I did a little research on the model and it sounds like it's prone to overheat with modern gaming. Does the glitch go away when you toggle the effect off?

You can try this higher performance version in case it helps:
MBlur1.03b.pk3
It scales the samples back for slow mouse movements because the effect is harder to see then anyway. Increasing the samples slider might actually be needed in order to see it again but don't go overboard in case it is overheating.
namsan wrote:This mod is pretty cool to use.
I already put this mod into autoload.
Thanks Namsan :)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Zemakat
Posts: 117
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 5:11 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)
Location: United States

Re: Simple Motion Blur 1.03a - Faster recovery

Post by Zemakat »

Pixel Eater wrote:
Nash wrote:Post your video card/graphics hardware specs. You can see it at the beginning of the console.
Remaker wrote: Intel HD Graphics 6000 1536 MB
I did a little research on the model and it sounds like it's prone to overheat with modern gaming. Does the glitch go away when you toggle the effect off?

You can try this higher performance version in case it helps:
MBlur1.03b.pk3
It scales the samples back for slow mouse movements because the effect is harder to see then anyway. Increasing the samples slider might actually be needed in order to see it again but don't go overboard in case it is overheating.
namsan wrote:This mod is pretty cool to use.
I already put this mod into autoload.
Thanks Namsan :)
Yup, it goes away when it's off. However, another glitch with the new version is that normal mode makes everything look white. Unlike the black screen glitch, it doesn't intrude the status bar or the player weapon sprite, it just simply leaves the rest of my vision white, like as if the map is only a white void.
Beezle
Posts: 139
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2018 6:48 pm

Re: Simple Motion Blur 1.03a - Faster recovery

Post by Beezle »

Hey Pixel Eater, normally I dislike motion blur in 1st person shooters but with the right settings, it actually works pretty well. I think you did a decent job here implementing it and the settings for it. By default its just a tad too much, but my personal settings are Samples - 5, Strength - 40 or 48, Recovery - on the default 64, and Blend - Lighten. I'd recommend these settings to anyone using this. Thanks Pixel Eater!
User avatar
Pixel Eater
 
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 12:31 am
Location: In between the Moon and you, between the buried and me.

Re: Simple Motion Blur 1.03a - Faster recovery

Post by Pixel Eater »

Remaker wrote:Yup, it goes away when it's off. However, another glitch with the new version is that normal mode makes everything look white. Unlike the black screen glitch, it doesn't intrude the status bar or the player weapon sprite, it just simply leaves the rest of my vision white, like as if the map is only a white void.
Thanks for keeping me up to date Remaker. Unfortunately it really seems like it's due to a bigger issue than the shader itself- it's defined as 'beforebloom' which means it can only affect what's behind the player sprite. If the glitch is happening in front of the status bar it's either hardware or something happening within GZDoom itself. That said, try this one and see if anything improves:
MBlur1.03x.pk3
I've marked it "x" as it's a regression because it gets the screen height within the shader itself rather than from zscript.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Return to “Shaders”