Long Loading Times

Need help running G/Q/ZDoom/ECWolf/Zandronum/3DGE/EDuke32/Raze? Did your computer break? Ask here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Contrary to popular belief, we are not all-knowing-all-seeing magical beings!

If you want help you're going to have to provide lots of info. Like what is your hardware, what is your operating system, what version of GZDoom/LZDoom/whatever you're using, what mods you're loading, how you're loading it, what you've already tried for fixing the problem, and anything else that is even remotely relevant to the problem.

We can't magically figure out what it is if you're going to be vague, and if we feel like you're just wasting our time with guessing games we will act like that's what you're really doing and won't help you.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48868
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Long Loading Times

Post by Graf Zahl »

What Windows version do you use?
CmdrSteak
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2018 7:54 pm

Re: Long Loading Times

Post by CmdrSteak »

Windows 10.
_mental_
 
 
Posts: 3808
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 4:32 am

Re: Long Loading Times

Post by _mental_ »

Without physical access to hardware I can imagine the single thing that may help to figure out what's going on. It's a memory dump taken during a lag time frame.
Does anyone have other ideas? BTW process Explorer can also suspend a process to make this approach less critical to timing.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48868
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Long Loading Times

Post by Graf Zahl »

The only idea I have is that the MSVC2017 runtime is doing something this computer does not like. 3.3.0 was the first version built with that compiler so checking a recent devbuild may shed some light on it.

Return to “Technical Issues”