Skybox rendered incorrectly on older machines

Is there something that doesn't work right in the latest GZDoom? Post about it here.

Moderator: Developers

Forum rules
Please construct and post a simple demo whenever possible for all bug reports. Please provide links to everything.

If you can include a wad demonstrating the problem, please do so. Bug reports that include fully-constructed demos have a much better chance of being investigated in a timely manner than those that don't.

Re: Skybox rendered incorrectly on older machines

Postby Cacodemon345 » Sun Jun 03, 2018 11:17 am

I'm assuming it to be related to a Intel GPU-side issue. They're GPUs that has poor OpenGL support.
Cacodemon345
 
Joined: 22 Dec 2017
Discord: Cacodemon345#9151

Re: Skybox rendered incorrectly on older machines

Postby gwHero » Sun Jun 03, 2018 12:12 pm

Cacodemon345 wrote:I'm assuming it to be related to a Intel GPU-side issue. They're GPUs that has poor OpenGL support.

Certainly it's possible that it's related to older Intel GPU's, but that's not the whole story, because it worked flawlessly with build 1345c8e7 and the builds before that.
User avatar
gwHero
Be your own Siddhartha
 
Joined: 08 May 2017
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Skybox rendered incorrectly on older machines

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun Jun 03, 2018 12:30 pm

Since this happened in another issue I fixed a few hours ago: Are you using 32 or 64 bit builds?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Skybox rendered incorrectly on older machines

Postby gwHero » Sun Jun 03, 2018 12:40 pm

Graf Zahl wrote:Since this happened in another issue I fixed a few hours ago: Are you using 32 or 64 bit builds?


64 only.
User avatar
gwHero
Be your own Siddhartha
 
Joined: 08 May 2017
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Skybox rendered incorrectly on older machines

Postby gwHero » Sun Jun 03, 2018 12:47 pm

Graf Zahl wrote:There's still two uncompiled revisions in between those two...

So it's one of these commit's that introduced this behaviour on older intel gpu's:

67cb6e63b cleanup of the 2D interface.
d904fba05 trying to clean up the weapon renderer.
c2ac98535 split off the utility functions from gl_weapon.cpp.

I could try to track it down with the original plan since 2 of the builds are not present on AppVeyor.
User avatar
gwHero
Be your own Siddhartha
 
Joined: 08 May 2017
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Skybox rendered incorrectly on older machines

Postby Cacodemon345 » Sun Jun 03, 2018 12:48 pm

The first one is likely to my eyes. I don't think the weapon renderer actually uses code from the world renderer.
Cacodemon345
 
Joined: 22 Dec 2017
Discord: Cacodemon345#9151

Re: Skybox rendered incorrectly on older machines

Postby gwHero » Sun Jun 03, 2018 12:51 pm

Yes, I agree. But you never know :)
User avatar
gwHero
Be your own Siddhartha
 
Joined: 08 May 2017
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Skybox rendered incorrectly on older machines

Postby gwHero » Mon Jun 04, 2018 6:55 am

So today I started to get the latest builds from GitHub, and just before getting previous commits, I wanted to test the latest version first, so I compiled the latest code and guess what: the bug does no longer occur on the old Intel gpu with GL 4.0.
As an extra test I checked with the latest devbuild from today (build 4pre-524-ge3c78ab83) and this one was okay too. On the GL 4.2 laptop however both builds still show the strange skybox behaviour.

Was GZDoom code changed very recently changed in this respect? If not than I think indeed only the older intel gpu's are to blame. In that case for me this issue needs no longer be addressed (there is a simple work around by switching Fullscreen off and back on, or by using borderless window).
User avatar
gwHero
Be your own Siddhartha
 
Joined: 08 May 2017
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Skybox rendered incorrectly on older machines

Postby Graf Zahl » Mon Jun 04, 2018 7:08 am

This actually sounds like an uninitialized variable somewhere.
Hmm...
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Skybox rendered incorrectly on older machines

Postby gwHero » Mon Jun 04, 2018 8:33 am

A hypothesis: could it be that the skybox in some cases would not be initialized depending on some events, for instance if the wad is launched from GZDB and GZDoom main window does not have the active focus yet.. (in fullscreen mode only)? This suddenly occurred to me because it's always corrected if you switch fullscreen off and on. And I did some more testing with builds that went wrong: they seem to go okay when I drop the the wad on the GZDoom icon instead of launching it from GZDB..

Edit: I do see some changes in the code related to sky a couple of days earlier before the error occurred in the builds mentioned earlier (d694e19f0 & 785a6c2ce). Don't know it this could be related though)
User avatar
gwHero
Be your own Siddhartha
 
Joined: 08 May 2017
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Skybox rendered incorrectly on older machines

Postby Cacodemon345 » Mon Jun 04, 2018 9:14 am

I think the changes to the sky code seems to be causing those bugs.

User was warned for this post -Rachael
Cacodemon345
 
Joined: 22 Dec 2017
Discord: Cacodemon345#9151

Re: Skybox rendered incorrectly on older machines

Postby Rachael » Mon Jun 04, 2018 9:34 am

Cacodemon345 wrote:I think the changes to the sky code seems to be causing those bugs.

We keep having to tell you not to make brain-dead posts. This is falling into the territory of moderator action, now. When Graf asked you to stop, Gez asked you to stop, and I asked you to stop at least twice, that's more than enough for the warning you just got.
User avatar
Rachael
QZDoom + Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004

Previous

Return to Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest