Black Ops Zombies inspired map

Archive of the old editing forum
Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. This forum is archived - please use this set of forums to ask new questions.
CurtisNHL1

Black Ops Zombies inspired map

Post by CurtisNHL1 »

Hello, I am a noob at ACS Scripting in Slade 3. What I am trying to do is create a script that will spawn imps and zombiemen at four different locations in the map as soon as the player enters the level. Here is my code so far (it is not working):

Code: Select all

script 1 ENTER
{
until (thingcountname("DoomImp", 2)>10);

SpawnSpot ("DoomImp",-512, 2);
	 }

Any Help is appreciated!
Jekyll Grim Payne

Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Black Ops Zombies inspired map

Post by Jekyll Grim Payne »

Well, first, I don't think 'until' is a valid loop type. You can use 'while'.
There can't be a semicolon at the end of the condition.
The loop should be {inside} another section under the condition.
And you'll want to have a delay between spawns.
And '-512' is not a valid TID; this part of the script should be a TID of the spawn spot.

Also, Enter script is executed once per player, which might not be what you want if the map is for multiplayer, so perhaps you'll rather need an Open script.

So, I believe it should be something like this (I assume that you have four MapSpot actors with TIDs between 1 and 4, and the imps will get the TID of 5):

script 1 Open
{
	while (thingcountname("DoomImp",5)<11)
	{
		SpawnSpot("DoomImp",random(1,4),5); //spawns imps at a random spot with TID between 1 and 4, the imp gains a TID of 5
		delay(35*random(1,10)); //this gives a random delay between 1 and 10 seconds
	}
}
Also, if you want to check for the number of imps in general, not the imps specifically spawned by those spots, you can replace the TID of 5 with 0 in both thingcountname and SpawnSpot functions.