+ROLLSPRITES backport

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17340
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: +ROLLSPRITES backport

Post by Nash »

phantombeta wrote:I don't use TortoiseGit, so... *shrugs*
Please give me the exact command lines you use, then.
User avatar
phantombeta
Posts: 2027
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 1:27 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Brazil

Re: +ROLLSPRITES backport

Post by phantombeta »

@Nash
I don't use the command-line. I use SmartGit.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17340
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: +ROLLSPRITES backport

Post by Nash »

phantombeta wrote:@Nash
I don't use the command-line. I use SmartGit.
Okay then can you describe the exact process you go through with SmartGit, please? Thanks.
User avatar
phantombeta
Posts: 2027
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 1:27 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Brazil

Re: +ROLLSPRITES backport

Post by phantombeta »

I can't remember exactly what to do, but I think this should work:
  • Create a new empty repo in SmartGit. (Don't link it to the GitHub repo yet.)
  • Add ZDoom's repo as a new remote. (Remote>Add...)
  • Pull everything from the new remote. (Right click the remote in the branches view then click "Pull...")
  • Double click the branch you want to make a pull request for in the Branches view to checkout the branch.
  • It should now ask if you want to create a local branch or not.
  • Choose "Create local branch".
  • Add a new branch with the name you want. (Branch>Add Branch... or F7)
  • Add a new remote with the name "origin" and link it to your fork of the GZDoom repo.
  • Push the branch. (There should be a big "Push" button in the main view) When it asks you what to do, click "Configure".
  • The origin remote (Your GitHub repo) should now have a new branch that is up to date with the branch you're making the pull request for.
Make your changes, commit and push like normal. You should be able to use TortoiseGit after the last step.
To make a new branch for a pull request, do it again from step 3. (Skip step 8)
To make the pull request for ZDoom, go to the main page of the GitHub repo. It should show the new branches. Click the "Compare & Pull Request" button next to the branch you want and make the pull request.
In the "Comparing changes" page, change the "Base" branch to the one you want to make a pull request for.
User avatar
Major Cooke
Posts: 8109
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 3:55 pm

Re: +ROLLSPRITES backport

Post by Major Cooke »

Roughly liky Phantom, I wound up just making a remote to GZDoom in my ZDoom, made a new branch off of GZDoom's latest commit and called it a day after implementing the code. Couldn't be arsed to go through the pain anymore because I couldn't get the pull requests to work.
Spoiler:
This worked, though switching between the branches requires cleaning out a few things (just the gltext stuffs). Was simple though. I then went to Graf's gzdoom github page and had the pull request made there with the code changes.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17340
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: +ROLLSPRITES backport

Post by Nash »

Graf Zahl: Any feedback? Was the code bad?
User avatar
Major Cooke
Posts: 8109
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 3:55 pm

Re: +ROLLSPRITES backport

Post by Major Cooke »

I would very much like to hear about this too.
Last edited by Major Cooke on Fri Sep 25, 2015 8:35 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Xaser
 
 
Posts: 10771
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2003 12:15 pm

Re: +ROLLSPRITES backport

Post by Xaser »

From a stubborn semi-dev's perspective: "Hey, is this done yet?" is a surefire way to make me not want to work on a feature.
User avatar
Major Cooke
Posts: 8109
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 3:55 pm

Re: +ROLLSPRITES backport

Post by Major Cooke »

Nash and I were asking if there were any issues with the code so far. While it may work for our ends, we cannot be sure Graf will be happy with the implementation.

I also wouldn't be surprised if this took even longer due to the recent revert.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17340
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: +ROLLSPRITES backport

Post by Nash »

MajorCooke: Please cancel the PRs you made for this. My backport is not complete (I just checked) and I will re-do it properly.
User avatar
Major Cooke
Posts: 8109
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 3:55 pm

Re: +ROLLSPRITES backport

Post by Major Cooke »

Done.

Return to “Closed Feature Suggestions [GZDoom]”