[Wolfenstein: Blade of Agony] v3.1 released (p204)

For Total Conversions and projects that don't otherwise fall under the other categories.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17450
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: [WolfenDoom] Blade of Agony

Post by Nash »

PixelRatio is a GZDoom-only MAPINFO flag that lets you scale the entire view to whatever you want. Doom defaults to 1.2, that's why Doom's pixels are taller (I think you already know this)... for "realistic" settings, set it to 1.0 so you'll have perfectly square pixels.

I mention using PixelRatio because, if you make the players and the nazis taller to match the doors (which I imagine would be 128px tall), it would feel like everything is suddenly too tall and lanky. So you use PixelRatio 1.0 (or less) at the end to "squash" everything back to normal.
User avatar
Ozymandias81
Posts: 2063
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2013 8:01 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Mount Olympus, Mars

Re: [WolfenDoom] Blade of Agony

Post by Ozymandias81 »

Nash wrote:PixelRatio is a GZDoom-only MAPINFO flag that lets you scale the entire view to whatever you want. Doom defaults to 1.2, that's why Doom's pixels are taller (I think you already know this)... for "realistic" settings, set it to 1.0 so you'll have perfectly square pixels.

I mention using PixelRatio because, if you make the players and the nazis taller to match the doors (which I imagine would be 128px tall), it would feel like everything is suddenly too tall and lanky. So you use PixelRatio 1.0 (or less) at the end to "squash" everything back to normal.
WOW, this pixelratio thing seems to be some "quincunx" scaling style, remembering me old Quake3 effects... IMOH I'll surely use this! - Am I able to include it inside "defaultmap"?
User avatar
Tormentor667
Posts: 13534
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 3:52 am

Re: [WolfenDoom] Blade of Agony

Post by Tormentor667 »

@Nash - Thanks for the explanation, but what does it actually affect? Textures? Mapsizes? Sprites? I don't get it yet...
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17450
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: [WolfenDoom] Blade of Agony

Post by Nash »

It affects everything that's rendered to the 3D viewport. Try it; add PixelRatio = 1.0 to your MAPINFO (or make it as part of DefaultMap so that it will affect all maps). You will see that the entire world appears to be "shorter" (but have correct-looking pixel size of 1x1 instead of 1x1.2)...
User avatar
armymen12002003
Posts: 1419
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 10:25 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Castle Wolfenstein

Re: [WolfenDoom] Blade of Agony

Post by armymen12002003 »

Nice i like how the first mission question? will you be adding allied solider friendlies in it?
User avatar
wildweasel
Posts: 21706
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): A lot of them
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Re: [WolfenDoom] Blade of Agony

Post by wildweasel »

chelonian wrote:Why remove the tracer resources when they're such a integral part of the weaponry's function? Hell, even I've used them in a wad I never plan to release due to Weasel's (not wholly unjustified) reactions to people cannibalizing his stuff.
All I ever wanted is for people to ask me first. =P
User avatar
Captain J
 
 
Posts: 16890
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 2:20 am
Location: An ancient Escape Shuttle(No longer active here anymore)

Re: [WolfenDoom] Blade of Agony

Post by Captain J »

oh scheisse, i never expected about this one. i really can't wait for this, tormentor! and btw, if you need some additional resources, just tell me. i got some stuff to show or you can request to me.
User avatar
Tormentor667
Posts: 13534
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 3:52 am

Re: [WolfenDoom] Blade of Agony

Post by Tormentor667 »

@CaptainJ - Sure thing, thx for the offer, just share whatever you've got :)
User avatar
Captain J
 
 
Posts: 16890
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 2:20 am
Location: An ancient Escape Shuttle(No longer active here anymore)

Re: [WolfenDoom] Blade of Agony

Post by Captain J »

User avatar
Tormentor667
Posts: 13534
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 3:52 am

Re: [WolfenDoom] Blade of Agony

Post by Tormentor667 »

Just downloading, thanks man :) Will take a closer look later.
User avatar
Tormentor667
Posts: 13534
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 3:52 am

Re: [WolfenDoom] Blade of Agony

Post by Tormentor667 »

Image
Transition effect of the exterior intermission map area - the allied headquarter.
User avatar
YukesVonFaust
Posts: 1345
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 9:00 am
Location: in an undisclosed location that is the philippines

Re: [WolfenDoom] Blade of Agony

Post by YukesVonFaust »

nice weather effects, tormentor!
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17450
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: [WolfenDoom] Blade of Agony

Post by Nash »

Is the weather real-time? ;)
User avatar
Tormentor667
Posts: 13534
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 3:52 am

Re: [WolfenDoom] Blade of Agony

Post by Tormentor667 »

Not realtime :) but it changes everytime you visit the intermap
User avatar
Ozymandias81
Posts: 2063
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2013 8:01 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Mount Olympus, Mars

Re: [WolfenDoom] Blade of Agony

Post by Ozymandias81 »

Tormentor667 wrote:Not realtime :) but it changes everytime you visit the intermap
I'm sure that this MOHAA+Wolf3d stuff will be thrilling.... :rock:

Return to “TCs, Full Games, and Other Projects”