RELEASE: Wolfenstein 3D TC Version 3.1

For Total Conversions and projects that don't otherwise fall under the other categories.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
oneofthe8devilz
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 12:23 pm

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (Status Update, p. 54)

Post by oneofthe8devilz »

Try using +map instead of -warp... The levels were renamed as E?L? instead of E?M? a while back... So 'zdoom.exe -warp 1 1' becomes 'zdoom.exe +map e1l1'.
Works great, thanks a lot ! :)
oneofthe8devilz
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 12:23 pm

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (Status Update, p. 54)

Post by oneofthe8devilz »

Added angled sprites for the "Player", "SA Soldier", "SS Soldier" and the "K9 Dog"... just finished playtesting across the internet and it works really great so far...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iZAY1sJkUuE

I have contacted UnTrustable and as soon as he gives his go I can start providing the Wolfenstein 3D TC project with steady updates as I keep patching up all enemies.
User avatar
UnTrustable
Posts: 757
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 11:34 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (Status Update, p. 54)

Post by UnTrustable »

Certainly i grand you guys a GO.
I mean :P what pleasure do i get when all the works that i have done, will not be used :P

If only one of you can help me with some background transparancy with Otto, then Otto will be available too.
http://forum.zdoom.org/viewtopic.php?f=19&t=33447&start=15#p689145
One Wolfenstein 3D Boss - FettGesight to go.
User avatar
AFADoomer
Posts: 1336
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:18 pm

Wolfenstein 3D TC (Version 2.0)

Post by AFADoomer »

To coincide with the release of a new version of ZDoom, I'm releasing version 2.0 of my Wolf3D TC.

The biggest change with this version is that all 3 of the Spear of Destiny missions have been integrated into the TC. The TC can either be run as before, closely emulating the appearance of Wolf3D and SoD, or can be run as a "consolidated" TC, with the 3 SoD mission sets added as additional episodes on the main episode selection screen.

In addition, this version takes advantage of many newer ZDoom features, including custom CVars to enable a functional highscore screen, optional map markers to allow sprite views of objects and enemies on the automap, modular (non-hard-coded) handling of end-of-episode messages, updated SBARINFO code, more accurately tweaked enemy definitions, and more! A full changelog can be viewed here.

As always, the .zip file is available at my Downloads page on my web site (or here for a direct link).

I recommend installing this version of the TC to a fresh folder, not overwriting an existing version of the TC. Because of the new CVar code, old .ini files may cause errors in loading the TC.

ImageImage
ImageImage
Image
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17452
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (Version 2.0)

Post by Nash »

Holy crap that looks awesome! :O *Downloads*

EDIT: Some weird stuff:

1) Enabling map markers causes the game to print

Code: Select all

1
1
everytime a map is started.

2) The "Get Psyched" screen isn't widescreen compatible (I am seeing black edges in my 16:10 view)

3) Selecting "Return to game" from the menu produces an error: Attempting to open menu of unknown type "CloseMenu"

4) Look up/down should be disabled by default for true Wolf3D-like gameplay!
User avatar
Average
Posts: 626
Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 4:28 am

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (Version 2.0)

Post by Average »

Love the look of the ROTT style automap. Downloading! :)
User avatar
AFADoomer
Posts: 1336
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:18 pm

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (Version 2.0)

Post by AFADoomer »

Nash wrote:EDIT: Some weird stuff:

1) Enabling map markers causes the game to print

Code: Select all

1
1
everytime a map is started.

