Netronian Chaos V.3.56: The Final, Last, Concluding Update

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
Gorec
Posts: 286
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2016 9:41 pm
Location: )()()()()()()()()()()()(

Re: Netronian Chaos V.3.4: The Final, Last, Concluding Updat

Post by Gorec »

Captain J wrote:Okay okay, i see what's happening now. Thanks for clarifying it, with the video even!... However, i actually tried the method you have shown me but still the glitch really did not happen on my end. I used mouse instead of keyboard during saving the game, i downloaded the recent version of gzdoom, devbuild and fired the weapon you used in the video as well. And why am i hearing different weapon sound effects? Those aren't belong to the original Mod, no? And why am i seeing that "The Weapon Limit is Turned Off."?

I guess you're playing with the slightly outdated version? I do actually update my mod time to time, but without any notice. I'm so sorry with the inconvenience. But i do hope redownloading it would fix the problem because it should be...
its still happens on the latest stable gzdoom, in the video i did use a version before cryo defender update(that used 5 ammo) with some custom sounds from max payne, but i redownloaded the mod just now and the effect is still here
in my first reply i said that the weapon limit was off(i suck too much with it)
it happens when changing from slot to slot(does not affect slot 2)
User avatar
Captain J
 
 
Posts: 16806
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 2:20 am
Discord: DiscussJ#3128
Location: A Year old Pizza Box

Re: Netronian Chaos V.3.4: The Final, Last, Concluding Updat

Post by Captain J »

Tried to track down the glitch with either GZDoom 4.5.0 and GZDoom-x64-g4.6pre-8-g6e3a4c590... Still this is not really happening. I seriously have no idea what's going on with this glitch because i can't even make it happen.

Anyone, please reply me in an instant if you ever encounter this glitch. Feels like i'm in a pickle here... Haha

EDIT: How about resetting your config? Since you've updated your gzdoom and all, i think the default config for the previous version should be renewed because of keybind corruption or something. I hope this helps.
openroadracer wrote:I think that's about all the major feedback I've got at the moment. Excellent update as always, Captain.
Noted. Thanks for the detailed feedback, as always.
User avatar
Gorec
Posts: 286
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2016 9:41 pm
Location: )()()()()()()()()()()()(

Re: Netronian Chaos V.3.4: The Final, Last, Concluding Updat

Post by Gorec »

i downloaded new gzdoom separately so there is no old config from previous build but this weird thing still happens
EDIT: i launched only main mod without an addon, when loading a save and choosing another weapon slot it will give you second weapon in the order like support gun instead of semi-auto or anti armor instead of grenade bouncer, only affects slots 5-6-7
how to reproduce the thing - load the main mod with gzdoom (default config or not does not matter), disable weapon limit, either collect or just idfa weapons, select weapon from slot 1-2-3-4-8, save then load and at the same time select slot 5-6-7 and you will get the second weapon in the slot not the first
User avatar
Captain J
 
 
Posts: 16806
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 2:20 am
Discord: DiscussJ#3128
Location: A Year old Pizza Box

Re: Netronian Chaos V.3.4: The Final, Last, Concluding Updat

Post by Captain J »


I tried, really really tried my best to follow your instruction. If there's something i did somehow miss, please let me know.
User avatar
ZikShadow
Posts: 519
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2016 1:43 am
Location: Could be the chair, the floor, or the bed.

Re: Netronian Chaos V.3.4: The Final, Last, Concluding Updat

Post by ZikShadow »

That sounds like such a niche non-game breaking bug that I don't even know if it's worth it to find a fix. I guess it might be worth it if someone's gonna save, load, and then change weapons at the same time constantly to the point where it becomes a problem. Even I doubt it would even bother much, consider all they have to do then is just swap to the right gun, unless they're saving in the middle of combat, which is on them.
User avatar
Captain J
 
 
Posts: 16806
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 2:20 am
Discord: DiscussJ#3128
Location: A Year old Pizza Box

Re: Netronian Chaos V.3.4: The Final, Last, Concluding Updat

Post by Captain J »

Well, thankfully i’ve got some advice from the people of ZDoom discord server and i tried to fix it somehow. I added Weapon.SlotPriority to it tho i still can’t find the glitch. Hope it worked.

