GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Projects that have specifically been abandoned or considered "dead" get moved here, so people will quit bumping them. If your project has wound up here and it should not be, contact a moderator to have it moved back to the land of the living.
User avatar
ZZYZX
 
 
Posts: 1384
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2012 1:43 am
Location: Ukraine

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Post by ZZYZX »

Nevander wrote:It will benefit the maps in my project like you would not believe.
Remaking Doom 64 for GZDoom!
I would :lol:
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
Posts: 4141
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 12:19 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Post by Kappes Buur »

ZZYZX wrote: Also, what's this?
That may have something to do with [r2502] and [r2558]. :?:
User avatar
Mikk-
Posts: 2274
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 1:31 pm
Location: Somewhere off Kanagawa

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Post by Mikk- »

ZZYZX wrote: Also, what's this? It doesn't seem to work for me at all, neither in GZDB or GZDoom. Should it?
You need to use the Stencil, AddStencil, Shaded or AddShaded renderstyle property for the colour to work.
Image
Nevander
Posts: 2254
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 11:32 pm

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Post by Nevander »

ZZYZX wrote:
Nevander wrote:It will benefit the maps in my project like you would not believe.
Remaking Doom 64 for GZDoom!
I would :lol:
Oh yeah. :rock:
User avatar
ibm5155
Posts: 1268
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 4:24 pm

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Post by ibm5155 »

Code: Select all



class SightChecker : Actor
{
	Default
	{
	-SOLID
	+NOGRAVITY
	+NOCLIP
	+INVISIBLE
	+NOINTERACTION 
	}
	Actor Act;
	
	States
	{
		Spawn:	
		C000 A 1; 		
		C000 A 1
		{
			FindActors();
		}
		goto Myloop;
		
		Myloop:
			XOFF A 1
			{
				A_logint(CheckVisibility());
			}
			Goto Myloop;

	
	// <---- missing }
	void FindActors()// or FindLightSourcePointers
	{
		//It's a mess from a mod trying zscript for the second day with many lack of documentaiton :(
		//so it can be better
		ActorIterator It;
		class<Actor> _type = "Actor";
		It = ActorIterator.create(666,_type);
		ptr_LightSrc = It.Next();
	}
	
	bool CheckVisibility()
	{
		return CheckSight(ptr_LightSrc);
	}
}

This will crash gzdoom builder
User avatar
ZZYZX
 
 
Posts: 1384
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2012 1:43 am
Location: Ukraine

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Post by ZZYZX »

Doesn't crash for me, just errors out:
Image

Provide full script in PM please. Or stack trace.
Accensus
Posts: 2383
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2016 9:59 am

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Post by Accensus »

Has the resource loading time gotten bigger or is it just my imagination? I have to wait up to 7-8 seconds while it used to take around 3.
Nevander
Posts: 2254
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 11:32 pm

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Post by Nevander »

Lud wrote:Has the resource loading time gotten bigger or is it just my imagination? I have to wait up to 7-8 seconds while it used to take around 3.
How big are your resources in MB? If they haven't changed in size from when it was 3 seconds, then I would want to know why as well. If you added a lot more stuff to the resource file, then it might be normal.
Accensus
Posts: 2383
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2016 9:59 am

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Post by Accensus »

Loading just gzdoom.pk3 and doom2.wad is enough to make it load for 8 seconds. I swear on me mum that it never took so long before. Hell, even on my cheap-ass laptop it was 3 seconds max. I'm on a PC now and it's slow as hell.
User avatar
ZZYZX
 
 
Posts: 1384
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2012 1:43 am
Location: Ukraine

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Post by ZZYZX »

ZScript parsing is really slow. I wanted to optimize it, but never got there. But if it really loads for eight seconds, I might make that a priority.
Nevander
Posts: 2254
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 11:32 pm

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Post by Nevander »

This is probably a dumb question but this fork is totally separate from GZDB correct? In other words, if I update GZDB I won't get these fork's revisions? How does one install this fork? I've always used the installers for DB2, GZDB, and DB64. Do I just download the binaries and dump them into a new folder for GZDB-Bugfix?