2) The "Get Psyched" screen isn't widescreen compatible (I am seeing black edges in my 16:10 view)

3) Selecting "Return to game" from the menu produces an error: Attempting to open menu of unknown type "CloseMenu"

4) Look up/down should be disabled by default for true Wolf3D-like gameplay!
#1 is fixed... I missed copying over one updated file after debugging.
#2 is 'fixed'. The black edges are still there (by design), but now the side bars should extend over the hud, framing the whole view.
#3 is pending a probably-not-going-to-be-accepted-at-this-point feature suggestion, but I don't know of any other way to just close the menu from within a menu.
#4 you can do on your own ('m_pitch 0' at the console)... I'll consider adding it to the .cfg in the future, but I *like* having mouselook, despite the inaccuracy.
User avatar
Scroaty79
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 2:25 pm
Location: Somewhere in the great white expanse of Canadeeeerrrr

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (Version 2.0)

Post by Scroaty79 »

Ooo my roommates are going to be thrilled about this, they're all rabid Wolf3d fanatics. -downloads and puts into shared folder for roomies- I might give it a good ol' college try my self just because I like trying different mods every so often. :mrgreen:
yoshi314
Posts: 104
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 12:57 am

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (Version 2.0)

Post by yoshi314 »

how do i reset wolf3d specific menu options to some default values? they are all "unknown" and impossible to change.

is there some console command to reset them to defaults?

edit: i added this to Wolf3D_SoD.cfg :

Code: Select all

set goobers 0

set cl_noinstantswitch 0
set g_nointro 0
set g_momentum 1
set g_maxpushwallmove 2
set g_fastfireballs 1
set g_mapmarkers 0
seems to work fine ( i think ) .
User avatar
AFADoomer
Posts: 1336
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:18 pm

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (Version 2.0)

Post by AFADoomer »

yoshi314 wrote:how do i reset wolf3d specific menu options to some default values? they are all "unknown" and impossible to change.

is there some console command to reset them to defaults?

edit: i added this to Wolf3D_SoD.cfg :

Code: Select all

set goobers 0

set cl_noinstantswitch 0
set g_nointro 0
set g_momentum 1
set g_maxpushwallmove 2
set g_fastfireballs 1
set g_mapmarkers 0
seems to work fine ( i think ) .
You should not have to do that. Are you running ZDoom 2.7.0? Or at least something newer that r4283?
yoshi314
Posts: 104
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 12:57 am

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (Version 2.0)

Post by yoshi314 »

it's a build from 17.04.2013. Maybe it's a bit out of date?

i'll rebuild and see if that helps, with a fresh new config.

edit: more recent build of zdoom works correctly.
User avatar
Ghostbreed
Posts: 1114
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 6:19 am

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (Version 2.0)

Post by Ghostbreed »

Don't know if this has already been ask'n'answered but... is this legal? I mean, we get all six episodes of Wolf3D and SoD for free basically here. Or am I missing something?
Also, I tried to put in the pk7 files to autoload, since the BATs couldn't find gzdoom.exe for some weird reason, and it didn't work.
User avatar
Captain J
 
 
Posts: 16890
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 2:20 am
Location: An ancient Escape Shuttle(No longer active here anymore)

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (Version 2.0)

Post by Captain J »

Ghostbreed wrote:Don't know if this has already been ask'n'answered but... is this legal? I mean, we get all six episodes of Wolf3D and SoD for free basically here. Or am I missing something?
wolf3d had a anniversary and they managed to transplant a full game includes with SOD into html5. just check it out. mine is always moving slowly but there's no flaws what i found.
http://wolf3d.atw.hu/

and what about every custom wolf3d mods from wolfenstein dome? also what about other download site includes wolf3d? i think this mod should be fine.
just good as sins.
Spoiler: anyway about gzdoom is not working, did you added pk7 files like this?;
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Ghostbreed
Posts: 1114
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 6:19 am

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (Version 2.0)

Post by Ghostbreed »

Makes sense, Captain.
And no, I actually wrote them down in INI file that gets generated by GZDoom during first boot.
I'll try it your way once I get home.

EDIT: Worked. Thanks cap!
User avatar
armyman12345
Posts: 278
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 11:39 am
Location: Jabba's Palace

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (Version 2.0)

Post by armyman12345 »

The idclev cheat dosen't seem to work, can somebody tell me how to warp to a map?

Return to “TCs, Full Games, and Other Projects”