Also tried Vulkan, forgot to mention. Same FPS. Vulkan adds some weird white pixels where textures meet. I don't know where I'm supposed to input the commands. In the console "vid_preferbackend 1" without the "+" changes to Vulkan in the options menu, which again I tried. With "+" does not work, unknown command. "norun" and "-norun" don't do anything in the console. Unknown commands.Rachael wrote:Try Vulkan. Run gzdoom -norun +vid_preferbackend 1, let the init go, and then when it gives you the option to exit do so. Then launch the mod again.Andretti wrote:[
I am also having terrible FPS on some maps. Even with the potato settings. Though lowering the graphics does help. And then going through the options manually to turn off/ down any settings that could cause problems. C2M3 had the worst FPS problems so far. FPS problems seem to happen mainly in large open areas.
Windows 10 64 bit, i5 4570, RX 590, 16GB DDR 3 RAM. Using the GZDoom from the standalone version.
[Wolfenstein: Blade of Agony] v3.1 released (p204)
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.
Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!
Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.
Please read the full rules for more details.
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.
Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!
Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.
Please read the full rules for more details.
-
- Posts: 12
- Joined: Mon May 10, 2021 4:06 am
Re: [Wolfenstein: Blade of Agony] Release (v3.0)
-
- Posts: 93
- Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2013 6:19 pm
Re: [Wolfenstein: Blade of Agony] Release (v3.0)
Note to devs: I have some interesting information regarding two of the issues I've identified, being the strafetilt and the motion blur. I have discovered that in both cases, there are no issues when using a controller instead of a mouse.
I believe in the case of the motion blur, the shader is just accentuating the visible jitter inherent to mouse polling. If you remember, I previously said that I see a huge difference between 1000Hz and 500Hz, but that I was satisfied with 1000Hz. Well that doesn't mean I can't still see jitter at 1000Hz--I can. It's just not bad enough to bother me. I believe in the case of the motion blur shader, the visual effect (since it relates directly to motion) is somehow making it more apparent and pushing it over the threshold of acceptability for me. I don't think there's anything actually wrong with the shader, and maybe a 3000Hz mouse would look fine?
Regarding the strafe tilt, as I said, no problems using a controller. I have a feeling there may be some engine bug that's interfering with mouse polling or something when that script is running. Anyway I definitely think the fact that it is a mouse only issue should help narrow it down.
/EDIT What I mean about mouse polling is it almost looks and feels like mouse polling is dropping down to 35Hz, or being interrupted 35 times/sec or something insane like this. I recommend using a dev version of BoA when testing this and using boa_tilteffects true/false
EDIT/ Oh and please, no engine devs better get any funny ideas about changing mouse input to somehow emulate a joystick. I like the mouse input just the way it is
And also no, mouse smoothing doesn't help.
I believe in the case of the motion blur, the shader is just accentuating the visible jitter inherent to mouse polling. If you remember, I previously said that I see a huge difference between 1000Hz and 500Hz, but that I was satisfied with 1000Hz. Well that doesn't mean I can't still see jitter at 1000Hz--I can. It's just not bad enough to bother me. I believe in the case of the motion blur shader, the visual effect (since it relates directly to motion) is somehow making it more apparent and pushing it over the threshold of acceptability for me. I don't think there's anything actually wrong with the shader, and maybe a 3000Hz mouse would look fine?
Regarding the strafe tilt, as I said, no problems using a controller. I have a feeling there may be some engine bug that's interfering with mouse polling or something when that script is running. Anyway I definitely think the fact that it is a mouse only issue should help narrow it down.
![Thumb :thumb:](./images/smilies/thumb.gif)
EDIT/ Oh and please, no engine devs better get any funny ideas about changing mouse input to somehow emulate a joystick. I like the mouse input just the way it is
![Laughing :lol:](./images/smilies/icon_lol.gif)
Last edited by 0mnicydle on Wed May 12, 2021 7:52 am, edited 3 times in total.
