[Engine] GLOOME / [WIP] Project 67 & Nocturne in Yellow
-
- Posts: 46
- Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 6:38 pm
Re: [Engine] GLOOME / [WIP] Project 67 & Nocturne in Yellow
Is it Project 67 still in progress? It looks really neat
-
- Posts: 1625
- Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 3:08 pm
Re: [Engine] GLOOME / [WIP] Project 67 & Nocturne in Yellow
Ah, hell! Forgot to answer this, I'm sorry.biospud wrote:Is it OK to use C++11-specific C++ code in GLOOME, such as std::shared_ptr? I understand zdoom is still built with Visual Studio 2005, but Graf Zahl apparently builds gzdoom using Visual Studio 2013. Perhaps we should consider requiring Visual Studio 2013/2015 or modern versions of gcc, and permit modern C++ code. This would increase the forkiness of GLOOME, but perhaps in a good way.
The reason I ask is that I'm working toward a pull request for stereoscopic 3D support in GLOOME, and I'm wondering if I really need to restrict myself to an ancient dialect of C++.
Please, go right ahead. It's perfectly fine. The entire point of this fork is for people to tweak, adjust, and change things as they want, thanks to the GPL license. If something big gets completed and a pull request is done, it'd certainly make our lives easier.
marrub's personal stance is also along the same lines (though the exact phrase was "i don't give a shit, fuck C++98, use anything from C++11 you want"), so we're interested in seeing where it goes.
No, unfortunately, marrub has decided to focus on other projects, which I guess makes Nocturne in Yellow and Nido Force instead the flagship titles.Swordman wrote:Is it Project 67 still in progress? It looks really neat
-
- Posts: 206
- Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 2:19 pm
- Location: California, USA
Re: [Engine] GLOOME / [WIP] Project 67 & Nocturne in Yellow
Thanks TerminusEst13 for the feedback. I ended up using vanilla C++ for the pull request I created at https://github.com/marrub--/GLOOME/pull/18, which implements the basic infrastructure for stereoscopic 3D in GLOOME. I'd appreciate any feedback you or the other developers might have on the code I submitted.TerminusEst13 wrote:...Please, go right ahead. It's perfectly fine. The entire point of this fork is for people to tweak, adjust, and change things as they want, thanks to the GPL license. If something big gets completed and a pull request is done, it'd certainly make our lives easier...biospud wrote:Is it OK to use C++11-specific C++ code in GLOOME, such as std::shared_ptr?...I'm working toward a pull request for stereoscopic 3D support in GLOOME...
-
- Posts: 38
- Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2015 7:44 pm
Re: [Engine] GLOOME / [WIP] Project 67 & Nocturne in Yellow
To what point is the engine done? I mean, are there any crucial game breaking bugs or is it safe to make a game using Gloome (mainly, is it safe to use 3D models exclusively)?No, unfortunately, marrub has decided to focus on other projects, which I guess makes Nocturne in Yellow and Nido Force instead the flagship titles.
-
- Posts: 170
- Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:41 am
- Location: My world :)
Re: [Engine] GLOOME / [WIP] Project 67 & Nocturne in Yellow
Please tell me when will the new update GLOOME? the engine is updated rarely , it seems they are not engaged ..
I'd like to see in GLOOME at least part of the todo
And tell me whether in GLOOME everything new that is in GZDoom, such as :
http://zdoom.org/wiki/PickActor
I'd like to see in GLOOME at least part of the todo
And tell me whether in GLOOME everything new that is in GZDoom, such as :
http://zdoom.org/wiki/PickActor
-
- Posts: 170
- Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:41 am
- Location: My world :)
Re: [Engine] GLOOME / [WIP] Project 67 & Nocturne in Yellow
Tell me why does not work function in the acs ChangeFlag () ;?
ChangeFlag ( 0 , "NOGRAVITY", TRUE); Without the quotation marks " " does not compile .
function as it is performed , but the player still with gravity.
