[User error] Not fully reading my mapinfo since GZDoom 1.8.x

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: Developers

Not fully reading my mapinfo since GZDoom 1.8.x

Postby Blake00 » Fri Jul 13, 2018 8:24 am

Hi guys,

I realise these issues are probably not bugs with GZDoom and are likely because of things that I've done wrong and the older versions of GZDoom simply let me get away with them but after trying elsewhere here (eg the mod forum) I just don't know where to turn to for help anymore. All I know is my mods worked fine, then GZDoom had some updates and then they stopped working.

I'm the creator of the Quest for Glory IV 3D Hexen project and the Star Trek Doom 2 project and I built both mods using GZDoom 1.8.2 and ZDoom 2.7.1 and unfortunately a few months later after release I was informed by frustrated fans that my mods weren't working in the newer versions of GZDoom that had been released over the years since since I worked on my mods in 2014.

Once I confirmed the issues I tried and tried and tried to fix them myself but just couldn't figure them out. I'm not a programmer and my knowledge of using correct definitions is limited. The wiki pages seemed to be exactly the same as back when I built my mods so I could see no signs of drastic changes in GZDoom 1.9.x onwards. I asked for help in both my threads but unfortunately no one was able to help. I even contacted GZdoom mod making gurus like Ozymandias81 (BoA) and ramon.dexter (SoA) a year ago but unfortunately they were pretty busy or burnt out and could only have really really quick look that didn't reveal any obvious issues wrong with my mods. Ramon suggested I convert my mods from old style WADs to PK3s but while the conversion was successful all the problems still remained.

My mods still work with a few versions after 1.8.2 however some those late 1.8.x versions had a weird bug where friendly/allied creatures attacked you (the very final version of ZDoom sadly has this bug I should point out) which affected my mods (in particular my Star Trek one where you have allied crew members helping you fight the Borg) so I still have been recommending to players of my mods to stick with old 1.8.2 which I know sucks for all concerned. So anyway I have no idea what changed around the time of 1.9.x that broke my mods, or to be more accurate, that exposed an mistake in my mods haha but these are the known issues:

Quest for Glory IV 3D Hexen project
  • Map music does not play in both Midi & Mp3 versions. Only the title music and any scripted music events still play my tunes. Map music is default Hexen midis implying it is ignoring the map settings section of my mapinfo.
  • Sky boxes are all wrong in outdoor areas. Appears to be using default Hexen map skybox settings and ignoring the map settings section of my mapinfo.
  • First cluster end cutscene/text sequence activates way too soon right (around the map 5 mark instead of after map 18) when it normally would in default Hexen. Other unwanted default Hexen end cluster messages appear as you progress through my maps. Appears to be ignoring my cluster settings in map settings section of my mapinfo.
  • Unable to progress after map 14. Normally you jump on the window ledge in your hotel room and press 'activate' on the window to climb out (teleport) to the next level however nothing happens now. You also can't seem to level jump cheat to map 15, 16, 17, 18, & 19. This has rendered my mod severely broken and unfinishable! I'm guessing map 14 is the last map in default Hexen and GZDoom is ignoring cluster settings in map settings section of my mapinfo.
  • I have a script event in Map 01 that brightens parts of the room and teleports in 2 burning flames ( Thing_Spawn (2, 99, 0); ) on the alter spikes that has partially stopped working in the latest GZDoom's. The room lights brighten but the flames do not spawn/teleport in like they used to. Strangely the same script in Map 08 that spawns flames into the fireplace still works just fine in the latest GZDooms. Very confusing as the only difference between the scripts in MAP01 & 08 is that you walk across a linedef in 01 and press activate in 08. What the..
  • There are no serious error messages when loading the mod other than a couple of complaints about some floating point stuff in my decorate file (which I also can't figure out as its from imported code) which I'm pretty sure is unrelated to the above issues.
Here are a few download options if anyone is willing to look, you'll see that all of them work fine in 1.8.2 but will suffer the above issues in all the newer versions...