-
- Posts: 1339
- Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:18 pm
Re: [Wolfenstein: Blade of Agony] Release (v3.0)
I'm confused as to why this manual precaching is necessary... With gl_precache set to true, the renderer's level precache functions should already be caching all model textures used in the current map, unless I misunderstand what the code is doing here. I suppose the exception would be for any actor that isn't placed in the editor, but is spawned at runtime, but that's less of an issue.0mnicydle wrote:Here’s an updated guide...[snip]
Also, you have a point with some of the sounds - the non-standard sounds are not being cached automatically - but almost all actor and weapon sounds are automatically precached by the engine as well.
-
- Posts: 93
- Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2013 6:19 pm
Re: [Wolfenstein: Blade of Agony] Release (v3.0)
Yeah, model textures aren't precached by gl_precache according to info I've seen elsewhere. There was another post by Graf somewhere (of course, you know, things change...) saying it was because the model system was separate and it would be some effort to integrate it. But there is this workaround. (EDIT/ See if you notice a big stutter on intermap as you walk towards the entrance without my files, and if that is resolved with.)AFADoomer wrote:I'm confused as to why this manual precaching is necessary... With gl_precache set to true, the renderer's level precache functions should already be caching all model textures used in the current map, unless I misunderstand what the code is doing here. I suppose the exception would be for any actor that isn't placed in the editor, but is spawned at runtime, but that's less of an issue.0mnicydle wrote:Here’s an updated guide...[snip]
Also, you have a point with some of the sounds - the non-standard sounds are not being cached automatically - but almost all actor and weapon sounds are automatically precached by the engine as well.
And regarding the sounds, yeah, lots of this stuff is quite redundant, but I'm not a mod author and just doing what's in my power to quickly cover all the things here which absolutely are not being precached otherwise. I encourage you to try the guide and follow to the letter and see for yourself if you can notice a difference. (EDIT/ Check a frame time graph while turning on radios, or listening to thunder on c3m0_b etc. Tons of stuff is better now, it's a completely different experience on my system.)
Thanks for even taking a look at my work though, I appreciate it.
-
- Posts: 590
- Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2016 1:43 am
- Location: Could be the chair, the floor, or the bed.
Re: [Wolfenstein: Blade of Agony] Release (v3.0)
I've always thought that it was a Serious Sam gag. It's a classic trap, too. One tiny pickup that spawns an enlarged version of an enemy.Ninlhil wrote:Um.... Did anyone else encounter a 30 foot tall Nazi guard in the desert in Tunis? Took a bunch to kill and dropped a whole bunch of stuff, so I'm not sure it was a glitch, but I figured I'd ask.
It being put so far away in the desert reminded me of Hatshepsut in First Encounter.
-
- Posts: 13549
- Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 3:52 am
- Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
- Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11
- Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
- Location: Germany
Re: [Wolfenstein: Blade of Agony] Release (v3.0)
Exactly, it’s a serious sam homage ![Smile :)](./images/smilies/icon_smile.gif)
![Smile :)](./images/smilies/icon_smile.gif)
-
- Posts: 175
- Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2021 6:16 am
Re: [Wolfenstein: Blade of Agony] Release (v3.0)
I saw somebody talking about nashmove few pages back and honestly I'm with him, the game is great and plays very well, absolutely loving it, only con experienced so far is indeed the doom default too slippery movement, especially in narrow corridors firing with shotgun getting cover on reload it doesn't respond very well, so in the end I tried nashmove but it walks too slow so seems not working good with this out of the box.
any suggestion about this problem will be appreciated!
And thanks once again for this great game and your efforts guys
any suggestion about this problem will be appreciated!
![Smile :)](./images/smilies/icon_smile.gif)
And thanks once again for this great game and your efforts guys
-
- Posts: 93
- Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2013 6:19 pm
Re: [Wolfenstein: Blade of Agony] Release (v3.0)
I for one hope the movement doesn't change. "Slippery" Doom movement is a big part of the draw of Doom gameplay for me. The inertia and momentum impart a sense of presence, instead of just being a magical floating camera. Compensating for it is a skill that can honed, and that's satisfying. The feeling of weight and "throwing" yourself around places once you adapt is just... *chef's kiss* Your comment about getting cover in corridors, IMO it's just all about planning your moves in advance and not just reacting to the situation. The whole Zen of Doom is getting to that point where you are controlling the battlefield, instead of just responding to it. Well anyway, that's my opinion. And after all, this is WolfenDoom, so it should have a certain level of similarity to the core Doom gameplay I think.Colerx wrote:I saw somebody talking about nashmove few pages back and honestly I'm with him, the game is great and plays very well, absolutely loving it, only con experienced so far is indeed the doom default too slippery movement, especially in narrow corridors firing with shotgun getting cover on reload it doesn't respond very well, so in the end I tried nashmove but it walks too slow so seems not working good with this out of the box.
