D4DHF v0.3 - "Cloak and Dagger" [Add-On]

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
shotfan
Posts: 439
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:21 pm
Location: E3M1

Re: D4DHF v02 - Nest Burglar Edition [Add-On]

Post by shotfan »

I have a request for the Repeater, if I may: can you give it an ability to fire single shots in the semiautomatic mode - like in the base game - and assign the burst/semiauto toggle to the Mod Switch button? This would make the gun much more suited to sniping work, whereas currently you will waste excessive amounts of ammo if you try to shot down enemies at the distance (especially as there seem to be mostly weak ones placed in far away balconies or such - Zombies or Hell Razers - for which an (upgraded) burst may be an overkill anyway).
User avatar
VICE
Posts: 404
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 4:03 am
Location: The Shadow Realm (no cap)

Re: D4DHF v0.22b - Moar Firepower [Add-On]

Post by VICE »

New version is ready, check the first post.
Spoiler:
User avatar
Ikazu-san
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun Apr 07, 2013 11:48 pm

Re: D4DHF v0.22b - Moar Missiles [Add-On]

Post by Ikazu-san »

So, height check on guards did broke something. The one that spawns with yellow key in map01 of Sunlust doesn't respond to anything. (noclipping into it works though)
User avatar
VICE
Posts: 404
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 4:03 am
Location: The Shadow Realm (no cap)

Re: D4DHF v0.22b - Moar Missiles [Add-On]

Post by VICE »

Ikazu-san wrote:So, height check on guards did broke something. The one that spawns with yellow key in map01 of Sunlust doesn't respond to anything. (noclipping into it works though)
I suspected this could happen, but I didn't think the function I used was this strict...
I also realized that I made the guards spawn before the keys so you can't see the keys this way. I'll patch this up in a sec so that it's playable.


Edit:
Done. v0.22c is up.
Spoiler:
User avatar
isaacpop23
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 5:26 pm

Re: D4DHF v0.22c - Moar Bugfixes [Add-On]

Post by isaacpop23 »

There seems to be a problem with the "Advanced Servos" on the Gauss Cannon. It seems to let me by it regardless of my credit amount, if I have less than the 8000 required it just sets me to 0. I tried this with some of the other new upgrades and they didn't have the problem.
Also, the Gore Nests seem to have a problem with saving. If you destroy it and save afterward, once you re-load you can destroy it again. So if you wanted to you could just keep destroying it over and over.

I'm setting this one off cause I don't know if it's a bug or just my ineptness, but it seems that sometimes when the Guard indicator comes up it's only on the map about half the time. On small maps I've put on the full automap and looked around with noclip for a few minutes and couldn't find them. I'd like to believe that I'm not passing them dozens of times, but I may be. (Not sure if this is helpful or not but this is on the Going Down map set.)
User avatar
-Ghost-
Posts: 1772
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 4:58 pm

Re: D4DHF v0.22c - Moar Bugfixes [Add-On]

Post by -Ghost- »

Weird question, but would it be possible to swap out the little red/yellow ammo bonuses for actual ammunition sprites, like shells, clips, etc? It's just my personal take, but I never thought the little bonuses looked good, in the actual Doom 4 or in the mod.
shotfan
Posts: 439
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:21 pm
Location: E3M1

Re: D4DHF v0.22c - Moar Bugfixes [Add-On]

Post by shotfan »

Is there any command for getting extra Praetor Tokens? Like if I wanted to try out new upgrades quickly. (also, is there any similar command to get extra credits?)
isaacpop23 wrote: I'm setting this one off cause I don't know if it's a bug or just my ineptness, but it seems that sometimes when the Guard indicator comes up it's only on the map about half the time. On small maps I've put on the full automap and looked around with noclip for a few minutes and couldn't find them. I'd like to believe that I'm not passing them dozens of times, but I may be. (Not sure if this is helpful or not but this is on the Going Down map set.)
I had something like this happen on Witch Space (map 7) in Doom 2 Reloaded: there was a single Praetor Token indicator shown, but there was no Cyberguard with it anywhere. (Also, I could not get to have Summoners appear after killing Arachnotrons, and I had to kill them by going noclip and visiting them in their closet away from the main map space. But I suspect that could be caused by the Gore Nests from Phobos867's addon interfering with death-based triggers, so that bug does not apply to this submod)
-Ghost- wrote:Weird question, but would it be possible to swap out the little red/yellow ammo bonuses for actual ammunition sprites, like shells, clips, etc? It's just my personal take, but I never thought the little bonuses looked good, in the actual Doom 4 or in the mod.
Agreed. All of these enemy-spawned bonuses look a little too symbolic (or 'self-aware') for my taste as well.
Last edited by shotfan on Sat Nov 26, 2016 5:30 am, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
VICE
Posts: 404
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 4:03 am
Location: The Shadow Realm (no cap)

Re: D4DHF v0.22c - Moar Bugfixes [Add-On]

Post by VICE »

shotfan wrote:Is there any command for getting extra Praetor Tokens? Like If I wanted to try out new upgrades quickly. (also, is there any similar command to get extra credits?)
The actor name for the basic elite guard is D4EliteCorpse. You'll have to get the tokens one by one from guards since it's the only way to get the Cvars and Inventory values to match up for the HUD, scripts and menus to work in conjunction.
Doing this will put your guard quota display out of sync for that map, though.