ChangeFlag ( 0 , "NOGRAVITY", TRUE); Without the quotation marks " " does not compile .
function as it is performed , but the player still with gravity.
-
- Posts: 48
- Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2015 8:16 pm
Re: [Engine] GLOOME / [WIP] Project 67 & Nocturne in Yellow
I bellieve it is because you need the modified version of ACC to compile the Gloome extra features.
Speaking of it, could we get a compiled version of the modified ACC?
Speaking of it, could we get a compiled version of the modified ACC?
-
- Posts: 772
- Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 9:45 am
Re: [Engine] GLOOME / [WIP] Project 67 & Nocturne in Yellow
The new flags are actually from GLOOME. I renamed them and fixed a bug with them before backporting it to ZDoom. There is still an open pull request on GLOOME's repository to fix it. Marrub just needs to merge it.Alekv wrote: And tell me whether in GLOOME everything new that is in GZDoom, such as :
http://zdoom.org/wiki/PickActor
-
- Posts: 170
- Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:41 am
- Location: My world :)
Re: [Engine] GLOOME / [WIP] Project 67 & Nocturne in Yellow
Yes, I know , in my folder are files GZDB https://github.com/marrub--/GLOOME/tree/master/acs gdefs.acs, gspecial.acs .. Script compiled, but that feature is not working ChangeFlag . Maybe I did not prescribe the correct flags in acs or something?Titan314 wrote:I bellieve it is because you need the modified version of ACC to compile the Gloome extra features.
Speaking of it, could we get a compiled version of the modified ACC?
Very good , but I would like to see more updates GLOOME Beta Builds download . = (jpalomo wrote:The new flags are actually from GLOOME. I renamed them and fixed a bug with them before backporting it to ZDoom. There is still an open pull request on GLOOME's repository to fix it. Marrub just needs to merge it.
-
- Posts: 48
- Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2015 8:16 pm
Re: [Engine] GLOOME / [WIP] Project 67 & Nocturne in Yellow
How hard would it be to make an in engine Half life style level transition? Sorta like this https://www.doomworld.com/vb/wads-mods/ ... ansitions/, Except allowing enemies to go between levels. The person that made the Half Life style level changes said that the engine needs sector serialisation and deserialisation between hub levels.
-
- Posts: 1336
- Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2003 12:57 am
- Location: Helsinki, Finland
Re: [Engine] GLOOME / [WIP] Project 67 & Nocturne in Yellow
Or, in a bit more detail:
Sectors will need to be marked up in some fashion (UDMF properties!) as being serialised between different levels. I suppose the easiest thing to do would be to add entries to hub save data for each of these inter-level zones as you encounter new hub levels rather than trying to pre-calculate such things. It would need to treat things inside those sectors as belonging to that interzone rather than the original level. Saving the level state would save those interhub states. Loading the next hub level would load relevant interhub states and create the things for it. Players would probably need to be treated special I assume because they're treated special all the time.
It's quite open to abuse and doing it wrong if the sectors don't match correctly between hub levels, but I'm pretty sure that was the case in Half Life too.
Sectors will need to be marked up in some fashion (UDMF properties!) as being serialised between different levels. I suppose the easiest thing to do would be to add entries to hub save data for each of these inter-level zones as you encounter new hub levels rather than trying to pre-calculate such things. It would need to treat things inside those sectors as belonging to that interzone rather than the original level. Saving the level state would save those interhub states. Loading the next hub level would load relevant interhub states and create the things for it. Players would probably need to be treated special I assume because they're treated special all the time.
It's quite open to abuse and doing it wrong if the sectors don't match correctly between hub levels, but I'm pretty sure that was the case in Half Life too.
-
- Posts: 38
- Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2015 7:44 pm
Re: [Engine] GLOOME / [WIP] Project 67 & Nocturne in Yellow
Hm... is there a way to enable stillbob? The console command doesn't seem to work.
