QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.3.0 released!)

Game Engines like EDGE, LZDoom, QZDoom, ECWolf, and others, go in this forum
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
_mental_
 
 
Posts: 3791
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 4:32 am

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.2.2 released!)

Post by _mental_ »

eppn5 wrote:Question with the latest QZDoom version: Why is xBRZ gone from the HQ Resize modes?
Fixed in this commit.

A bad merge exposed another issue with the corresponding options menu that lead to missing texture resize modes.
The latter should be fixed in GZDoom codebase.
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 13203
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.2.2 released!)

Post by Rachael »

Oh - thanks, _mental_! :)
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 13203
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.2.2 released!)

Post by Rachael »

A build containing _mental_'s fix for xBRZ has been uploaded.
User avatar
RaVeN-05
Posts: 286
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 5:57 am
Location: Ukraine

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.2.2 released!)

Post by RaVeN-05 »

I have idea long time ago, it comes true, and i am dreamed also about texture filtering like lets say "QLINEAR"
ok linear filtering for texture (magnification) works like we do a gradient between pixels on horizontal line and vertical, when done merge it. (OpenGL or Direct3D do same)

QLINEAR = if we merge gradients Vertical+Horizontal+TWO Diagonals, we get very smooth texture where we even will not notice this "diamond" i mean rhombus.

next msg i use example
User avatar
ZZYZX
 
 
Posts: 1382
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2012 1:43 am
Location: Ukraine

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.2.2 released!)

Post by ZZYZX »

That sounds like non-sharp HQnx.
User avatar
ibm5155
Posts: 1268
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 4:24 pm

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.2.2 released!)

Post by ibm5155 »

Eruanna wrote:...
Yeah, it was more a testing Project, but from what I've seen is that there's a big performance hit caused by the cpu (thanks to A_JumpIfInTargetLOS ), if I remember if you use A_Checksight or A_CheckLOF could gave some extra fps (can't remember how many but it was more than 5).

...At least the map looks better than vavoom :roll:
Spoiler:
Spoiler:
Nash wrote: ...a less-hacky and much more performance-friendly thing to do is write a true real-time cascading shadow mappe ...
Well, while vavoom did 39fps mine did 25fps, not so bad actually for a hacky solution xD.

About the software render performance, it's bad, but at least it's not 1fps D: (3fps)
Spoiler:
dpJudas
 
 
Posts: 2921
Joined: Sat May 28, 2016 1:01 pm

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.2.2 released!)

Post by dpJudas »

I wonder what went wrong to the light lists stored in the visplanes.
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 13203
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.2.2 released!)

Post by Rachael »

My first thought (and possibly not correct one) would be some sort of overflow that the code does not address. Keeping in mind, obviously, that this is a metric shit ton of lights.

I wonder if it's an address/pointer overflow or a bad pointer somewhere - the "garbage" that appears on the screen has a consistent pattern to it frame-by-frame.
User avatar
ibm5155
Posts: 1268
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 4:24 pm

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.2.2 released!)

Post by ibm5155 »

a bit on:
@Eruanna, when you see the "loading shaders" message your fps will be indeed 0 while it doesn't go out the screen.
that message is there because on the third room, there are so many shaders that aren't required that I check for like 35 tics if they are needed or not, so if some subtract light is always disabled, the object will be deleted.

The good thing is that the problem only happens with floors/ceiling and not with walls. no, but it hardly ever happens on walls

just in case, here's a demo running in qzdoom: (not that when you open the console, the fps increase because all the decorate code spam froze.
User avatar
Marisa the Magician
 
 
Posts: 3875
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:15 am
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Operating System Version (Optional): (btw I use) Arch
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Vigo, Galicia

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.2.2 released!)

Post by Marisa the Magician »

What's the speed like in paletted?
User avatar
ibm5155
Posts: 1268
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 4:24 pm

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.2.2 released!)

Post by ibm5155 »

MarisaKirisame wrote:What's the speed like in paletted?
The same.
User avatar
sonic_HD87
Posts: 287
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2013 4:32 pm
Location: Venezuela

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.2.2 released!)

Post by sonic_HD87 »

ibm5155 wrote:...
Lel. That reminds me of my old method of making shadows by baking the whole enviorment.

Image
User avatar
RaVeN-05
Posts: 286
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 5:57 am
Location: Ukraine

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.2.2 released!)

Post by RaVeN-05 »

Hello, i am remember about uploading pictures. About what i mean on QLINEAR filtering, will follow.

For now, i would be very happy if you can include my resampling method for this port (like hqnx e.t.c.) -> viewtopic.php?f=3&t=34575
source code is free to use =). i developed that for my self.
User avatar
ZZYZX
 
 
Posts: 1382
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2012 1:43 am
Location: Ukraine

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.2.2 released!)

Post by ZZYZX »

That filter looks pretty nice in static, better than HQnx. Not sure about dynamic though.
And there are some weirdass licensing issues according to the thread.
And the source code archive contains 20 directories. Which one to use?
User avatar
RaVeN-05
Posts: 286
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 5:57 am
Location: Ukraine

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.2.2 released!)

Post by RaVeN-05 »

Thank you. If you mean static or dynamic, i can say its not work on fly, its recalculate but fast.

Source code is fully my development.

right patch to source code sed2x-resed2x-v0.5-source-code\itsteporg2\winapi\sed2x4\sed2x.sln

its works much better on low level colors,

also there is "palette artifacts" smothing app
right patch is -> sed2x-resed2x-v0.5-source-code\itsteporg2\winapi\restorecolors-sed2x\sed2x.sln
its based on scaler, that source above, its tryes to smooth areas on picture, where is big areas filled with one color, makes gradient. To say simple a "fake true color textures/sprites"

also these apps only work on 24 bit images, its easy to make them work on 32 bit too.

all other source codes in archive is same app but older versions, also source code itself is messy. Ask any details i want it to be included in QZDoom badly =))) would be very happy.

About QLINEAR ? oh sorry i failed at it, spend whole day to write my method and it works exactly like standard GL_LINEAR texture_filtering =)

Return to “Game Engines”