Wall portals

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

User avatar
Major Cooke
Posts: 8190
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 3:55 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Location: QZDoom Maintenance Team

Re: Wall portals

Post by Major Cooke »

NeuralStunner wrote:
Major Cooke wrote:Can you make a cvar that limits floor/ceiling recursion?
An excellent idea.

Unsure what you'd do where you meet the recursion limit, though. Solid black? (Ideally, one would camtex it like Portal does. That sounds difficult in this engine, though.)
Just render the floor/ceiling as the texture its given.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49098
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Wall portals

Post by Graf Zahl »

There are no limits for floor/ceiling portals because there cannot be an infinite recursion. Remember: The height of the portal planes needs to be the same on both sides of the portal! This means it's impossible to look back into the original area and create a recursive effect.
User avatar
NeuralStunner
 
 
Posts: 12328
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:04 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: capital N, capital S, no space

Re: Wall portals

Post by NeuralStunner »

Right - But for wall portals it would be possible to make a recursing connection. (One would also need to limit line-of-sight traces in some way, whether by distance or by portal passage.)
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49098
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Wall portals

Post by Graf Zahl »

Wall portals obviously need a limit, just like mirrors. But the question was about floors and ceilings.
User avatar
ZZYZX
 
 
Posts: 1384
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2012 1:43 am
Location: Ukraine

Re: Wall portals

Post by ZZYZX »

Wall portals (&mirrors) do have a limit. r_portal_recursions. Defaults to 4.
In the current ZDoom, mirrors also have a limit, which is, again, 4. Hardcoded though.

Also once there will be tracers teleporting through a portal, they will have another limit (sv_portal_recursions, probably).
The limit was hardcoded to 4 in the old code.
Lavender Moon
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu May 21, 2015 5:33 am

Re: Wall portals

Post by Lavender Moon »

Would it be possible to have a MAPINFO flag that disables AI seeing through portals?
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17849
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: Wall portals

Post by Gez »

There's no need for that until the AI becomes able to see through portals in the first place.
User avatar
Xeotroid
Posts: 438
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2012 7:44 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Czech Rep.

Re: Wall portals

Post by Xeotroid »

I was running around in Gez's combined map (zdoomx_test0.wad) and after walking into a portal (I have no idea which one, I was lost and wandering aimlessly) the game crashed with the dying marine message. Crash report is in attachment. I'm using the prebuilt binary, by the way.

Oh, I was editing the r_portal_recursions in the console because I was getting major FPS drops. I turned it down to 1 in the Pac-Man maze and then changed to 16 when back in the main area. Maybe that was the cause of problems?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Lavender Moon
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu May 21, 2015 5:33 am

Re: Wall portals

Post by Lavender Moon »

Gez wrote:There's no need for that until the AI becomes able to see through portals in the first place.
That goes without saying.
User avatar
ZZYZX
 
 
Posts: 1384
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2012 1:43 am
Location: Ukraine

Re: Wall portals

Post by ZZYZX »

The prebuilt binary is horribly broken. And this random crash is one of the reasons why I started rewriting it. Completely no idea why it does this.
User avatar
cambertian
Posts: 344
Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 4:24 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: New England Area, USA

Re: Wall portals

Post by cambertian »

This would be a really useful feature for me for a slightly weird reason.

If there's any way to randomize where the portal takes you (maybe with script,) this could be great for generating pseudo-random levels.
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17849
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: Wall portals

Post by Gez »

cambertian wrote:If there's any way to randomize where the portal takes you (maybe with script,)
Yes, you can change a linedef's portal link at run-time with a script (there's an example of that in the demo map) so you can make random portals.
User avatar
NeuralStunner
 
 
Posts: 12328
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:04 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: capital N, capital S, no space

Re: Wall portals

Post by NeuralStunner »

Gez wrote:Yes, you can change a linedef's portal link at run-time with a script (there's an example of that in the demo map) so you can make random portals.
Or elevators. :)
User avatar
woofdg79
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2015 10:02 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Wall portals

Post by woofdg79 »

Any progress update? Still very interested in your work on this, and hats off to you for what you've done so far!
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17849
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: Wall portals

Post by Gez »

There's a pull request for visual portals that is awaiting review and merging.

Return to “Closed Feature Suggestions [GZDoom]”