Also try summoning some 'dosh' if you need money. ;)
-Ghost- wrote:Weird question, but would it be possible to swap out the little red/yellow ammo bonuses for actual ammunition sprites, like shells, clips, etc? It's just my personal take, but I never thought the little bonuses looked good, in the actual Doom 4 or in the mod.
Nope, that's definitely not within the scope of the mod. Feel free to message me for help if you want to try doing it yourself.
isaacpop23 wrote:There seems to be a problem with the "Advanced Servos" on the Gauss Cannon. It seems to let me by it regardless of my credit amount, if I have less than the 8000 required it just sets me to 0. I tried this with some of the other new upgrades and they didn't have the problem.
Also, the Gore Nests seem to have a problem with saving. If you destroy it and save afterward, once you re-load you can destroy it again. So if you wanted to you could just keep destroying it over and over.

I'm setting this one off cause I don't know if it's a bug or just my ineptness, but it seems that sometimes when the Guard indicator comes up it's only on the map about half the time. On small maps I've put on the full automap and looked around with noclip for a few minutes and couldn't find them. I'd like to believe that I'm not passing them dozens of times, but I may be. (Not sure if this is helpful or not but this is on the Going Down map set.)
The Advanced Servos thing is probably a blunder on my part in the menudef, easily fixed.

I can't confirm the gore nest saving thing on my end. They save and load fine for me, even if save mid-way into their animation. Are you running on GZDoom 2.2.0?
Anyone else encountering this?


The Guard thing is very real and only seems to happen in some mapsets (I have it happen to me on the Doom 2 maps of Maps of Chaos but not on the Doom 1 maps, even though the exact same file is loaded :| )
Spawning guards via console works fine, so my guess is that the placement itself has something to do with it, or possibly the maps themselves, somehow.
I plan to iron it out before the next version (which is already beefy with new content, but bugfixes come first).
Thanks for the feedback, it's very helpful. :thumb:
User avatar
isaacpop23
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 5:26 pm

Re: D4DHF v0.22c - Moar Bugfixes [Add-On]

Post by isaacpop23 »

I am running GZ 2.2.0, HF 0.22c, and Going Down. I just tried it again and the same thing happened, I destroy the nest, save, instantly load and can destroy the nest again.
User avatar
VICE
Posts: 404
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 4:03 am
Location: The Shadow Realm (no cap)

Re: D4DHF v0.22c - Moar Bugfixes [Add-On]

Post by VICE »

isaacpop23 wrote:I am running GZ 2.2.0, HF 0.22c, and Going Down. I just tried it again and the same thing happened, I destroy the nest, save, instantly load and can destroy the nest again.
Very strange, I just tried it on Going Down too and it works fine for me. Can you do the same thing with guards? (They're coded in almost the same way.)
You can try sending me your config file too, maybe your settings have something to do with this.

Edit: I figured out what was wrong with the guards spawning. I'll test this a bit further to make sure it's fixed, but it looks good so far.

Cooking up some new content for v0.3. :rock:
Image
User avatar
isaacpop23
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 5:26 pm

Re: D4DHF v0.22c - Moar Bugfixes [Add-On]

Post by isaacpop23 »

Yup, same thing happened with the Elite Guards. By config file you mean the .ini file right?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
VICE
Posts: 404
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 4:03 am
Location: The Shadow Realm (no cap)

Re: D4DHF v0.22c - Moar Bugfixes [Add-On]

Post by VICE »

Yeah I meant the ini file, but looks like that's irrelevant now. ~
I finally get what you meant, and I'm getting in on my end too.
I guess I assumed their appearance would reset so I didn't try interacting with them again once I've loaded a few times and saw that they're still "corpses", but yeah, you're absolutely right and it's not just an issue with your setup - you can actually interact with a "dead" nest again if you save and load. Same thing for guards.

I'm guessing this has something to do with how GZDoom saves the data on switching decorations (I thought maybe a compatibility setting in in your ini file was causing this, but looks like it's global).
I have a few ideas on how to work around this though. It will be fixed for the next version.
Well spotted. :thumb:

Edit: Fixed. That was easier than I thought. :laff:
shotfan
Posts: 439
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:21 pm
Location: E3M1

Re: D4DHF v0.22c - Moar Bugfixes [Add-On]

Post by shotfan »

Megaherz wrote:
shotfan wrote:Is there any command for getting extra Praetor Tokens? Like If I wanted to try out new upgrades quickly. (also, is there any similar command to get extra credits?)
The actor name for the basic elite guard is D4EliteCorpse. You'll have to get the tokens one by one from guards since it's the only way to get the Cvars and Inventory values to match up for the HUD, scripts and menus to work in conjunction.
Doing this will put your guard quota display out of sync for that map, though.

Also try summoning some 'dosh' if you need money. ;)
These work. Thanks for help!
AdmiralAjax
Posts: 89
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2010 6:47 pm

Re: D4DHF v0.22c - Moar Bugfixes [Add-On]

Post by AdmiralAjax »

So in all the time I've been playing this, I haven't found any of the new weapons so I just summoned them in. I can pick them up, but they don't seem to appear. Going to keep trying some things but I just don't know what to do.
User avatar
VICE
Posts: 404
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 4:03 am
Location: The Shadow Realm (no cap)

Re: D4DHF v0.3 - "Cloak and Dagger" [Add-On]

Post by VICE »

AdmiralAjax wrote:So in all the time I've been playing this, I haven't found any of the new weapons so I just summoned them in. I can pick them up, but they don't seem to appear. Going to keep trying some things but I just don't know what to do.
The weapons only show up on Nightmare or UN difficulty, and they're pretty rare right now (next version makes them more common), so there's no guarantee that you'll find them at all. It really depends on what kind of map you're playing too.
Also, if you give them to the player via console, you'll be able to use them, but you won't be able to upgrade them unless you got them through the proper... ahem... channels.


* * *


Edit: v0.3 is ready, first post has been updated with a link and some feature descriptions. Some new screenshots as well. Enjoy. :)

Changelog:
Spoiler:

Return to “Gameplay Mods”