[Fixed] Doom Legacy wad errors

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: Developers

Doom Legacy wad errors

Postby Owen Honeydale » Sun Aug 12, 2018 4:45 pm

I've tried to play a couple of wads originally for the Legacy source port, which seems to have worked in GZDoom in the past.

Phobia The Age: https://www.doomworld.com/idgames/level ... r/phobiata
Trying this is GZDoom 3.2.4, its not possible to start the first level, or other maps I tried to warp to. It simply says "No deathmatch starts". I tried it in 2.4.0, and it starts correctly (haven't played it much yet).

Hi-Tech Hell 2: https://www.doomworld.com/idgames/level ... s/g-i/hth2
This seems to work well enough up to a point in MAP03. It uses FraggleScript quite extensively. Pressing a switch for script 224 to activate an elevator (you need to do some other things first, to be in the right state), there is a camera sequence. I think the camera moves quite differently from what its supposed to do. But the main problem is that the player never regains control, so I can't go on. This happened in both GZDoom 3.2.4 and 2.4.0. There is a playthrough on Youtube which works and seems to use GZDoom.

Are these wads supposed to work in GZDoom? Is there a version which should have better compatibility? Is there any way to regain control from the camera when it gets stuck like this?
Owen Honeydale
 

Re: Doom Legacy wad errors

Postby Graf Zahl » Mon Aug 13, 2018 1:27 am

Please retest with 3.5.0. 3.2.4 is already several months old.
Aside from that, Phobia: The Age is officially not supported and also not 100% compatible with GZDoom but I believe the deathmatch start problem has already been fixed.

For HTH2 please post a savegame with the player standing right before the switch that needs to be pressed. It has been two years since I last played that mod, so apparently something broke afterward.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Doom Legacy wad errors

Postby drfrag » Mon Aug 13, 2018 4:42 am

Owen Honeydale wrote: I think the camera moves quite differently from what its supposed to do.

I tested that wad not long ago. Are you playing with Brutal Doom by chance? (or any other mod).
User avatar
drfrag
I.R developer, I.R smart
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain

Re: Doom Legacy wad errors

Postby Graf Zahl » Mon Aug 13, 2018 1:51 pm

Fixed the camera movement.

The original code was nearly unreadable thanks to the BAM angle format it used and I missed some of the logic buried in there when I dumped that old code and rewrote it from scratch for floating point.
Two things were missing: Movement direction is determined by the angular difference, and the function should not stop until the full angular distance has been covered, even if the camera has arrived at its destination before finishing the angular move.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Doom Legacy wad errors

Postby drfrag » Mon Aug 13, 2018 2:49 pm

Owen Honeydale wrote:Pressing a switch for script 224 to activate an elevator (you need to do some other things first, to be in the right state), there is a camera sequence.

I'd swear cameras worked a few months ago, where's the location of that switch? (idmypos).
User avatar
drfrag
I.R developer, I.R smart
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain

Re: Doom Legacy wad errors

Postby Graf Zahl » Mon Aug 13, 2018 2:53 pm

Type 'fpuke 225' in the console, you do not need to find the switch.
It's also just one particular mode of the moving camera that was having problems, that's why I didn't spot it when the code was rewritten 2 years ago.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Doom Legacy wad errors

Postby Owen Honeydale » Mon Aug 13, 2018 4:39 pm

Coming back to report after trying in 3.5.0, I see you've already identified and fixed it! Looking forward to the next release.

I found another thing which was broken in the older versions I tried and actually fixed in 3.5.0. There's a teleporter in MAP03 you activate with a switch. In the older versions it got an object right on the teleporter which made it unusable. This is fixed in 3.5.0.
Owen Honeydale
 

Re: Doom Legacy wad errors

Postby Owen Honeydale » Mon Aug 13, 2018 4:40 pm

Great to hear you found it. Looking forward to the next release.
Owen Honeydale
 

Re: Doom Legacy wad errors

Postby drfrag » Mon Aug 13, 2018 6:59 pm

Graf Zahl wrote:Type 'fpuke 225' in the console, you do not need to find the switch.

Thanks, but for me now it's even worse. The movement seems right (i compared with ZDoom LE) but now the camera gets stuck and won't return to the player view (actually it won't even change to the other cameras). Before the travelling was wrong but it didn't get stuck.
This happens both with MinGW-w64 and VS v140_xp 32 bit builds on win 8.1 32 bit (core2 duo). Same with ZDoom32.
User avatar
drfrag
I.R developer, I.R smart
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain

Re: Doom Legacy wad errors

Postby Graf Zahl » Tue Aug 14, 2018 1:06 am

It worked when I last tested it. Will have to re-check this evening. Looks like the exit condition test doesn't work anymore.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Doom Legacy wad errors

Postby drfrag » Tue Aug 14, 2018 1:39 pm

I've just checked the DRD Team modern 32 bit devbuild and it's the same as expected. I cannot test the 64 bit build.
I type 'map map03', 'god' and 'fpuke 225' in the console.
User avatar
drfrag
I.R developer, I.R smart
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain

Re: Doom Legacy wad errors

Postby Enjay » Tue Aug 14, 2018 1:50 pm

What's meant to happen?

In a 64 bit git build from the 12th, I get the following when using the above commands:

A quick fly over these consoles:
Image

A brief look at this guy:
Image

A look at these guys:
Image

Then I'm here and able to play:
Image
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: Doom Legacy wad errors

Postby drfrag » Tue Aug 14, 2018 1:56 pm

Thanks but you need to try the latest 14th devbuilds.
User avatar
drfrag
I.R developer, I.R smart
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain

Re: Doom Legacy wad errors

Postby Graf Zahl » Tue Aug 14, 2018 2:13 pm

Now it's fixed.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Doom Legacy wad errors

Postby Enjay » Tue Aug 14, 2018 4:21 pm

drfrag wrote:Thanks but you need to try the latest 14th devbuilds.

Ah, I hadn't noticed that there were some newer builds up.

Not that it's important now, seeing as how Graf has fixed it, but with the 64 bit build from the 14th, on fpuking 225, I got the same as above but without the flight over the consoles. i.e. the camera switched straight to the side view of the imp, then the other view and then back to me in the nukage pool.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Next

Return to Closed Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests