Have you heard Doom/Quake sound FX in other media?

If it's not ZDoom, it goes here.
User avatar
Oberron
Posts: 1048
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 1:20 am
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Have you heard Doom/Quake sound FX in other media?

Post by Oberron »

BFG wrote:
wildweasel wrote:There are a few stock sounds in the mix, though; I know I've definitely heard "Goldeneye" grunts in sports games and TV commercials that predate it.
almost all of the screams from Goldeneye were used in a PSX game called Courier Crisis
Which? The tank ranover one? The rest is from Command and Conquer (DOS game), and Wolfenstein 3D on both Super NES and Jaguar.
User avatar
wildweasel
Moderator Team Lead
Posts: 21584
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Win10 22H2, Win11 22H2, macOS 11.7
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Have you heard Doom/Quake sound FX in other media?

Post by wildweasel »

Oberron wrote:and Wolfenstein 3D on both Super NES and Jaguar.
I have never heard the SNES/Jag Wolfenstein screams anywhere else.
User avatar
Oberron
Posts: 1048
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 1:20 am
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Have you heard Doom/Quake sound FX in other media?

Post by Oberron »

wildweasel wrote:
Oberron wrote:and Wolfenstein 3D on both Super NES and Jaguar.
I have never heard the SNES/Jag Wolfenstein screams anywhere else.
Yes I did, Weasel. First Dungeon Keeper, Return to Castle Wolfenstein and the multi-platform tank game Mass Destruction.
User avatar
wildweasel
Moderator Team Lead
Posts: 21584
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Win10 22H2, Win11 22H2, macOS 11.7
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Have you heard Doom/Quake sound FX in other media?

Post by wildweasel »

I'm not trying to contradict you or say you're wrong. Just what is your damage, dude?
User avatar
Oberron
Posts: 1048
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 1:20 am
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Have you heard Doom/Quake sound FX in other media?

Post by Oberron »

wildweasel wrote:I'm not trying to contradict you or say you're wrong. Just what is your damage, dude?
What you said before, that you never heard them anywere else, however. I did.
User avatar
wildweasel
Moderator Team Lead
Posts: 21584
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Win10 22H2, Win11 22H2, macOS 11.7
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Have you heard Doom/Quake sound FX in other media?

Post by wildweasel »

Image
User avatar
Oberron
Posts: 1048
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 1:20 am
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Have you heard Doom/Quake sound FX in other media?

Post by Oberron »

Well... One of the Windows 98 Plus themes used the platform stop from the original Doom, and the generic pickup from Playstation Doom.
User avatar
BFG
Posts: 603
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 5:54 am
Location: Germany

Re: Have you heard Doom/Quake sound FX in other media?

Post by BFG »

Question is how many of the Doom sounds are original and were composed for the game?
Most of the Doom 2 monster sounds, Manc, Arch, Rev, Arach (But not the Hell Knight).
User avatar
Oberron
Posts: 1048
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 1:20 am
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Have you heard Doom/Quake sound FX in other media?

Post by Oberron »

BFG wrote:Question is how many of the Doom sounds are original and were composed for the game?
Most of the Doom 2 monster sounds, Manc, Arch, Rev, Arach (But not the Hell Knight).
The Icon of Sin.
Its voice is John Romero, when sighted, played reversed and distorted. all sounds that the Icon does, except the bossbrain summon.
User avatar
BFG
Posts: 603
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 5:54 am
Location: Germany

Re: Have you heard Doom/Quake sound FX in other media?

Post by BFG »

True, that summon sound i've heard in 80's fantasy movies when wizard's cast magic.
User avatar
Oberron
Posts: 1048
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 1:20 am
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Have you heard Doom/Quake sound FX in other media?

Post by Oberron »

BFG wrote:True, that summon sound i've heard in 80's fantasy movies when wizard's cast magic.
The mentioned movie Direct Hit has this sound, too.
User avatar
leileilol
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 10:16 am
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Location: GNU/Hell

Re: Have you heard Doom/Quake sound FX in other media?

Post by leileilol »

wildweasel wrote:Image
Seconded for the blatant postCount++er
User avatar
Oberron
Posts: 1048
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 1:20 am
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Have you heard Doom/Quake sound FX in other media?

Post by Oberron »

leileilol wrote:
wildweasel wrote:Image
Seconded
Thirded for this, just for the gif.
User avatar
Zanieon
Posts: 2059
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 4:13 pm
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: Somewhere in the future

Re: Have you heard Doom/Quake sound FX in other media?

Post by Zanieon »

Rey's Pod in Star Wars 7 makes the Doom's Door opening and closing sounds sequentially right after she arrives in her colony in the beggining of the movie, precisely around 12 minutes.
User avatar
Oberron
Posts: 1048
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 1:20 am
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Have you heard Doom/Quake sound FX in other media?

Post by Oberron »

Zanieon wrote:Rey's Pod in Star Wars 7 makes the Doom's Door opening and closing sounds sequentially right after she arrives in her colony in the beggining of the movie, precisely around 12 minutes.
The music video to Body Movin', featuring clips of the film Diabolik, features the DorOpn and DorCls sounds for the cave doors.

Return to “Off-Topic”