Just render the floor/ceiling as the texture its given.NeuralStunner wrote:An excellent idea.Major Cooke wrote:Can you make a cvar that limits floor/ceiling recursion?
Unsure what you'd do where you meet the recursion limit, though. Solid black? (Ideally, one would camtex it like Portal does. That sounds difficult in this engine, though.)
Wall portals
Moderator: GZDoom Developers
-
- Posts: 8197
- Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 3:55 pm
- Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
- Location: QZDoom Maintenance Team
Re: Wall portals
-
- Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
- Posts: 49188
- Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
- Location: Germany
Re: Wall portals
There are no limits for floor/ceiling portals because there cannot be an infinite recursion. Remember: The height of the portal planes needs to be the same on both sides of the portal! This means it's impossible to look back into the original area and create a recursive effect.
-
-
- Posts: 12328
- Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:04 pm
- Preferred Pronouns: No Preference
- Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: capital N, capital S, no space
Re: Wall portals
Right - But for wall portals it would be possible to make a recursing connection. (One would also need to limit line-of-sight traces in some way, whether by distance or by portal passage.)
-
- Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
- Posts: 49188
- Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
- Location: Germany
Re: Wall portals
Wall portals obviously need a limit, just like mirrors. But the question was about floors and ceilings.
-
-
- Posts: 1384
- Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2012 1:43 am
- Location: Ukraine
Re: Wall portals
Wall portals (&mirrors) do have a limit. r_portal_recursions. Defaults to 4.
In the current ZDoom, mirrors also have a limit, which is, again, 4. Hardcoded though.
Also once there will be tracers teleporting through a portal, they will have another limit (sv_portal_recursions, probably).
The limit was hardcoded to 4 in the old code.
In the current ZDoom, mirrors also have a limit, which is, again, 4. Hardcoded though.
Also once there will be tracers teleporting through a portal, they will have another limit (sv_portal_recursions, probably).
The limit was hardcoded to 4 in the old code.
-
- Posts: 30
- Joined: Thu May 21, 2015 5:33 am
Re: Wall portals
Would it be possible to have a MAPINFO flag that disables AI seeing through portals?
-
-
- Posts: 17936
- Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm
Re: Wall portals
There's no need for that until the AI becomes able to see through portals in the first place.
-
- Posts: 443
- Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2012 7:44 am
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: Czech Rep.
Re: Wall portals
I was running around in Gez's combined map (zdoomx_test0.wad) and after walking into a portal (I have no idea which one, I was lost and wandering aimlessly) the game crashed with the dying marine message. Crash report is in attachment. I'm using the prebuilt binary, by the way.
Oh, I was editing the r_portal_recursions in the console because I was getting major FPS drops. I turned it down to 1 in the Pac-Man maze and then changed to 16 when back in the main area. Maybe that was the cause of problems?
Oh, I was editing the r_portal_recursions in the console because I was getting major FPS drops. I turned it down to 1 in the Pac-Man maze and then changed to 16 when back in the main area. Maybe that was the cause of problems?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
-
- Posts: 30
- Joined: Thu May 21, 2015 5:33 am
Re: Wall portals
That goes without saying.Gez wrote:There's no need for that until the AI becomes able to see through portals in the first place.
-
-
- Posts: 1384
- Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2012 1:43 am
- Location: Ukraine
Re: Wall portals
The prebuilt binary is horribly broken. And this random crash is one of the reasons why I started rewriting it. Completely no idea why it does this.
-
- Posts: 344
- Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 4:24 pm
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: New England Area, USA
Re: Wall portals
This would be a really useful feature for me for a slightly weird reason.
If there's any way to randomize where the portal takes you (maybe with script,) this could be great for generating pseudo-random levels.
If there's any way to randomize where the portal takes you (maybe with script,) this could be great for generating pseudo-random levels.
-
-
- Posts: 17936
- Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm
Re: Wall portals
Yes, you can change a linedef's portal link at run-time with a script (there's an example of that in the demo map) so you can make random portals.cambertian wrote:If there's any way to randomize where the portal takes you (maybe with script,)
-
-
- Posts: 12328
- Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:04 pm
- Preferred Pronouns: No Preference
- Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: capital N, capital S, no space
Re: Wall portals
Or elevators.Gez wrote:Yes, you can change a linedef's portal link at run-time with a script (there's an example of that in the demo map) so you can make random portals.
-
- Posts: 21
- Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2015 10:02 am
- Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Re: Wall portals
Any progress update? Still very interested in your work on this, and hats off to you for what you've done so far!
-
-
- Posts: 17936
- Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm
Re: Wall portals
There's a pull request for visual portals that is awaiting review and merging.