Netronian Chaos V.3.56: The Final, Last, Concluding Update

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
rhyrhygogo
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2020 8:09 am

Re: Netronian Chaos V.3.4: The Final, Last, Concluding Updat

Post by rhyrhygogo »

Captain J wrote:Dunno about the music pack, but i'd recommend some map packs like:

Back to Saturn X Episode 1 and 2
Sunlust
Community Chest 3 and 4
A.L.T.
Epic 2
Alien Vendetta
Lunatic
Scythe 2
Going Down
Thanks! but what about texture packs tho
User avatar
Captain J
 
 
Posts: 16822
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 2:20 am
Location: A Year old Pizza Box

Re: Netronian Chaos V.3.4: The Final, Last, Concluding Updat

Post by Captain J »

Well you can check MSPaintDoom on Zandronum Forum.
user5124
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun May 25, 2014 6:32 am

Re: Netronian Chaos V.3.4: The Final, Last, Concluding Updat

Post by user5124 »

Hello, I am using version 3.4 and have the glitch where even if I drop all my guns, the game still thinks I'm carrying the maximum. Is there any way to fix this? :cry:
User avatar
Captain J
 
 
Posts: 16822
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 2:20 am
Location: A Year old Pizza Box

Re: Netronian Chaos V.3.4: The Final, Last, Concluding Updat

Post by Captain J »

Maybe because of this?
Captain J wrote:P.S: Do not get confused with Default ZDoom Drop Weapons key and the mod's Drop key. They're completely different and pressing Default one will cause the error. Press F1 for Help.
user5124
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun May 25, 2014 6:32 am

Re: Netronian Chaos V.3.4: The Final, Last, Concluding Updat

Post by user5124 »

Captain J wrote:Maybe because of this?
Captain J wrote:P.S: Do not get confused with Default ZDoom Drop Weapons key and the mod's Drop key. They're completely different and pressing Default one will cause the error. Press F1 for Help.

Thank you. That fixed it.
User avatar
Captain J
 
 
Posts: 16822
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 2:20 am
Location: A Year old Pizza Box

Re: Netronian Chaos V.3.4: The Final, Last, Concluding Updat

Post by Captain J »

Huh after whole 2 years i just found out that i can add the featured mod label for individual mods provided by nice and kind m8f. Check out the OP for a surprise!

Speaking of which, i remember the time when the mod came out for the first time and took the 7th place... If i'm right. It's been a pleasing trek!
User avatar
armymen12002003
Posts: 1366
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 10:25 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Castle Wolfenstein

Re: Netronian Chaos V.3.4: The Final, Last, Concluding Updat

Post by armymen12002003 »

I noticed a small typo that this custom player sprite was PLAYF4F7 so i hope you didn't mind me fixing it to PLAYF4F6.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Captain J
 
 
Posts: 16822
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 2:20 am
Location: A Year old Pizza Box

Re: Netronian Chaos V.3.4: The Final, Last, Concluding Updat

Post by Captain J »

Oh, nice catch! Didn't notice the typo until now. And the timing is quite right for fixing this mod i guess. I just noticed that the menu on this mod is kinda outdated so i updated it. The new version is all ready to download!
User avatar
armymen12002003
Posts: 1366
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 10:25 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Castle Wolfenstein

Re: Netronian Chaos V.3.4: The Final, Last, Concluding Updat

Post by armymen12002003 »

Captain J wrote:Oh, nice catch! Didn't notice the typo until now. And the timing is quite right for fixing this mod i guess. I just noticed that the menu on this mod is kinda outdated so i updated it. The new version is all ready to download!
Lol no problem glad to see a new version.🙂
Bobby
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2019 11:59 am

Re: Netronian Chaos V.3.4: The Final, Last, Concluding Updat

Post by Bobby »

Can you make a weapons only version of the main mod and the addon please?
User avatar
Captain J
 
 
Posts: 16822
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 2:20 am
Location: A Year old Pizza Box

Re: Netronian Chaos V.3.4: The Final, Last, Concluding Updat

Post by Captain J »

I thought about it as well. But maybe someday!