EDIT: I got it working, it even uses GZDB's cfg file. Is that intentional? I might would prefer them to be separate since one contains things that the other does not.

Also, I found a bug already. I can't set black (0, 0, 0) or 000000 by picking the color for the D64 color system. I can enter it manually as 000000 but then it comes up blank.
User avatar
ZZYZX
 
 
Posts: 1384
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2012 1:43 am
Location: Ukraine

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Post by ZZYZX »

Nevander wrote:This is probably a dumb question but this fork is totally separate from GZDB correct? In other words, if I update GZDB I won't get these fork's revisions? How does one install this fork? I've always used the installers for DB2, GZDB, and DB64. Do I just download the binaries and dump them into a new folder for GZDB-Bugfix?
Yes, or you can even dump them into the GZDB directory, shouldn't conflict, too few changes.
Nevander wrote:EDIT: I got it working, it even uses GZDB's cfg file. Is that intentional? I might would prefer them to be separate since one contains things that the other does not.
Shouldn't conflict, too few changes. I personally wouldn't want to reconfigure everything from scratch.
Nevander wrote:Also, I found a bug already. I can't set black (0, 0, 0) or 000000 by picking the color for the D64 color system. I can enter it manually as 000000 but then it comes up blank.
Well it works, just has wrong handling in the settings. It's a bug in the "Custom" tab, and this will be resolved once I actually make a new tab for color-related settings and don't rely on the current one.
Nevander
Posts: 2254
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 11:32 pm

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Post by Nevander »

ZZYZX wrote:Well it works, just has wrong handling in the settings. It's a bug in the "Custom" tab, and this will be resolved once I actually make a new tab for color-related settings and don't rely on the current one.
Ah I see. No rush man, you're doing great things. Finally, I can color sectors like Doom 64 does thanks to Graf and you. Miracles do happen! In the Doom community at least.

EDIT: There's probably not a way to copy/paste the color hex numbers from Doom Builder 64 is there? Within DB64 you can copy and paste the RGBs for ease of copying colors but it doesn't appear to send that paste data anywhere outside of DB64 which is a shame. I plan to get the identical colors from DB64 but manually entering the RGBs is going to be tedious. Would it at least be possible for a way to copy and paste all 5 color fields at one time, matching each copied field to the next one to paste to? Not sure if that's doable but it would sure help. :)
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17454
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Post by Nash »

ZZYZX wrote: works
Is that candle auto-aligning itself to the slope's normal, or am I just seeing things? :mrgreen: Off-topic, but an "auto-align to slope" would be cool for things like fake blood/grunge decals; flat things that you want to scatter around the level.

Not actually a feature request because it's too minor and (as of now) I am okay with just doing it manually... just thought I'd write it down before I forget. XD
User avatar
ZZYZX
 
 
Posts: 1384
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2012 1:43 am
Location: Ukraine

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Post by ZZYZX »

Nash wrote:Is that candle auto-aligning itself to the slope's normal, or am I just seeing things? :mrgreen: Off-topic, but an "auto-align to slope" would be cool for things like fake blood/grunge decals; flat things that you want to scatter around the level.

Not actually a feature request because it's too minor and (as of now) I am okay with just doing it manually... just thought I'd write it down before I forget. XD
I can make thing autoaligning a feature. Right now it's done via ZScript in the candle itself though :) And it just looks bad in the editor.
Nevander wrote:EDIT: There's probably not a way to copy/paste the color hex numbers from Doom Builder 64 is there? Within DB64 you can copy and paste the RGBs for ease of copying colors but it doesn't appear to send that paste data anywhere outside of DB64 which is a shame. I plan to get the identical colors from DB64 but manually entering the RGBs is going to be tedious. Would it at least be possible for a way to copy and paste all 5 color fields at one time, matching each copied field to the next one to paste to? Not sure if that's doable but it would sure help. :)
Are properties in DB64 called differently? idk.

Return to “Abandoned/Dead Projects”