Magenta ones are non-solid but still on the blockmap
White ones are not on the blockmap at all
I've considered getting rid of the radius debug mode and making individual toggles for each category. Would that be better?
Wasn't sure how to handle conflicts. Like if you have solids off and monsters on, should a solid monster be shown or not?
RadiusDebug - Actor radius (hitbox) tool (18/05/21 update!)
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.
Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!
Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.
Please read the full rules for more details.
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.
Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!
Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.
Please read the full rules for more details.
-
- Posts: 537
- Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2021 7:02 pm
- Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)
- Location: Medellin, Colombia
-
- Posts: 537
- Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2021 7:02 pm
- Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)
- Location: Medellin, Colombia
Re: RadiusDebug - Actor radius (hitbox) tool (18/05/21 updat
Meanwhile here is another mode for nonsolid actors only
download
download
-
-
- Posts: 17465
- Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
- Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Re: RadiusDebug - Actor radius (hitbox) tool (18/05/21 updat
I think for toggles, there's no other way but for a conflicting option to take precedence. In your particular example, "monsters on" would win.
Thanks for the update, BTW - now I can debug in peace. :D
Thanks for the update, BTW - now I can debug in peace. :D
-
- Posts: 537
- Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2021 7:02 pm
- Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)
- Location: Medellin, Colombia
Re: RadiusDebug - Actor radius (hitbox) tool (18/05/21 updat
I did it:
In these screenshot I've got only shootables toggled on, including inventory toggled off, excluding PlayerPawn toggled on, and MapMarker always excluded.
Download
One thing I don't like is that the standard menu text field editor isn't great. Anybody got something better to replace that with?
- I took out the basic radius debug mode and put in toggleable categories.
- Presets exist to mimic the old modes behavior.
- Togglable include list (comma separated) for classes you want to see. This overrides the categories
- Togglable exclude list (comma separated) for classes you don't want to see. This overrides the includes
- Untoggled exclude list (comma separated) for classes you never want to see
- Toggle the debug list coordinates to be relative to the player or absolute
In these screenshot I've got only shootables toggled on, including inventory toggled off, excluding PlayerPawn toggled on, and MapMarker always excluded.
Download
One thing I don't like is that the standard menu text field editor isn't great. Anybody got something better to replace that with?
-
- Posts: 94
- Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2022 4:26 am
Re: RadiusDebug - Actor radius (hitbox) tool (18/05/21 update!)
Just wanted to thank both Nash and Sir Robin. This is a must have tool to debug anything hitbox related. I've been dealing with difficulties setting interpolation points correctly for rolling and pitching models, because the model's hitbox was no longer aligned with the model when it rolled/pitched (solved with setting ROTATION-CENTER in the model). This tool perfectly visualizes the "issue" I was seeing. I'll be using this in the future. Great work.
-
- Posts: 537
- Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2021 7:02 pm
- Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)
- Location: Medellin, Colombia
Re: RadiusDebug - Actor radius (hitbox) tool (18/05/21 update!)
Would it be at all helpful to have some kind of indicator (like arrows) pointing to the rotation, pitch, and roll of each actor? I could add thatdoomzie wrote: ↑Sun Aug 14, 2022 7:20 pm Just wanted to thank both Nash and Sir Robin. This is a must have tool to debug anything hitbox related. I've been dealing with difficulties setting interpolation points correctly for rolling and pitching models, because the model's hitbox was no longer aligned with the model when it rolled/pitched (solved with setting ROTATION-CENTER in the model). This tool perfectly visualizes the "issue" I was seeing. I'll be using this in the future. Great work.
-
- Posts: 94
- Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2022 4:26 am
Re: RadiusDebug - Actor radius (hitbox) tool (18/05/21 update!)
I see what you mean, but we figured it out just by seeing how the hitbox of the model changes in the game when there is pitch and roll rotation. Basically the hitbox was standing above the actual model dimensions. The problem was that the rotation center was in the center of the floor surface of the model. Just had to move it to the center of its Z height to keep the hitbox aligned.Sir Robin wrote: ↑Sun Aug 21, 2022 9:10 pmWould it be at all helpful to have some kind of indicator (like arrows) pointing to the rotation, pitch, and roll of each actor? I could add thatdoomzie wrote: ↑Sun Aug 14, 2022 7:20 pm Just wanted to thank both Nash and Sir Robin. This is a must have tool to debug anything hitbox related. I've been dealing with difficulties setting interpolation points correctly for rolling and pitching models, because the model's hitbox was no longer aligned with the model when it rolled/pitched (solved with setting ROTATION-CENTER in the model). This tool perfectly visualizes the "issue" I was seeing. I'll be using this in the future. Great work.
I think it could be a nice improvement, because I do see value in it if you have introcate XYZ movement with rotation (of actors). If you could have some extra indication with arrows showing the pitch/roll/angle in the game, it would probably be valuable for analysis and understanding. Entirely up to you though.
-
-
- Posts: 17465
- Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
- Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Re: RadiusDebug - Actor radius (hitbox) tool (18/05/21 update!)
With the latest version, it seems impossible to see our own PlayerPawn's box, even with the "exclude" features disabled.
-
- Posts: 537
- Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2021 7:02 pm
- Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)
- Location: Medellin, Colombia
-
- Posts: 537
- Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2021 7:02 pm
- Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)
- Location: Medellin, Colombia
Re: RadiusDebug - Actor radius (hitbox) tool (18/05/21 update!)
It was some bad logic. The exclude toggle wasn't actually toggling, anything you put on the exclude list was always excluded. Fixed now.
download link
download link
-
- Posts: 50
- Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 1:45 pm
Re: RadiusDebug - Actor radius (hitbox) tool (18/05/21 update!)
Sorry for bump = it's all for praise!
I'm new to this scene, but I would also like to thank both of you. This is a superb tool to use. I did use the first iteration and got annoyed by the fact that the player col were always shown, but noted that it was fixed by Robin later on.
I'm new to this scene, but I would also like to thank both of you. This is a superb tool to use. I did use the first iteration and got annoyed by the fact that the player col were always shown, but noted that it was fixed by Robin later on.