Pickup Benefits?
Moderator: GZDoom Developers
-
- Posts: 274
- Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2004 10:54 am
- Location: Ontario, Canada
Pickup Benefits?
I've been thinking about this for a while, and I think a feature idea taken from DDF would be nice in DECORATE to rid the need for any scripting. Firstly...(Note that this was taken from Things.ddf)
[HEALTH_POTION:2014]
RADIUS=20;
HEIGHT=16;
PICKUP_BENEFIT=HEALTH(1:200);
PICKUP_SOUND=ITEMUP;
PICKUP_MESSAGE=GotHealthPotion;
TRANSLUCENCY=60%;
RESPAWN_EFFECT=ITEM_RESPAWN;
SPECIAL=COUNT_AS_ITEM,SPECIAL;
STATES(IDLE)=BON1:A:6:NORMAL:NOTHING,
BON1:B:6:NORMAL:NOTHING,
BON1:C:6:NORMAL:NOTHING,
BON1:D:6:NORMAL:NOTHING,
BON1:C:6:NORMAL:NOTHING,
BON1:B:6:NORMAL:NOTHING;
I think something like Pickup.Benefit would be useful so that you don't have to script a special onto the new pickup you have created.
And this is hypothetical, but if Randy DOES include Timmie's code (or writes his own) for Dynamic Lights there should, of course, be a way to attach them to states of objects and actors (and weapons?).
[HEALTH_POTION:2014]
RADIUS=20;
HEIGHT=16;
PICKUP_BENEFIT=HEALTH(1:200);
PICKUP_SOUND=ITEMUP;
PICKUP_MESSAGE=GotHealthPotion;
TRANSLUCENCY=60%;
RESPAWN_EFFECT=ITEM_RESPAWN;
SPECIAL=COUNT_AS_ITEM,SPECIAL;
STATES(IDLE)=BON1:A:6:NORMAL:NOTHING,
BON1:B:6:NORMAL:NOTHING,
BON1:C:6:NORMAL:NOTHING,
BON1:D:6:NORMAL:NOTHING,
BON1:C:6:NORMAL:NOTHING,
BON1:B:6:NORMAL:NOTHING;
I think something like Pickup.Benefit would be useful so that you don't have to script a special onto the new pickup you have created.
And this is hypothetical, but if Randy DOES include Timmie's code (or writes his own) for Dynamic Lights there should, of course, be a way to attach them to states of objects and actors (and weapons?).
-
- Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
- Posts: 49192
- Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
- Location: Germany
-
- Posts: 274
- Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2004 10:54 am
- Location: Ontario, Canada
-
- Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
- Posts: 49192
- Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
- Location: Germany
-
- Posts: 274
- Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2004 10:54 am
- Location: Ontario, Canada
-
- Posts: 7656
- Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 5:14 am
- Location: Some cold place
-
- Posts: 274
- Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2004 10:54 am
- Location: Ontario, Canada
-
- Posts: 274
- Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2004 10:54 am
- Location: Ontario, Canada
-
- Posts: 7656
- Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 5:14 am
- Location: Some cold place
No, and there's no way to do it in EDGE without RTS either.
To have a red potion, however:
To have a red potion, however:
Code: Select all
ACTOR Health5 : HealthBonus
{
Inventory.Amount 5
States
{
Spawn:
BON2 ABCDCB 6
Loop
}
}
-
- Posts: 863
- Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2004 6:15 am
- Location: Sydney, Australia
-
- Posts: 7656
- Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 5:14 am
- Location: Some cold place
That said, I haven't tried this yet:In response to LK873, I wrote:No, and there's no way to do it in EDGE without RTS either.
Code: Select all
Inventory.Amount -5
-
- Posts: 937
- Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 9:16 pm