Operation: Arctic Wolf Revisited (v. 4.0)

For Total Conversions and projects that don't otherwise fall under the other categories.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
CeeJay
Posts: 1452
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 2:52 am

Re: [UPDATED] Operation: Arctic Wolf Revisited

Post by CeeJay »

Thank you, my good man.
CeeJay
Posts: 1452
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 2:52 am

Re: [MINOR UPDATE] Operation: Arctic Wolf Revisited

Post by CeeJay »

Some small additions, meant to get this out for christmas but things got in the way.

Changes:
Spoiler:
User avatar
SamVision
Posts: 2424
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2010 4:47 pm
Location: Behind You

Re: [MINOR UPDATE] Operation: Arctic Wolf Revisited

Post by SamVision »

This is how I always imagined Operation Arctic Wolf. The OG dehacked version was ambitious but way too rough.
User avatar
armymen12002003
Posts: 1366
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 10:25 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Castle Wolfenstein

Re: [MINOR UPDATE] Operation: Arctic Wolf Revisited

Post by armymen12002003 »

i'm not sure if it's this mod or the source port but when i enter the outer perimiter of the nazi base the game crashes.
User avatar
RUNSABER
Posts: 282
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2015 8:42 pm

Re: [MINOR UPDATE] Operation: Arctic Wolf Revisited

Post by RUNSABER »

armymen12002003 wrote:i'm not sure if it's this mod or the source port but when i enter the outer perimiter of the nazi base the game crashes.
Try updating to version 2.1 https://sourceforge.net/projects/edge2/ ... .0/Test-3/

If you have issues with rendering, make a new shortcut and use the -newsegwalk -norenderbuffers command arguments in the shortcut target link! You can also try and record what went wrong and we may be able to help ya!
CeeJay
Posts: 1452
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 2:52 am

Re: [MINOR UPDATE] Operation: Arctic Wolf Revisited

Post by CeeJay »

I recently had the same problem myself, but I asumed it was something unique on my end or just a random thing. I had no problem what so ever while developing and testing the mod so my guess is that it has something to do with the version of 3DGE being used.

When it does crash, does changelog.txt say anything ?
User avatar
armymen12002003
Posts: 1366
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 10:25 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Castle Wolfenstein

Re: [MINOR UPDATE] Operation: Arctic Wolf Revisited

Post by armymen12002003 »

Nope just crashes it crashes right at the beginning of map 04 and yes i was using both 3dge 2.0.4 and 2.1.0
User avatar
QuakedoomNukem Cz
Posts: 235
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 11:27 am
Location: Smržovka; Czech Republic

Re: [MINOR UPDATE] Operation: Arctic Wolf Revisited

Post by QuakedoomNukem Cz »

armymen12002003 wrote:Nope just crashes it crashes right at the beginning of map 04 and yes i was using both 3dge 2.0.4 and 2.1.0
For me, it crashed at the start of Map 12 - Shark Farm. Maybe the engine is not ready for this (?)
User avatar
armymen12002003
Posts: 1366
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 10:25 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Castle Wolfenstein

Re: [MINOR UPDATE] Operation: Arctic Wolf Revisited

Post by armymen12002003 »

have you ever figured out why this crashes?
CeeJay
Posts: 1452
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 2:52 am

Re: [MINOR UPDATE] Operation: Arctic Wolf Revisited

Post by CeeJay »

Does 3DGE normally crash on you (using Doom, Doom 2 or custom levels) or does it appear to just be when using the mod ?
User avatar
armymen12002003
Posts: 1366
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 10:25 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Castle Wolfenstein

Re: [MINOR UPDATE] Operation: Arctic Wolf Revisited

Post by armymen12002003 »

i'm pretty sure it did it during normal doom / doom 2 levels
User avatar
Graaicko
Posts: 524
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 11:22 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)

Re: [MINOR UPDATE] Operation: Arctic Wolf Revisited

Post by Graaicko »

I keep getting this error on level 3.
Spoiler:
CeeJay
Posts: 1452
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 2:52 am

Re: [MINOR UPDATE] Operation: Arctic Wolf Revisited

Post by CeeJay »

Yea, there is a lot crashes and whatnot sadly. I will get around to updating this mod eventually and hopefully fix these issues, but I am kind of short on time and have to wait until I get a new computer.
CeeJay
Posts: 1452
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 2:52 am

Re: [MINOR UPDATE] Operation: Arctic Wolf Revisited

Post by CeeJay »

The broken nature of this mod has bothered me for far too long so I decided to see if I can get it up and working. But, I enjoy this one so much that I just keept fixing and improving. So I am doing a revamped version of the mod and as an extra bonus it will end up being compatible with EDGE 1.35 up to the more recent 2.10 builds.

Buried mines now slightly visible
Image

Vehicle sprites getting replaced with models
Image

New more readable fonts
Image
Last edited by CeeJay on Wed Sep 02, 2020 12:09 pm, edited 2 times in total.
CeeJay
Posts: 1452
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 2:52 am

Re: Operation: Arctic Wolf Revisited (MD2s)

Post by CeeJay »

New skybox(s), thanks Lobo
Image

Return to “TCs, Full Games, and Other Projects”