ZDoom Executor new ZDoom (and related projects) Frontend.

Launchers like ZDL, DoomRunner, and others belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
Bloodbat
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 1:53 pm

Re: ZDoom Executor new ZDoom (and related projects) Frontend

Post by Bloodbat »

patrik wrote:Nice frontend you got here Bloodbat. Definitely the least cumbersome from all I tried so far. :)
I am using latest beta build of it (from 6th May) and I found little incovience. Even if you have ticked "Save slot when exiting", it will not save it if launcher got closed when launching zdoom (if you have enabled "exit when launching"). Could this be fixed up? Thanks.
Yes, thanks for catching that one.
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
Posts: 1307
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 12:29 pm
Location: Germany

Re: ZDoom Executor new ZDoom (and related projects) Frontend

Post by NightFright »

Insane I didn't see this earlier. A launcher that can finally compete with ZDL while coming with just two files instead of a bunch of libraries. That's what I call an improvement!

The only thing I am missing there right now is detection of The Adventures of Square v1.1, but you can add that with little effort by yourself actually.
Last edited by NightFright on Wed May 13, 2015 6:37 am, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Devianteist
Posts: 945
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 4:07 pm
Location: Creating a SPACE HULK conversion!

Re: ZDoom Executor new ZDoom (and related projects) Frontend

Post by Devianteist »

NightFright wrote:Insane I didn't see this earlier. A launcher that can finally compete with ZDL while coming with just two files instead of a bunch of libraries. That's what I call an improvement!

The only thing I am missing there right now is detection of The Adventures of Square v1.1, but you can add that with little effort by yourself actually.
Check the beta, it's already there.
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
Posts: 1307
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 12:29 pm
Location: Germany

Re: ZDoom Executor new ZDoom (and related projects) Frontend

Post by NightFright »

Great! And it's a really nice frontend. Wished something like this was available for Quake, too. I am using MiniQL right now which isn't bad, but it's still not the real thing.
Bloodbat
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 1:53 pm

Re: ZDoom Executor new ZDoom (and related projects) Frontend

Post by Bloodbat »

NightFright wrote:Great! And it's a really nice frontend. Wished something like this was available for Quake, too. I am using MiniQL right now which isn't bad, but it's still not the real thing.
I've pondered doing one for Quake as well ;).
As for Adventures of Square...didn't know 1.1 was out, will add it in a bit.
User avatar
Hellser
Global Moderator
Posts: 2646
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 4:43 pm
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: Citadel Station

Re: ZDoom Executor new ZDoom (and related projects) Frontend

Post by Hellser »

Not sure if this is addressed (it isn't in the beta version), is it possible to select multiple files in the External Files list, and some sort of way to have the selection automatically select the next file in the list whilst removing files? Having to select another wad/pk3 to remove is time consuming. :P
Bloodbat
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 1:53 pm

Re: ZDoom Executor new ZDoom (and related projects) Frontend

Post by Bloodbat »

Hellser wrote:Not sure if this is addressed (it isn't in the beta version), is it possible to select multiple files in the External Files list, and some sort of way to have the selection automatically select the next file in the list whilst removing files? Having to select another wad/pk3 to remove is time consuming. :P
Nope, but multiselect could work, it's disabled ATM.
User avatar
Hellser
Global Moderator
Posts: 2646
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 4:43 pm
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: Citadel Station

Re: ZDoom Executor new ZDoom (and related projects) Frontend

Post by Hellser »

That's better than nothing, Bloodbat. Keep up the great work.
Bloodbat
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 1:53 pm

Re: ZDoom Executor new ZDoom (and related projects) Frontend

Post by Bloodbat »

I have added a separate download of zde.pk3 to the sourceforge files repository (contains definitions for WAD ID, maps and such) since part of the idea of separating that stuff from the main program was to update it independently for...say...new game versions. Any of you that really, really want Adventures of Square 1.1 recognized (and don't want to wait for the next stable release or unstable beta [if it's released]) can download that file and overwrite the one in your ZDE folder, go to options/paths and select your adventures of square 1.1 pk3 (or just click "Ok" if it's already selected): the proper name and version will be printed now in the IWAD combo box.
Bloodbat
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 1:53 pm

Re: ZDoom Executor new ZDoom (and related projects) Frontend

Post by Bloodbat »

zde.pk3 has been updated with adventures of square 1.1.2.
User avatar
Devianteist
Posts: 945
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 4:07 pm
Location: Creating a SPACE HULK conversion!

Re: ZDoom Executor new ZDoom (and related projects) Frontend

Post by Devianteist »

It seems that the download page for ZDE has gone down, as I get a page down error.
User avatar
Hellser
Global Moderator
Posts: 2646
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 4:43 pm
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: Citadel Station

Re: ZDoom Executor new ZDoom (and related projects) Frontend

Post by Hellser »

Devianteist wrote:It seems that the download page for ZDE has gone down, as I get a page down error.
It's the end of the world! But nah, according to Sourceforge (the ZDE download site):

The sourceforge.net website is temporarily in static offline mode.
User avatar
Devianteist
Posts: 945
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 4:07 pm
Location: Creating a SPACE HULK conversion!

Re: ZDoom Executor new ZDoom (and related projects) Frontend

Post by Devianteist »

Ahh, so it's a Sourceforge problem?
User avatar
Hellser
Global Moderator
Posts: 2646
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 4:43 pm
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: Citadel Station

Re: ZDoom Executor new ZDoom (and related projects) Frontend

Post by Hellser »

Yep. If you need the latest, I believe I have it. :)
User avatar
Devianteist
Posts: 945
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 4:07 pm
Location: Creating a SPACE HULK conversion!

Re: ZDoom Executor new ZDoom (and related projects) Frontend

Post by Devianteist »

Hellser wrote:Yep. If you need the latest, I believe I have it. :)
It would be much appreciated.

Return to “Launchers”