EDIT/ But hey maybe someone could make a Wolfenstein of Duty mutator for you when the mutator support comes that includes robotic movement and prone position heh (this is really not meant to be snarky btw; everyone has their preferences)
-
- Posts: 175
- Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2021 6:16 am
Re: [Wolfenstein: Blade of Agony] Release (v3.0)
^^ I get your point and I partially agree about the vanilla meaning of wolfendoom, however I wasn't asking to do an official patch about it but just for a suggestion about the personal note I explained (and maybe for anybody else interested in), the movement still plays great in open maps but I noticed limitations in corridors in close ones where instinctly my gameplay approach goes to getting cover quickly in and out , a thing that in vanilla doom or wolf wasn't quite common (I remember playing them with directional arrows without even strafing when I was a kid, just sayin) sometimes maps design and gameplay changes such as reloading could need some more tweaks to get to perfection, at least according to my taste (I can practice to improve prediction ok, but it just doesn't feel good to me for the actual game),
Btw I wasn't trying to force this to anyone at all just to clarify. and I don't think it would be become such callofdutyzed, for all the defects those games have that is the last one imho
if even nashmove does remember them, for me it doesn't.
Btw I wasn't trying to force this to anyone at all just to clarify. and I don't think it would be become such callofdutyzed, for all the defects those games have that is the last one imho
![Laughing :lol:](./images/smilies/icon_lol.gif)
Last edited by Colerx on Wed May 12, 2021 9:41 am, edited 1 time in total.
-
-
- Posts: 17468
- Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
- Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Re: [Wolfenstein: Blade of Agony] Release (v3.0)
0mnicydle:
I've opened an investigation to get to the bottom of the "camera roll is disrupting mouse input" issue once and for all. Would appreciate your input (heh) in the following thread: viewtopic.php?f=2&t=72245
I've opened an investigation to get to the bottom of the "camera roll is disrupting mouse input" issue once and for all. Would appreciate your input (heh) in the following thread: viewtopic.php?f=2&t=72245
-
- Posts: 93
- Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2013 6:19 pm
Re: [Wolfenstein: Blade of Agony] Release (v3.0)
Yeah I get it. And that's why I wanted to make sure you knew I wasn't being snarky with you; I hope you are able to get it dialed in to suit your preferences. That's also part of what's so great about Doom, right? But when I saw your comment about the corridor reload situation, the first thing that came to my mind was I'd never go into that corridor without first knowing I had enough shots to get the job done, and if I didn't, I'd throw a grenade in first to soften them up etc... and if I'm really screwed on ammo/nades, well then I'd at least be priming my moves so as I tossed myself in I was already backing out as soon as I landed. It's all about situational awareness, and working within the limitations is part of the fun IMO.Colerx wrote:^^ I get your point and I partially agree about the vanilla meaning of wolfendoom...
-
- Posts: 175
- Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2021 6:16 am
Re: [Wolfenstein: Blade of Agony] Release (v3.0)
^^ I understand
-
- Posts: 12
- Joined: Mon May 10, 2021 4:06 am
Re: [Wolfenstein: Blade of Agony] Release (v3.0)
The automap in C3M0 seems buggy. Barely shows anything. Is it supposed to look like this?
-
- Posts: 12
- Joined: Mon May 10, 2021 4:06 am
Re: [Wolfenstein: Blade of Agony] Release (v3.0)
Is there any way to reduce the overall draw distance? Not the render distance of objects from the options. The draw distance of everything. It might help with my FPS problems.
-
- Posts: 52
- Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 11:47 pm
Re: [Wolfenstein: Blade of Agony] Release (v3.0)
Have you guys considered making the Luger and the Walther more different in their function? Like making the Walther a suppressed weapon, and reducing its damage accordingly? There just seems to be no real difference between the two pistols.