RELEASE: Wolfenstein 3D TC Version 3.1

For Total Conversions and projects that don't otherwise fall under the other categories.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
Ghostbreed
Posts: 1114
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 6:19 am

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (Version 2.0)

Post by Ghostbreed »

I think perhaps you can do it by putting a "-warp lvlnumber" (no quotes) in the shortcut next to Target.
User avatar
AFADoomer
Posts: 1335
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:18 pm

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (Version 2.0)

Post by AFADoomer »

armyman12345 wrote:The idclev cheat dosen't seem to work, can somebody tell me how to warp to a map?
Use the 'map' console command:

Code: Select all

map <mapname>
The Episode 1-6 maps are named by episode and map number (EeLm). For example, episode 1, map 9 is E1L9. Secret maps are map 0 (like E3L0).

Spear of Destiny maps are named by map number proceeded by SOD (SODmm). So they're numbered SOD01 through SOD21. They use the original map numbers, so map 19 and map 20 are the secret maps, and map 21 shows up as map 18 in the level indicator on the hud.

Lost Episodes maps are named by map pack and map number proceeded by SD (SDpmm). They're numbered SD201 through SD221 and SD301 through SD321.
User avatar
Ghostbreed
Posts: 1114
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 6:19 am

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (Version 2.0)

Post by Ghostbreed »

Hmm, it's kind of difficult to choose which source port to use.
ECWolf or this. I mean, both are almost identical in what they're trying to achieve. But ECW comes a tad closer to originality, with its lack of automap and a working score system.
Both supports high resolutions while only TC supports texture enhancements.

I'd say, for the nostalgic one, go with ECW. For those who want to amp up their experience with Wolf, go with this TC.
Yeah. That sounds fair actually.
User avatar
AFADoomer
Posts: 1335
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:18 pm

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (Version 2.0)

Post by AFADoomer »

Ghostbreed wrote:Hmm, it's kind of difficult to choose which source port to use.
ECWolf or this. I mean, both are almost identical in what they're trying to achieve. But ECW comes a tad closer to originality, with its lack of automap and a working score system.
Both supports high resolutions while only TC supports texture enhancements.

I'd say, for the nostalgic one, go with ECW. For those who want to amp up their experience with Wolf, go with this TC.
Yeah. That sounds fair actually.
ECWolf is a true source port of Wolf3D... This mod is a total conversion that closely approximates the original game within the ZDoom engine, but still has some shortcomings. It can be kind of fun to play Doom maps with Wolf3D enemies and items, though, so that's a nice bonus :).
User avatar
armyman12345
Posts: 278
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 11:39 am
Location: Jabba's Palace

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (Version 2.0)

Post by armyman12345 »

AFADoomer wrote:
armyman12345 wrote:The idclev cheat dosen't seem to work, can somebody tell me how to warp to a map?
Use the 'map' console command:

Code: Select all

map <mapname>
The Episode 1-6 maps are named by episode and map number (EeLm). For example, episode 1, map 9 is E1L9. Secret maps are map 0 (like E3L0).

Spear of Destiny maps are named by map number proceeded by SOD (SODmm). So they're numbered SOD01 through SOD21. They use the original map numbers, so map 19 and map 20 are the secret maps, and map 21 shows up as map 18 in the level indicator on the hud.

Lost Episodes maps are named by map pack and map number proceeded by SD (SDpmm). They're numbered SD201 through SD221 and SD301 through SD321.
Thanks. :)
Jink565
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 11:12 am

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (Version 2.0)

Post by Jink565 »

Hey AFADoomer, i found a bug that probably impossible to get 100% kills on certain levels. Moving notarget enemies in certain spots can go through walls. Take e1l6 for an example. The dogs that are supposed to be in the brown room with the gold key. Well, when i played that map, i see the dogs in a different room rather than be in the brown wooden room. and when i went in that room, no dogs or a few dogs would be in the room. And it not just that level that has that bug. in SD202, when the enemies go into the wall and if you go to the room with lots of enemies and alert them, enemies that are in the wall, will get alerted too and will stay inside the walls. So like there's no way to get 100% kills unless you use the no clip cheat. there are probably other levels that have this bug. So i hope you fix this bug.
User avatar
AFADoomer
Posts: 1335
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:18 pm

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (Version 2.0)

Post by AFADoomer »

Jink565 wrote:Hey AFADoomer, i found a bug that probably impossible to get 100% kills on certain levels. Moving notarget enemies in certain spots can go through walls. Take e1l6 for an example. The dogs that are supposed to be in the brown room with the gold key. Well, when i played that map, i see the dogs in a different room rather than be in the brown wooden room. and when i went in that room, no dogs or a few dogs would be in the room. And it not just that level that has that bug. in SD202, when the enemies go into the wall and if you go to the room with lots of enemies and alert them, enemies that are in the wall, will get alerted too and will stay inside the walls. So like there's no way to get 100% kills unless you use the no clip cheat. there are probably other levels that have this bug. So i hope you fix this bug.
Good catch... This happens because the patrol points in the original levels are misaligned, so the enemies patrol straight through a wall... I'll have to add some logic so that they stop in a massive pileup instead, like it did in the original. Probably something similar to what the pushwalls already do, but it will need to account for angles...
User avatar
armyman12345
Posts: 278
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 11:39 am
Location: Jabba's Palace

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (Version 2.0)

Post by armyman12345 »

Hey AFADoomer, is it me or are the weapons more powerful than the weapons in 1.0? Or are the enemies weaker? How do you get the double chaingun? Why are there 2 chainguns when i use idfa?
User avatar
AFADoomer
Posts: 1335
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:18 pm

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (Version 2.0)

Post by AFADoomer »

armyman12345 wrote:Hey AFADoomer, is it me or are the weapons more powerful than the weapons in 1.0? Or are the enemies weaker?
The weapons should still be about the same strengths as they were before. I didn't make any significant changes.
How do you get the double chaingun?
In-game? You can't, unless you play some Doom maps and kill the boss characters there. Cheating? 'summon wolfdualchaingun'. If you don't already have a chaingun, it just gives you the one chaingun, but if you have a chaingun already, it gives you dual wielding chainguns.
Why are there 2 chainguns when i use idfa?
Because you cheated! There are actually 4 weapons on slot 4 when you cheat... You get the Wolf3D Chaingun, the SoD Chaingun ( same sprite, different pickup sound), the Lost Episodes chaingun (different sprites and sounds), and the dual chainguns (which use the regular Wolf3D sprites duplicated in the TEXTURES lump).
User avatar
armyman12345
Posts: 278
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 11:39 am
Location: Jabba's Palace

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (Version 2.0)

Post by armyman12345 »

How do i use the map to wad converter? Also, I destroyed Hans Grosse with the machine gun

EDIT: I destroyed him with the pistol!
User avatar
Valherran
Posts: 1406
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 12:58 pm

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (Version 2.0)

Post by Valherran »

Any chance you could fix the Secrets Found tally? Almost every map I go through, the game says I have not found every secret when I know I have, even after using the super map to verify. And because it doesn't count it correctly, it screws up my score. >.<
User avatar
AFADoomer
Posts: 1335
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:18 pm

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (Version 2.0)

Post by AFADoomer »

armyman12345 wrote:I destroyed Hans Grosse with the machine gun EDIT: I destroyed him with the pistol!
It's much easier to aim with the mouse than it was in the original game... So you can snipe at him from a distance with any bullet attack weapon while his attacks 'miss' from the range. It makes things much easier. Try playing with just the keyboard for 'old-school' challenge.
armyman12345 wrote:How do i use the map to wad converter?
It's command-line based, so you have to use the command prompt to point it to the correct files:
maptowad.exe -head <MAPHEAD> -data <GAMEMAPS> -map <MAPNAME> -output <WADFILENAME> -format ZDOOMTC -game <SOD

Example:
maptowad.exe -head "C:\Games\SoD\maphead.sod" -data "C:\Games\SoD\gamemaps.sod" -map "Tunnels 1" -name SOD01 -output SOD01.wad -format ZDOOMTC -game SOD

This will convert the map named "Tunnels 1" from the SoD maps and write it to SOD01.wad. If you're converting a Wolf3D map, change the '-game SOD' part to '-game WL6' or '-game WL1'. If you're converting a lost episodes level set, change it to '-game SD2' or '-game SD3' depending on which episode you're using. For the original games the -game parameter should match the data file extension.

This works for all of the original levels and many user-made levels, but there are occasionally errors. Sometimes these can be fixed by opening the level in a tool such as WDC and re-saving with a new level name. Other levels are designed for source code modifications, and may not convert cleanly at all.
Valherran wrote:Any chance you could fix the Secrets Found tally? Almost every map I go through, the game says I have not found every secret when I know I have, even after using the super map to verify. And because it doesn't count it correctly, it screws up my score. >.<
I've noticed this. It's a problem with the secret door sectors that I'm still trying to track down. Some levels are fine, others it decides you haven't triggered the secret.
User avatar
armyman12345
Posts: 278
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 11:39 am
Location: Jabba's Palace

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (Version 2.0)

Post by armyman12345 »

AFADoomer wrote:
armyman12345 wrote:I destroyed Hans Grosse with the machine gun EDIT: I destroyed him with the pistol!
It's much easier to aim with the mouse than it was in the original game... So you can snipe at him from a distance with any bullet attack weapon while his attacks 'miss' from the range. It makes things much easier. Try playing with just the keyboard for 'old-school' challenge.
I used the keyboard...

also, I was very far away from him and instead of shooting, he walked towards me.
User avatar
AFADoomer
Posts: 1335
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:18 pm

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (Version 2.0)

Post by AFADoomer »

armyman12345 wrote:I used the keyboard...

also, I was very far away from him and instead of shooting, he walked towards me.
The walking towards you is normal... Though he should walk diagonally back and forth, not in a straight line (haven't been able to figure out how to change that, yet).

Can you try with the latest SVN version (http://www.afadoomer.com/wolf3d/svn/Dis ... Wolf3D.zip)? I've added range checks for attack strength, based on the Wolf source code (Enemy attacks already take distance into account, due to using A_WolfAttack, but player weapons did not).
User avatar
armyman12345
Posts: 278
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 11:39 am
Location: Jabba's Palace

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (Version 2.0)

Post by armyman12345 »

AFADoomer wrote:
armyman12345 wrote:I used the keyboard...

also, I was very far away from him and instead of shooting, he walked towards me.
The walking towards you is normal... Though he should walk diagonally back and forth, not in a straight line (haven't been able to figure out how to change that, yet).

Can you try with the latest SVN version (http://www.afadoomer.com/wolf3d/svn/Dis ... Wolf3D.zip)? I've added range checks for attack strength, based on the Wolf source code (Enemy attacks already take distance into account, due to using A_WolfAttack, but player weapons did not).
In the svn version, he walked diagonally back and forth. Are you going to fix it?

Return to “TCs, Full Games, and Other Projects”