This my mp3 version of the mod, bigger 62MB download but is the optimum quality version of the mod:
https://1drv.ms/u/s!AArov_TMGxTthgY

This is my midi version of the mod for those that want a smaller 7MB file (note if you hear no music then switch the midi device in sound settings to Microsoft GS Synth):
https://1drv.ms/u/s!AArov_TMGxTthgU

This is my test PK3 version of the midi version of QFG4-3D that Ramon suggested I make to see if that made any difference (which it didn't). So if you'd rather work with a PK3 version then I've put it here:
https://1drv.ms/u/s!AArov_TMGxTthiA


Star Trek Doom 2 project
  • Map music does not play in both Midi & Mp3 versions. Only the title music and any scripted music events still play my tunes. Map music is default Doom 2 midis implying it is ignoring the map settings section of my mapinfo.
  • Sky boxes are all wrong in outdoor areas (eg Holodeck in Map 01 & Main Bridge ceiling window in Map 03). Appears to be using default Doom map skybox settings and ignoring the map settings section of my mapinfo.
  • I'm getting default Doom 2 kills/timer score screens every time I switch between or complete maps. These were not happening in 1.8.2 and are unwanted.
  • First cluster end cutscene/text sequence does not activate after Map 02 and is presumably waiting until map 04 or so when it normally would in default Doom 2. I get an unwanted default Doom 2 end cluster message appear after my last map is completed before it goes to my end sequence (which surprisingly appears to still be working fine!). Appears to be ignoring my cluster settings in map settings section of my mapinfo.
  • There are no serious error messages when loading the mod other than a couple of complaints about some floating point stuff in my decorate file (which I also can't figure out as its from imported code) which I'm pretty sure is unrelated to the above issues.
Here are a few download options if anyone is willing to look, you'll see that all of them work fine in 1.8.2 but will suffer the above issues in all the newer versions...

This my mp3 version of the mod, bigger 31MB download but is the optimum quality version of the mod:
https://1drv.ms/u/s!AArov_TMGxTthg0

This is my midi version of the mod for those that want a smaller 4MB file (note if you hear no music then switch the midi device in sound settings to Microsoft GS Synth):
https://1drv.ms/u/s!AArov_TMGxTthgw


--------
Blake's Sanctum:
- Total Conversion mods: Quest for Glory 4 3D Hexen, Star Trek Doom 2, & Star Wars Civilization 2
- Game Shrines: Age of Wonders, Babylon 5 Fan Games, Command & Conquer, Elder Scrolls Series, Dune Games, Final Fantasy, Freelancer, Heroes of Might & Magic, Master of Magic, Quest for Glory Series, Starflight, & Star Trek Games
- Movie & TV Shrines: Lord Of The Rings & Hobbit, & Star Trek
- Emulation
User avatar
Blake00
 
Joined: 05 Sep 2015

Re: Not fully reading my mapinfo since GZDoom 1.8.x

Postby Graf Zahl » Fri Jul 13, 2018 10:18 am

It's your MAPINFo that's wrong:

Code: Select allExpand view
map 1 "The Cave"


should read


Code: Select allExpand view
map MAP01 "The Cave"


and so on.

This appeared to work because it erroneously switched to original Hexen map name parsing, but by doing so also introduced lots of unexpected backwards compatibility behavior.
This behavior was deactivated when it was discovered due to the side effects it creates.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Not fully reading my mapinfo since GZDoom 1.8.x

Postby Blake00 » Sat Jul 14, 2018 12:24 am

Oh thank you thank you thank you!!!!!

I've been down about this for like a year and no one else could see the issue either. I knew it would end up being some silly little out of date definition I was using that was causing all of this.

The only remaining issue I'm seeing is the bloody Doom 2 kills/score screen still coming up when I move from one level to another. I'm guessing there's some command I'll need to find in the wiki to stop it haha. Pretty much everything else is fixed now!! So relieved!!!

You are a legend, thank you so much!!! :)
User avatar
Blake00
 
Joined: 05 Sep 2015

Re: Not fully reading my mapinfo since GZDoom 1.8.x

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat Jul 14, 2018 2:39 am

Add 'nointermission' to the map definition to get rid of the stats screen.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Not fully reading my mapinfo since GZDoom 1.8.x

Postby Blake00 » Sat Jul 14, 2018 5:37 am

Ahh thank you! For some reason I thought the nointermission function was used to stop the end cluster message and not the map score screens. All fixed now.

Last year when my mods surprisingly got featured on Rock per shotgun and in PC Gamer US & UK it brought thousands of people to my site (and no doubt here to get GZDoom too) so I was devastated to discover they were all probably playing the broken versions of them. Such a relief to know its all working again.

Many thanks again! :)
User avatar
Blake00
 
Joined: 05 Sep 2015


Return to Closed Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests