Vanilla Essence 4.3: 320x200p support! More bugfixes.

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
SanyaWaffles
Posts: 798
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 12:21 pm
Preferred Pronouns: They/Them
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11 for the Motorola Powerstack II
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: The Corn Fields

Re: Vanilla Essence 4.3: 320x200p support! More bugfixes.

Post by SanyaWaffles »

I'm getting a division by zero error when I run 4.3 at the 1080p setting.
zenlikecreature
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2020 8:26 am

Re: Vanilla Essence 4.3: 320x200p support! More bugfixes.

Post by zenlikecreature »

It is currently possible to normally set GZDoom in 320x200:

- Automap is pixelated properly (pixels not aligned with VE on)
- Status bar is pixelated properly (pixels not aligned with VE on)
- In-game fonts are pixelated properly (pixels not aligned with VE on)
- The weapon sprite distorts much less than with Vanilla Essence

- Gzdoom however doesn't offer some settings such as quantize pixels, custom pixel size, etc.
- The main menu in gzdoom forces resolution change for some reason. Is there a way to fix that?

Considering the above, I would say that Vanilla Essence is a bit outdated. I cherished and relied on this mod for quite a while but those minor inconsistencies had been a lingering pet peeve. Turns out now I can actually make GZdoom look quite like Chocolate Doom when I disable Vanilla Essence which makes me very happy. I'm still counting on VE to introduce those features in the future if possible, would be great.
User avatar
Caligari87
Admin
Posts: 6174
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 3:02 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him

Re: Vanilla Essence 4.3: 320x200p support! More bugfixes.

Post by Caligari87 »

GZDoom's option menus break and become unreadable at lower resolutions, so no, there's no way around that right now. The solution in the future will be to render those menus at a different resolution than the rest of the game, but that requires a refactor of some rendering code. This isn't something Vanilla Essence can do anything about.

VE does more than resolution changes though, so I think it's still worth keeping it around for all the other presets it offers.

8-)
User avatar
Nightsentinel
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2017 8:52 am

Re: Vanilla Essence 4.3: 320x200p support! More bugfixes.

Post by Nightsentinel »

I Want to report a bug - Whenever I want to load a new map I get the following error message:
"VM Execution aborted: Tried to read from address Zero.
Called from stretchhandler.WorldthingSpawned at 7-Vanilla Essence 4.3Pk3: zscript.zc, Line 144 "

I am using GZdoom 4.3.3 and the Vanilla Essence 4.3 version of the mod

Strangely it does not trigger this error when I load a saved game.

Also, IIIIIIIIIII have downloaded all the versions of this mod availale on this page and all of the give me the VM error message.

Can you please look into this error and fix it?
Would appreciate any reply that helps solve the error.
jxnkarl
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2021 7:51 pm
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Vanilla Essence 4.3: 320x200p support! More bugfixes.

Post by jxnkarl »

Maybe a feature to add a save setting? I wouldn't use doom without this mod, and everytime I would still have to set my settings, just a bit of an altered vanilla. Like one of them is the transparency, I like to switch it to pixel fuzz instead of software, because most of the time software is too laggy.
User avatar
krutomisi
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2021 10:17 am

Re: Vanilla Essence 4.3: 320x200p support! More bugfixes.

Post by krutomisi »

dirty hack but if you put the following into autoexec.cfg gzdoom will start with VE toggled on

autoexec.cfg

Code: Select all

set ve_autoenable true
test $ve_autoenable "VE_SilentToggle"
this mimics pushing the "toggle vanilla" button in the menu so I don't foresee it causing any issues but no guarantees
User avatar
Nightsentinel
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2017 8:52 am

Re: Vanilla Essence 4.3: 320x200p support! More bugfixes.

Post by Nightsentinel »

How do I use this without getting the VM Error when starting a new game? Please help
User avatar
TheVanessii
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2021 5:44 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Vanilla Essence 4.3: 320x200p support! More bugfixes.