In the meantime, Version 2.5 might satisfy you, tho it doesn't work with the addon.
User avatar
shino1
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 1:18 am

Re: Netronian Chaos V.3.4: The Final, Last, Concluding Updat

Post by shino1 »

Hey, so I was looking at the code trying to analyze why do enemies seem more mobile than regular Doom enemies and I found stuff like this:

Code: Select all

See:
		SRTY AAA 2 A_Chase
		SRTY C 0 A_SpawnItemEx("PlayerStep", 0.0, 0.0, 0.1, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, SXF_NoCheckPosition | 128)
		SRTY BBB 2 A_Chase
		SRTY CCC 2 A_Chase
		SRTY A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("PlayerStep", 0.0, 0.0, 0.1, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, SXF_NoCheckPosition | 128)
		SRTY DDD 2 A_Chase
		Loop
What does this exactly do? I understand A_Chase, but what does spawning PlayerStep do? This is not documented anywhere and all I found was some old code involving player actors, but this seems to be obsoleted I think?
User avatar
Tesculpture
Posts: 179
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2016 3:22 am

Re: Netronian Chaos V.3.4: The Final, Last, Concluding Updat

Post by Tesculpture »

A couple of bugs to report:
-The altfire of the Grenade Bouncer consumes two ammo at once - one from the magazine of the weapon, and another from the cryo grenade reserve ammo.

-In Coup De Main, when the Microgun Rifle is fired dry, it will shoot immediately without the usual spinup the next time you fire (ie after reloading). This does not happen when manually reloading a half empty mag, or if you swap weapons after reloading.

-The Swidga combat drone's hitbox does not line up with its sprites - to hit one, you have to aim above it instead of directly at it.
User avatar
Captain J
 
 
Posts: 16822
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 2:20 am
Location: A Year old Pizza Box

Re: Netronian Chaos V.3.4: The Final, Last, Concluding Updat

Post by Captain J »

Thanks! I've freshly fixed the bugs you mentioned. However, this dry-fire glitch that defies custom pre-firing sequence is something i just can't fix with my amateur knowledge. It also happens to Annihilator as well. I remember seeing this glitch happening in other Doom TCs like REELism 1 and 2. If someone has suggestion to solve this, please do let me know!

And here are the changes of today's update:

Code: Select all

Main Mod:

Lowered the volume of noisy part of the dry-fire sound effect

Raised the pinch of Tri-Desolator’s Primary firing sound effect

Fixed the bug of Grenade Bouncer spending 40mm ammo while doing Alt-Fire. Thanks Tesculpture!

Reduced bobbing intensity of floating enemies with FLOATBOB flag

Reduced Swidga’s height unit and adjusted the sprite offset. Now it’ll be easier get hit

Renamed Visvio’s tag into “Netronian Visvio”


Coup de Main:

Edited Microgun Rifle’s wind-off during firing to make it extra seamless

Lowered the volume of noisy part of the Long-Range Rifle’s Cocking sound effect

Removed 5 tics of Ren Gahn 2’s Mega-Beam Cannon preparation
Be sure to check out the OP to download!
shino1 wrote:Hey, so I was looking at the code trying to analyze why do enemies seem more mobile than regular Doom enemies and I found stuff like this:

What does this exactly do? I understand A_Chase, but what does spawning PlayerStep do? This is not documented anywhere and all I found was some old code involving player actors, but this seems to be obsoleted I think?
Oh, for some reason i forgot to reply you. Pardon me! Anyways that's the footstep sound making script for both the player and enemies. It spawns simple actor that plays plain ol' footstep sound effect. I didn't need to make another footstep actor or rename it even, so i copy and paste'd it.

The side effect of it would be not stopping footstep sound for few seconds despite the player has ceased moving. My next project would have no such problem. Well, if can fix it.
User avatar
Tesculpture
Posts: 179
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2016 3:22 am

Re: Netronian Chaos V.3.4: The Final, Last, Concluding Updat

Post by Tesculpture »

Captain J wrote:However, this dry-fire glitch that defies custom pre-firing sequence is something i just can't fix with my amateur knowledge.
In my own tinkering with NC, I was able to fix it by renaming the Microgun Rifle weapon actor's "Hold" state (and all pointers to it of course) to "Hold2". The problem seems to arise from GZDoom treating the "Hold" state differently from a user defined state, even if the state content is the same.

Return to “Gameplay Mods”