[very-slow-WIP] Shadows of Apocalypse - some new pics

For Total Conversions and projects that don't otherwise fall under the other categories.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: [WIP] Shadows of Apocalypse - some new pics

Postby Vostyok » Mon Jan 08, 2018 4:21 pm

You'd need an error/dump file to show to someone who has experience with the gzdoom port. Ashes used to crash my old pc, often, but then stopped when I made the new version from scratch and switched to using laptop. Could have been either solution but without that error log it is impossible to tell. Don't give up though.
User avatar
Vostyok
I have no mouse and I must script
 
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: The Bunker

Re: [WIP] Shadows of Apocalypse - some new pics

Postby ramon.dexter » Tue Jan 09, 2018 2:34 am

Problem solved by making an intermission map. Hell, it just gives error when coming from map02 to the Big Map (TM). No matter how the Big Map is named, when coming from map02 to this Big Map, it crashes. When I put in bewtween ANY OTHER map, it works without a problem.

Yeah, I have the error log, but since the wads I'm using are not publicly released, I'm not sure if posting the log would be helpful.
User avatar
ramon.dexter
rudebwoy
 
Joined: 20 Oct 2015
Location: Kozolupy, Bohemia

Re: [WIP] Shadows of Apocalypse - some new pics

Postby Korell » Tue Jan 09, 2018 7:57 am

ramon.dexter wrote:Problem solved by making an intermission map. Hell, it just gives error when coming from map02 to the Big Map (TM). No matter how the Big Map is named, when coming from map02 to this Big Map, it crashes. When I put in bewtween ANY OTHER map, it works without a problem.

Yeah, I have the error log, but since the wads I'm using are not publicly released, I'm not sure if posting the log would be helpful.


There must be some reason for the crashes. It could indicate a GZDoom bug, and as it is something that you can replicate, maybe the GZDoom devs can assist? You can always send them your mod files privately if you aren't ready to release them for anyone to download. And even if it's not a GZDoom bug, you might get a response that points out the error in the mod files that you can then fix rather than rely on a workaround of inserting another map that you weren't intending to do.
User avatar
Korell
 
Joined: 28 May 2017

Re: [WIP] Shadows of Apocalypse - some new pics

Postby ramon.dexter » Wed Jan 10, 2018 2:07 pm

Got a new rig, so I'll record some video to show you how it looks moving ;)
User avatar
ramon.dexter
rudebwoy
 
Joined: 20 Oct 2015
Location: Kozolupy, Bohemia

Re: [WIP] Shadows of Apocalypse - some new pics

Postby Procket12 » Wed Jan 10, 2018 4:36 pm

If you guys need any assistance in translating Czech to English, I can basically smooth out whatever google translate spits up since it's not 100% and Direct Translations often end up sounding weird or just plain funny.
Procket12
 
Joined: 22 Jul 2017
Location: Somewhere between here and there, CA
Discord: #9506

Re: [WIP] Shadows of Apocalypse - some new pics

Postby ramon.dexter » Wed Jan 10, 2018 4:41 pm

Well, I'm not using google translate, cause automatic translation from czech to english sucks lots of times. I'm quite skilled in english, so I dont really need the translate. Just sometimes, when I can't remember some word.
But I can appreciate some english born speaker, who can polish my texts.
Well, I'm writing all things in czech first, then I translate it. So, right now I dont have much texts. But I think I'll prepare some playable demo the first half of year, so I'll contact you some time later.
User avatar
ramon.dexter
rudebwoy
 
Joined: 20 Oct 2015
Location: Kozolupy, Bohemia

Re: [WIP] Shadows of Apocalypse - some new pics

Postby Captain J » Wed Jan 10, 2018 10:02 pm

Hmm. As a guy who can speak English but not so perfectly, I agree with you.

Probably it'll be a good idea to keep it English, or mix with Czech.
User avatar
Captain J
'OH YE'
 
Joined: 02 Oct 2012
Location: Secret Chamber
Discord: DiscussJ#3128

Re: [WIP] Shadows of Apocalypse - some new pics

Postby Procket12 » Thu Jan 11, 2018 12:34 am

Is this going to be a deal where the spoken language is English with the regional accent or is it going to be all Czech with English subtitles?
Procket12
 
Joined: 22 Jul 2017
Location: Somewhere between here and there, CA
Discord: #9506

Re: [WIP] Shadows of Apocalypse - some new pics

Postby ramon.dexter » Thu Jan 11, 2018 2:58 am

Spoken english? I have never announced any kind of voice acting. Also, this is based in czech republic, so only possible solution for voice acting is czech language - sorry guys, we just dont speak english here. Getting good voice actors here is little bit hard job, so no voice acting.

edit: Have to take a break from this. I just lost a track on what this should be and also I'm basically completely out of ideas on what to do...So, I'll take a break for some time now. When I have something new, I'll make ít...
User avatar
ramon.dexter
rudebwoy
 
Joined: 20 Oct 2015
Location: Kozolupy, Bohemia

Re: [very-slow-WIP] Shadows of Apocalypse - some new pics

Postby ramon.dexter » Wed May 09, 2018 12:08 pm

So, I'm slowly returning to this. But I'm not taking it as serious as before - I don't wanna another burnout. So, the work will be slow, very slow.
Buuut, I made some new stuff. I used the hired guns HUD I made, it fits the postapo setting like a glove. As I wanted to get into the right feeling, I made some promo pictures, from pics that I found with google image search. So no, I didnt draw the pics, I only edited it a bit. Here they are:

Spoiler:


And a new weapon. Energy based weapon, maybe something like the mauler from strife. Actually could replace mauler. But I like mauler!
Image

So, I'm back with the Shadow of Apocalypse, but the updates will be scarce :)
User avatar
ramon.dexter
rudebwoy
 
Joined: 20 Oct 2015
Location: Kozolupy, Bohemia

Re: [very-slow-WIP] Shadows of Apocalypse - some new pics

Postby Captain J » Sat May 12, 2018 1:58 am

hahahah, those looks dandy and nice! Just strolling, shooting, slacking in the world of post-apocalypse. And that weapon looks awesome and big enough!

You don't have to be busy with the project. Just take it easy and progress slowly! You're doing great.
User avatar
Captain J
'OH YE'
 
Joined: 02 Oct 2012
Location: Secret Chamber
Discord: DiscussJ#3128

Re: [very-slow-WIP] Shadows of Apocalypse - some new pics

Postby shadstarn » Fri May 18, 2018 8:40 am

is there any good voxel mods for doom? item or monsters?
shadstarn
 
Joined: 22 Dec 2017

Re: [very-slow-WIP] Shadows of Apocalypse - some new pics

Postby Captain J » Fri May 18, 2018 9:39 am

Voxel models for props and items, sure, it's doable. But monsters using voxel graphics would take a lot of effort and time. And besides, 2D graphics for characters are fine enough for this mod.
User avatar
Captain J
'OH YE'
 
Joined: 02 Oct 2012
Location: Secret Chamber
Discord: DiscussJ#3128

Re: [very-slow-WIP] Shadows of Apocalypse - some new pics

Postby ramon.dexter » Sun May 20, 2018 5:31 am

Making voxels model animations takes lot of time and effort, but they look really nice ingame. The best way is to use models are convert them frame-by-frame to voxels. But since voxel models takes a lot more resources than 3D models, I'll stick to to 3D models for animated enemies. But some static eneimes, or those with small frame count will be voxel based.
User avatar
ramon.dexter
rudebwoy
 
Joined: 20 Oct 2015
Location: Kozolupy, Bohemia

Previous

Return to TCs, Full Games, and Other Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 4 guests