Post by TheVanessii »

Nightsentinel wrote:I Want to report a bug - Whenever I want to load a new map I get the following error message:
"VM Execution aborted: Tried to read from address Zero.
Called from stretchhandler.WorldthingSpawned at 7-Vanilla Essence 4.3Pk3: zscript.zc, Line 144 "

I am using GZdoom 4.3.3 and the Vanilla Essence 4.3 version of the mod

Strangely it does not trigger this error when I load a saved game.

Also, IIIIIIIIIII have downloaded all the versions of this mod availale on this page and all of the give me the VM error message.

Can you please look into this error and fix it?
Would appreciate any reply that helps solve the error.
Yep I'm getting this error as well whenever I try to load a saved game. Would love if this got fixed! Such a great mod!
wanisea
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2017 2:35 am

Re: Vanilla Essence 4.3: 320x200p support! More bugfixes.

Post by wanisea »

Recommended for those who want to feel the classic Doom nostalgia in the default GZDoom settings. Thank you.
aSeriesOfNumbers
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 2:49 pm
Location: Vernon TX

Re: Vanilla Essence 4.3: 320x200p support! More bugfixes.

Post by aSeriesOfNumbers »

Rocket decals don't seem to show up, even with the option enabled within the VE settings.
Dieagamer101
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 6:14 pm

Re: Vanilla Essence 4.3: 320x200p support! More bugfixes.

Post by Dieagamer101 »

I really wanted to change a few interface elements, but since vanilla essence did not have it, I just did it myself:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Dieagamer101
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 6:14 pm

Re: Vanilla Essence 4.3: 320x200p support! More bugfixes.

Post by Dieagamer101 »

Here is an update to my changes to Vanilla essence, which I now called Vanilla Extract because it has larger options that you can change:

-You can now disable and enable Jump/Crouch
-You can now change renderers

For the future, I will figure out how to bring options that will make the engine look like crispy doom or PrBoom+

Enjoy!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Klemc
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2022 4:01 pm

Re: Vanilla Essence 4.3: 320x200p support! More bugfixes.

Post by Klemc »

@Dieagamer101

Could i request, as i asked if it's possible but been answered it's not the way it works. First asked specifically in original VEssence topic.

Best way, to have the choice, would be to make an additionnal PK3 that enables automatically the mod at game lauch.

Thanks.
User avatar
Nightsentinel
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2017 8:52 am

Re: Vanilla Essence 4.3: 320x200p support! More bugfixes.

Post by Nightsentinel »

TheVanessii wrote:
Nightsentinel wrote:I Want to report a bug - Whenever I want to load a new map I get the following error message:
"VM Execution aborted: Tried to read from address Zero.
Called from stretchhandler.WorldthingSpawned at 7-Vanilla Essence 4.3Pk3: zscript.zc, Line 144 "

I am using GZdoom 4.3.3 and the Vanilla Essence 4.3 version of the mod

Strangely it does not trigger this error when I load a saved game.

Also, IIIIIIIIIII have downloaded all the versions of this mod availale on this page and all of the give me the VM error message.

Can you please look into this error and fix it?
Would appreciate any reply that helps solve the error.
Yep I'm getting this error as well whenever I try to load a saved game. Would love if this got fixed! Such a great mod!

Guys, can anyone provide support on this error? Let me know if you need more context in order to provide help to fix the VM error.
Dieagamer101
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 6:14 pm

Re: Vanilla Essence 4.3: 320x200p support! More bugfixes.

Post by Dieagamer101 »

Klemc wrote: Mon Apr 25, 2022 8:27 pm @Dieagamer101

Could i request, as i asked if it's possible but been answered it's not the way it works. First asked specifically in original VEssence topic.

Best way, to have the choice, would be to make an additionnal PK3 that enables automatically the mod at game lauch.

Thanks.
I have no idea if this is possible, but I currently cannot work on the mod, nor do I intend to for the foreseeable future. I basically stopped modding for the time being as I am studying.

Return to “Gameplay Mods”