Doom: The Golden Souls 2 | OUT NOW! | Current Ver: 1.4

For Total Conversions and projects that don't otherwise fall under the other categories.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
Batandy
Posts: 1277
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 2:56 am

Re: Doom: The Golden Souls 2 | OUT NOW! | Current Ver: 1.4

Post by Batandy »

WallyTheBoogieBug wrote:Having a bug in the new gzdoom version where blocks can't be pushed down ledges. Tested on Map06 with nothing autoloaded and no other mods, using GZDoom 1.4.2. GS2 1.3 is having the same problem. It prevents the level from being beaten, unfortunately.
Make sure you have compatibility mode set to Default, anything other than that will not make certain objects in the game (mostly pushable items) work correctly.
User avatar
WallyTheBoogieBug
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 6:56 am

Re: Doom: The Golden Souls 2 | OUT NOW! | Current Ver: 1.4

Post by WallyTheBoogieBug »

Batandy wrote:
WallyTheBoogieBug wrote:Having a bug in the new gzdoom version where blocks can't be pushed down ledges. Tested on Map06 with nothing autoloaded and no other mods, using GZDoom 1.4.2. GS2 1.3 is having the same problem. It prevents the level from being beaten, unfortunately.
Make sure you have compatibility mode set to Default, anything other than that will not make certain objects in the game (mostly pushable items) work correctly.
Weird that that got set to anything other than default, since I haven't messed with it in months. Isn't it possible to define a compatflag value in MAPINFO that cannot be overwritten by cvars? Maybe zeroing out options like compat_crossdropoff there would be a good idea for future updates. There's also compatmode which I know a little less about, might also be useful.
Turin Turambar
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat May 18, 2019 5:49 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Doom: The Golden Souls 2 | OUT NOW! | Current Ver: 1.4

Post by Turin Turambar »

Can anyone say in what missions the red skull can be used? I don't want to review all past maps. :(
User avatar
StroggVorbis
Posts: 866
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2017 4:23 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Germany

Re: Doom: The Golden Souls 2 | OUT NOW! | Current Ver: 1.4

Post by StroggVorbis »

Turin Turambar wrote:Can anyone say in what missions the red skull can be used? I don't want to review all past maps. :(
You can "changelevel mapXX" where XX is the number of the map you want to warp to (01-99); still keeping your inventory and the state of your playthrough.
If you have the althud enabled, check Kills or Items if you found everything. If still unsure, type "give allmap" to reveal the whole automap and pan over it to check for red lines.
Or use the "items" and "countitems" commands to list every item still in the map with X, Y & Z coordinates. Use "warp X Y Z" to warp to them.
siealex
Posts: 161
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 2:02 am

Re: Doom: The Golden Souls 2 | OUT NOW! | Current Ver: 1.4

Post by siealex »

Having a bug in the new gzdoom version where blocks can't be pushed down ledges. Tested on Map06 with nothing autoloaded and no other mods, using GZDoom 1.4.2. GS2 1.3 is having the same problem. It prevents the level from being beaten, unfortunately.
Which map? I'm currently on Crescent Moon Manor and I had no problems with pushable blocks.
siealex
Posts: 161
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 2:02 am

Re: Doom: The Golden Souls 2 | OUT NOW! | Current Ver: 1.4

Post by siealex »

Why is the Backpack given so late in the game? It would be much more useful BEFORE the Hell, not AFTER it... It's actually used only in one level, Spider Mansion.
User avatar
Batandy
Posts: 1277
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 2:56 am

Re: Doom: The Golden Souls 2 | OUT NOW! | Current Ver: 1.4

Post by Batandy »

siealex wrote:Why is the Backpack given so late in the game? It would be much more useful BEFORE the Hell, not AFTER it... It's actually used only in one level, Spider Mansion.
To be quite fair, it's one of the thing I might rework in a future build. Perhaps I'll give something more cool as a reward.
0.1
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun May 12, 2019 4:08 pm

Re: Doom: The Golden Souls 2 | OUT NOW! | Current Ver: 1.4

Post by 0.1 »

Golden Souls 3?????!!!!!!
TaporGaming
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2018 7:24 am
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Re: Doom: The Golden Souls 2 | OUT NOW! | Current Ver: 1.4

Post by TaporGaming »

Future projects. Good thing there are be new maps, monsters, weapons, items and the codings.
TheLemonLimeBrony
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2018 10:34 pm

Re: Doom: The Golden Souls 2 | OUT NOW! | Current Ver: 1.4

Post by TheLemonLimeBrony »

There are two trees in Rimy Residence you can get stuck behind in the first outside area(not the very start of the level), forcing you to noclip your way out.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
xenoxols
Posts: 2128
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2013 6:08 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Location: Behind you

Re: Doom: The Golden Souls 2 | OUT NOW! | Current Ver: 1.4

Post by xenoxols »

If you update gzdoom, do you have to start from the beginning?
User avatar
StroggVorbis
Posts: 866
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2017 4:23 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Germany

Re: Doom: The Golden Souls 2 | OUT NOW! | Current Ver: 1.4

Post by StroggVorbis »

xenoxols wrote:If you update gzdoom, do you have to start from the beginning?
Depends on the version. If it's a hotfix, 4.1.x for example, probably not. Bigger updates like 4.x.0 or x.0.0 most definitely change something major internally, making all your previous saves incompatible. The same goes for ACS.
If a mod that uses it gets updated, all saves made with the previous version will be invalidated. Same goes for if you, for whatever reason, play with a mod that adds a new object, then remove said mod and then reload the save. The game tries to reload a missing/unknown object and aborts with an error.

Tl;dr: Refrain from updating until you finish larger mods like GS. Or keep seperate GZDoom versions on your hard drive.
Max_Imus
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2019 5:49 pm
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Doom: The Golden Souls 2 | OUT NOW! | Current Ver: 1.4

Post by Max_Imus »

Is there a way to get the maps only + the mario jump?
User avatar
Captain J
 
 
Posts: 16890
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 2:20 am
Location: An ancient Escape Shuttle(No longer active here anymore)

Re: Doom: The Golden Souls 2 | OUT NOW! | Current Ver: 1.4

Post by Captain J »

I frankly recommend to have fun with the TC as it is. But if you really want to, you still have doom editors like SLADE!
User avatar
StroggVorbis
Posts: 866
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2017 4:23 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Germany

Re: Doom: The Golden Souls 2 | OUT NOW! | Current Ver: 1.4

Post by StroggVorbis »

I cobbled this together real quick. I hope you're cool with it, Batandy. Otherwise I will remove it again.
Attached are a modified DEC_WEPS and MAPINFO. The former removes the editor numbers from all weapons and ammo pickups, the latter assigns their editor numbers to vanilla Doom equivalents.

For the jump height, grab m8f's Ultimate Custom Doom viewtopic.php?f=43&t=64678 and set the jump multiplier to 1.875

Last but not least, upon starting the game, type "give token_hudenabler" in the console otherwise you will have no HUD.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Return to “TCs, Full Games, and Other Projects”