Maps that need compatibility settings.

Is there something that doesn't work right in the latest GZDoom? Post about it here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please construct and post a simple demo whenever possible for all bug reports. Please provide links to everything.

If you can include a wad demonstrating the problem, please do so. Bug reports that include fully-constructed demos have a much better chance of being investigated in a timely manner than those that don't.

Please make a new topic for every bug. Don't combine multiple bugs into a single topic. Thanks!

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Postby Gez » Sun Oct 27, 2019 7:03 pm

Something to investigate:

https://onemandoom.blogspot.com/2019/10 ... rfwad.html
Another big thing that might color your experience isn't Pablo's fault. He has the entire starting area kitted out with plenty of ethereal arrows, more than you will probably need. Due to where they are placed, though - in between the chapel benches and the wall - the player can't pick them up in ZDoom.

https://www.doomworld.com/idgames/level ... p-r/riverf

Four quivers in the starting room.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Postby _mental_ » Tue Oct 29, 2019 7:40 am

Inability to grab those quivers is caused by differences between this and this. Notice less/greater vs. less-or-equal/greater-or-equal.
Top of an item is at the same height as a floor of sector from it can be picked up. Vanilla Heretic and GZDoom treat intersection player with item differently in this case.

If we don't plan to change the conditions in question (I believe we don't), the simplest solution is lower four sectors by one unit.
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Postby Graf Zahl » Tue Oct 29, 2019 8:41 am

I'd say change it - but only for MF_SPECIAL items.
I noticed this problem in Hexen, too, but never bothered to track it down.
This clearly got consolidated with other code where the different handling was crucial, but for item pickups it's clearly not correct.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Postby _mental_ » Thu Oct 31, 2019 3:38 am

To be sure that I got the idea right, here is my PR.
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Postby Gez » Thu Oct 31, 2019 4:06 am

Looks fine.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Postby Archie Duddlehore » Mon Nov 11, 2019 6:03 pm

https://www.doomworld.com/idgames/theme ... s/vltnight
BA1288DF7A7AD637948825EA87E18728 // vltnight.zip:vltnight.wad map02

Valletta's Doom Nightmare: MAP02 has a locked door with a backwards linedef, so it doesn't open from that side. Now that FlipLine finally exists, this line can be fixed without having to replace the entire map.
Archie Duddlehore
 

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Postby Hexereticdoom » Fri Nov 15, 2019 4:59 pm

Hello, I have recently encountered a pretty strange issue while I was playing with my HXRTC Project randomizer mod on Community Chest 2 under latest release of GZDoom, currently at this moment 4.2.4a version...

After arriving to the big hellish marble area of MAP07: To Hell and Back (North-East corner in GZDoom automap) for getting the Red Skull Key, and once the Mancubus and Arachnotron monster-types showdown is over, the teleporting-exit passage opens like expected, but the bridge that allows arriving you to the exit passage doesn't rise at all. What happened? I have never faced this on my past games with the CC2 megawad... :?

But curiously, and after making some tests, seems I've detected the reason why this happens. The use of the console cheat command KILL MONSTERS effectively raises the aforementioned bridge to exit. So the problem must come from the Arachnotron-derivated monsters... then I enter into automap mode and use the IDDT cheat twice for viewing all the map elements... and voilá! There are a couple of Arachnorbs stucked in their teleport-ambush lair (hidden area at North of map) which seems the fast scroll floor hasn't taken them into the big marble area... Is this because they are floating monsters and scrollers don't affect them?

If answer is positive, is there any solution to apply for this? Now that I think, probably some other monster randomizers may get affected by this issue...

Thanks in advance for your attention!
User avatar
Hexereticdoom
Don't make me angry or I'll bite you! Heheheee...
 
Joined: 08 Aug 2013
Location: Spain

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Postby Graf Zahl » Fri Nov 15, 2019 5:31 pm

Hexereticdoom wrote: Is this because they are floating monsters and scrollers don't affect them?


Correct.

Hexereticdoom wrote:If answer is positive, is there any solution to apply for this? Now that I think, probably some other monster randomizers may get affected by this issue...


Aside from not playing with mods that alter the monsters in a way that makes them incompatible with what the map expects - no.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Postby Hexereticdoom » Sat Nov 16, 2019 3:23 pm

Graf Zahl wrote:
Hexereticdoom wrote: Is this because they are floating monsters and scrollers don't affect them?


Correct.

Hexereticdoom wrote:If answer is positive, is there any solution to apply for this? Now that I think, probably some other monster randomizers may get affected by this issue...


Aside from not playing with mods that alter the monsters in a way that makes them incompatible with what the map expects - no.

OK, I see, then it's just what I suspected... But it's good to know it, too. In fact, I'm working around again on the mod at this moment to update it and resolve the aforementioned issue in an effective way for avoiding that map-breaking. I guess I'll finish it in a matter of few hours...

Thank you for your answer! 8-)
User avatar
Hexereticdoom
Don't make me angry or I'll bite you! Heheheee...
 
Joined: 08 Aug 2013
Location: Spain

PreviousNext

Return to Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest