Fallout 4

If it's not ZDoom, it goes here.
User avatar
Marisa the Magician
Posts: 3886
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:15 am
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Operating System Version (Optional): (btw I use) Arch
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Vigo, Galicia

Re: Fallout 4

Post by Marisa the Magician »

It seems I have to bring this monstrosity to the back yard and just shoot it in the head or something. Fallout 4 has recently started to run like complete garbage, sitting at 100% disk load for long periods of time, failing to load world geometry, turning audio into a choppy mess, and making Windows suffer at the same time. I only just reinstalled it to give it a second chance, but I guess there's nothing I can do.
User avatar
wildweasel
Posts: 21706
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): A lot of them
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Re: Fallout 4

Post by wildweasel »

Check your hard drive for excessive fragmentation and/or bad sectors.
User avatar
Marisa the Magician
Posts: 3886
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:15 am
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Operating System Version (Optional): (btw I use) Arch
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Vigo, Galicia

Re: Fallout 4

Post by Marisa the Magician »

Yeah, about that, I defragmented after installing the game. I guess I didn't have enough free space for it or something, but I can't really do much about that when my Windows disk is so small.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17450
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: Fallout 4

Post by Nash »

I had to move the game to my OS SSD because the loading times on my HDD were abysmal. :/ Once I am done playing this game, I'm gonna move it back to the HDD for storage.
User avatar
Marisa the Magician
Posts: 3886
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:15 am
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Operating System Version (Optional): (btw I use) Arch
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Vigo, Galicia

Re: Fallout 4

Post by Marisa the Magician »

Well, so much as abysmal... It loads in about 5 minutes on my side. That's nothing compared to the 30 minutes Sims 3 takes.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17450
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: Fallout 4

Post by Nash »

Image

This needs to be an actual holotape mod. :P
User avatar
ShadowTiger
Posts: 615
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 7:32 pm
Location: New York

Re: Fallout 4

Post by ShadowTiger »

Well, crap.

Accidental or not, I'm pretty miffed about this. I really hope they re-patch it. Or something. I'm sure everything will work out though. It's a pretty big deal, even if they provide a little workaround in the article.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17450
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: Fallout 4

Post by Nash »

Well technically, mods aren't even supported yet... so far everything are hack jobs. Players should wait for it to be officially supported in the first place... :D
User avatar
ShadowTiger
Posts: 615
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 7:32 pm
Location: New York

Re: Fallout 4

Post by ShadowTiger »

I wasn't sure whether to put this here, or in the funny videos thread. So I'm being lazy and making macaroni and cheese instead.

So here's the video. Skill shots, yo.
User avatar
Big C
Posts: 2839
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2010 3:24 pm

Re: Fallout 4

Post by Big C »

Waiting for a Chaos Dunk mod that gives the B-ball Fat Man explosions. :P

Return to “Off-Topic”