QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.3.0 released!)

Game Engines like EDGE, LZDoom, QZDoom, ECWolf, and others, go in this forum
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 13198
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.0 released!)

Post by Rachael »

r_newrenderer true?

I wouldn't use that. It's not completed and it's mainly a POC for a renderer replacement, similar to Eternity's cardboard, except different and not yet done. And it's also not intentional that textures follow slope lines like that. But it would be a nice feature.
User avatar
Xane123
Posts: 165
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2015 1:58 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Inwood, WV

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.0 released!)

Post by Xane123 »

@Eruanna: Ah, that re-enabled it and the glitchiness!

I agree the slope thing should be added; I use slopes a lot and it's tedious to split the linedef many times then manually offset the textures along the slope for each segment; The "shearing"(?) along the slopes really should be implemented in the normal renderer; It would save me work and be perfect, as long as there was a linedef flag to disable it on linedefs where it isn't supposed to happen or the opposite, require a flag to be enabled before distorting it.

EDIT: Also, I thought I heard Sonic Robo Blast 2 was implementing this same thing, shearing linedef textures on slopes....unrelated but interesting.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Amujing
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2016 11:17 am

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.0 released!)

Post by Amujing »

Amujing wrote:Dear Devs.

I'm using QZDoom-q1.1pre-13-gde2122e-x32.7z and even the 1.0 version too. I cannot run pass the selection after the difficulty and cannot run anything. Alway crashing.
Config is defaut for everything. first run.
Here is the report: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/74411356/report.7z

Contain log files with doom2 and freedoom2 iwad, and a img for ..
Eruanna wrote:
What is your CPU model? Please invoke Win+R -> "devmgmt.msc" in Windows, expand "Processors", right click on any of your processor cores and select "Properties", look for "Friendly Name" in the drop-down box, right-click on the value and "Copy" it - and then paste that exact string here.
at : http://forum.drdteam.org/viewtopic.php? ... 259#p61607
Reporting in. As version : QZDoom-q1.1pre-68-gd4aed28-x64.7z. i can run the game now. Thank Devs
It's Working :D . :wink: :o 8-) \o
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 13198
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.0 released!)

Post by Rachael »

Great to hear, thanks!
User avatar
Gamer With Dignity
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2016 3:53 pm
Location: USA All The Way Baby!

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.0 released!)

Post by Gamer With Dignity »

Hm, the linedef portals seem to be working but I can't get doomguy to walk through them.
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 13198
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.0 released!)

Post by Rachael »

Gamer With Dignity wrote:Hm, the linedef portals seem to be working but I can't get doomguy to walk through them.
You will want to make a thread here for that.
User avatar
DaMan
Posts: 727
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 7:14 am

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.0 released!)

Post by DaMan »

dpJudas wrote:Sorry, got a bit too technical there. It's a QZDoom bug, yes. I'll see if I can add some kind of workaround soon for your CPU.
FWIW all Pentiums/Celerons are crippled, none support anything newer than SSE4.2 (dunno about PCLMULQDQ) . You can disable AVX/FMA/BMI for all of them.
dpJudas
 
 
Posts: 2921
Joined: Sat May 28, 2016 1:01 pm

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.0 released!)

Post by dpJudas »

DaMan wrote:FWIW all Pentiums/Celerons are crippled, none support anything newer than SSE4.2 (dunno about PCLMULQDQ) . You can disable AVX/FMA/BMI for all of them.
Thanks. That is good to know if I get more reports of this type. For now, I added a check for his exact CPU, hoping that it was due to some typo or something in LLVM that made it think it was a sandy bridge. If I get more invalid instruction bug reports for them maybe I'll just do as you're suggesting. :)
User avatar
YukiHerz
Global Moderator
Posts: 1503
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 6:01 pm
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Where corruption is redefined daily.

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.0 released!)

Post by YukiHerz »

Can confirm, both the Celeron i was using a few pages back and a pentium desktop have the same issue.
dpJudas
 
 
Posts: 2921
Joined: Sat May 28, 2016 1:01 pm

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.0 released!)

Post by dpJudas »

HazeBandicoot wrote:Can confirm, both the Celeron i was using a few pages back and a pentium desktop have the same issue.
This is happening with the latest build?
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 13198
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.0 released!)

Post by Rachael »

_mental_ was kind enough to start creating Mac git builds. Thank you, _mental_! :)
User avatar
D00MWolf
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2016 5:14 pm
Location: Barrels o' fun!

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.0 released!)

Post by D00MWolf »

I've been experiencing a problem in which the 2nd weapon in the 3rd weapon slot's keybind isn't working. It works as intending in ZDoom, and the console doesn't say anything about it. I've had a lot of issues using just playerpawns for assigning weapon slots, so I still use the old keyconf.txt method. Also, there is an enemy meant to drop that weapon, which it does in Zdoom, but not QZDoom. Also the weapon's projectiles are being odd as they are invisible, and seem to be slower than normal. The sounds don't work either. Even when used with another weapon (same with the projectiles).
However, QZDoom has effectively made a lot of weird looking things look less weird. Especially the skies I've started using which are just photos I took when I went outside one day.
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 13198
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.0 released!)

Post by Rachael »

We really can't help you unless you post some examples in the proper forum. We are not clairvoyant and we cannot read your mind or magically get your mod from your computer.

Also, your thoughts need to be split and sectionalized because that run-on paragraph is a nightmare to comprehend.
User avatar
4thcharacter
Posts: 1183
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2015 7:54 am

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.0 released!)

Post by 4thcharacter »

So the true freelook support means that this would have the same kind of freelook that GZDoom has?

I hope that gets implemented. Maybe the GZDoom texture upscaling filters too. I'd be very happy with those features alone in this source port.
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 13198
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.0 released!)

Post by Rachael »

Keep in mind, nothing is final yet. But there is a real possibility in the near future for it. :)

Return to “Game Engines”