-
- Posts: 1268
- Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 4:24 pm
Re: [Engine] GLOOME / [WIP] Project 67 & Nocturne in Yellow
I think in a manual solution for that.
Make some global HUGE vectors, storing the monsters position x,y,z, tids, health and who they were tracking.
It will require alot of work, but I belive it'll work (at least, if there's a way to store the monsters pointers...
========================================================
Well, if that counts, Spooky House of Jumpscares TC is going to be GLOOME compatible, but don't expect a near release, I'm trying to do a 90% TC, and some stuff that the devs made in the game maker tool, are a pain in the ass to be made in Doom .
But at least, The way things are being done will allow even newbies to expand the mod with almost zero acs touches (It will only require some changes into acs because each sector texture/Spawn tids are stored in acs).
Also I need to thanks alot _mental_ for making/finding the tools to rip the textures/sprites/sounds from it, without that, I would be still taking screenshots and ripping the áudio with audacity ;--;
Make some global HUGE vectors, storing the monsters position x,y,z, tids, health and who they were tracking.
It will require alot of work, but I belive it'll work (at least, if there's a way to store the monsters pointers...
========================================================
Well, if that counts, Spooky House of Jumpscares TC is going to be GLOOME compatible, but don't expect a near release, I'm trying to do a 90% TC, and some stuff that the devs made in the game maker tool, are a pain in the ass to be made in Doom .
But at least, The way things are being done will allow even newbies to expand the mod with almost zero acs touches (It will only require some changes into acs because each sector texture/Spawn tids are stored in acs).
Also I need to thanks alot _mental_ for making/finding the tools to rip the textures/sprites/sounds from it, without that, I would be still taking screenshots and ripping the áudio with audacity ;--;
-
-
- Posts: 1198
- Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 2:48 pm
- Preferred Pronouns: No Preference
- Operating System Version (Optional): Arch Linux
- Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Re: [Engine] GLOOME / [WIP] Project 67 & Nocturne in Yellow
Oops, I forgot forums existed.
I may eventually add a cvar to disable that.
Of which I'm not exactly sure. That should work fine.
I'll go yell at TheZombieKiller to make some builds for me, since I know he has a proper environment for that.
Yes, you have to use some ACS to do it. The stillbob/movebob cvars are now just multipliers for the values set by ACS.JunkerKun wrote:Hm... is there a way to enable stillbob? The console command doesn't seem to work.
I may eventually add a cvar to disable that.
I could definitely cross-compile our ACC version. Do note however that this isn't the cause of the error.Titan314 wrote:I bellieve it is because you need the modified version of ACC to compile the Gloome extra features.
Speaking of it, could we get a compiled version of the modified ACC?
Of which I'm not exactly sure. That should work fine.
I can't cross-compile GLOOME with my current setup, and it would take too much effort to get it working.Alekv wrote:Very good , but I would like to see more updates GLOOME Beta Builds download . = (
I'll go yell at TheZombieKiller to make some builds for me, since I know he has a proper environment for that.
Yeah, it should be fine. I don't currently know of any bugs.JunkerKun wrote:To what point is the engine done? I mean, are there any crucial game breaking bugs or is it safe to make a game using Gloome (mainly, is it safe to use 3D models exclusively)?No, unfortunately, marrub has decided to focus on other projects, which I guess makes Nocturne in Yellow and Nido Force instead the flagship titles.
-
- Posts: 1268
- Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 4:24 pm
Re: [Engine] GLOOME / [WIP] Project 67 & Nocturne in Yellow
I could compile some Windows builds if you guys want (I did it on the time when there wasn't an oficial build for gloome)
Zdoom/Gloome code is kinda short compared to the ones that I was playing this year (1gb of code ;--;)
Zdoom/Gloome code is kinda short compared to the ones that I was playing this year (1gb of code ;--;)