Also here are some different changes:

- both 5.7mm and .308 ammo amount has been changed

- Long-Range Rifle now has 27 mag count and takes a little while to zoom out after firing.

- Weapon selection order is now different with Coup de Main addon. The new weapon in each slot will be the selected first.

- Logo at the menu screen is now nicely adjusted(including the addon one)

And yes, i just updated the mod and the addon. Redownload them again, please!
User avatar
Gorec
Posts: 286
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2016 9:41 pm
Location: )()()()()()()()()()()()(

Re: Netronian Chaos V.3.4: The Final, Last, Concluding Updat

Post by Gorec »

Captain J wrote:
I tried, really really tried my best to follow your instruction. If there's something i did somehow miss, please let me know.
since you changed the priority of the weapons its not a problem anymore, but i specifically said "load and at that exact time change slots" maybe i wasnt clear enough - change slots when screen is fading not after it
User avatar
Captain J
 
 
Posts: 16806
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 2:20 am
Discord: DiscussJ#3128
Location: A Year old Pizza Box

Re: Netronian Chaos V.3.4: The Final, Last, Concluding Updat

Post by Captain J »

I guess this is just a language barrier or a simple misunderstanding, but i honestly don't think people would often select the weapon AS SOON AS the screen is start to load and whatnot... The glitch is, sorry to say, sounds rather less troublesome and niche to really break the game. But i take the responsibility of misunderstanding. It could've been a real trouble. Who knows!

Anyways, i guess the update finally fixed it?
User avatar
Gorec
Posts: 286
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2016 9:41 pm
Location: )()()()()()()()()()()()(

Re: Netronian Chaos V.3.4: The Final, Last, Concluding Updat

Post by Gorec »

oh yeah it did, i just had a couple of deaths for choosing wrong weapons but its fine now
User avatar
openroadracer
Posts: 415
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2019 1:03 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 7 Professional 64-bit SP1
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support
Location: Martinez, GA, 30907

Re: Netronian Chaos V.3.4: The Final, Last, Concluding Updat

Post by openroadracer »

So, Captain, there's an issue with the new Marauder enemy added with Coup de Main. It seems to be an issue with his death state: despite being killed, he still registers as a valid target for the player's attacks and will still stop attacks from going through him.

This is even more noticeable for me because, as a controller player, I use an aim assist mod, and dead Marauders still cause my aim to go straight to them, even though they're dead.
User avatar
Captain J
 
 
Posts: 16806
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 2:20 am
Discord: DiscussJ#3128
Location: A Year old Pizza Box

Re: Netronian Chaos V.3.4: The Final, Last, Concluding Updat

Post by Captain J »

Okay, i see what's happening now. The glitch is positively noticeable, thankfully and i will be fixing this after remodeling my snapshooting workshop!
User avatar
Captain J
 
 
Posts: 16806
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 2:20 am
Discord: DiscussJ#3128
Location: A Year old Pizza Box

Re: Netronian Chaos V.3.4: The Final, Last, Concluding Updat

Post by Captain J »

Aaaaaand all fixed. See if the Marauder is acting fine. Also be sure to check out my Snapshooting Workshop as well!
User avatar
openroadracer
Posts: 415
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2019 1:03 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 7 Professional 64-bit SP1
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support
Location: Martinez, GA, 30907

Re: Netronian Chaos V.3.4: The Final, Last, Concluding Updat

Post by openroadracer »

Yeah, that fixed the Marauder. Thanks again.
rhyrhygogo
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2020 8:09 am

Re: Netronian Chaos V.3.4: The Final, Last, Concluding Updat

Post by rhyrhygogo »

Other than the official campaign, any recommended wads, textures and Music packs?
User avatar
Captain J
 
 
Posts: 16806
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 2:20 am
Discord: DiscussJ#3128
Location: A Year old Pizza Box

Re: Netronian Chaos V.3.4: The Final, Last, Concluding Updat

Post by Captain J »

Dunno about the music pack, but i'd recommend some map packs like:

Back to Saturn X Episode 1 and 2
Sunlust
Community Chest 3 and 4
A.L.T.
Epic 2
Alien Vendetta
Lunatic
Scythe 2
Going Down

Return to “Gameplay Mods”