Smooth Doom [WIP 2.0 TEST? WOWIE ZOWIE]

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26430
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: Smooth Doom (Now Customizable!)

Post by Enjay »

twinkieman93 wrote:So... just cutting out the extra A_Chase uses should fix it?
No, leave the same number of unaltered A_Chases in place as the original had and then change the others to A_Chase ("",""). That still does the required A_Chase related stuff (i.e. movement will stay smooth) but will not try to send the enemy away to an attack state sequence.

Also, having extra instances of A_Chase could mean that a floating enemy, such as a Caco, changes height more quickly than normal. If you find this happening, use the FloatSpeed property to adjust it. With my enemies that call A_Chase frequently, FloatSpeed 1.5 works pretty well but play with the values to see what works for you. (The Caco has a default of 8 I believe.)
User avatar
NeuralStunner
 
 
Posts: 12301
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:04 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: capital N, capital S, no space

Re: Smooth Doom (Now Customizable!)

Post by NeuralStunner »

Something to keep in mind, though: Extra chases will make the monster turn at hilarious speeds. While I can't varify this, it might also affect "pathing". (When encountering an obstacle and moving away to find some way around it, you may find the monster returning to a direct route-to-target sooner than they should. This would make Demons in particular get stuck and useless more easily.)

I don't think there would be any way around that short of an A_Chase flag to force the actor to only step forward.
NiGHTMARE
Posts: 3463
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 8:39 am

Re: Smooth Doom (Now Customizable!)

Post by NiGHTMARE »

I did a quick test to see how easy it would be to make the fire textures smoother. Here's a wad which increases FIREBLUx and FIRELAVx to 16 frames each:

http://www.mediafire.com/download/scdkj ... imated.wad

I only briefly checked them in-game, so I'm not sure if they're animated 100% correctly.

On a related note some of the smoothed liquids seem too bright, particularly the blood and nukage. I might have a go at giving them their proper shades.
Flynn Taggart
Posts: 207
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 6:59 pm

Re: Smooth Doom (Now Customizable!)

Post by Flynn Taggart »

Do you plan to finish the Doomguy hud face animations? as of now his head gets slightly larger when he takes damage, obtains a new weapon, or enters degreelessness mode since you shrunk it a bit. Also this is a minor nitpick but I noticed the Heavy Weapon Dude fires at a very slight slower speed probably due to the change in animation. And I also noticed a bug after the player takes damage it no longer plays his walk animation.

Also found these on the Zandronum forums if you're particularly interested for in-between frames for switches: http://zandronum.com/forum/showthread.p ... 1#pid38852

Also I think the fire on the torches, flaming barrels, and etc. should be changed because it doesn't mesh together all to well, IMO.
Last edited by Flynn Taggart on Thu May 08, 2014 3:10 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
DrMoney
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2013 11:42 pm

Re: Smooth Doom (Now Customizable!)

Post by DrMoney »

Any chance of a Monsters Only offshoot of this? It's not playing nice with my other mods and I can't figure out how to edit the rest of the stuff out. Thanks!
User avatar
Yutrzenika
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 8:45 pm

Re: Smooth Doom (Now Customizable!)

Post by Yutrzenika »

So I'm playing through with GZDoom, the red blood drops don't appear to work, but the green and blue ones do.
User avatar
Jaxxoon R
Posts: 772
Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 7:22 pm

Re: Smooth Doom (Now Customizable!)

Post by Jaxxoon R »

The casings tend to get stuck on lifts and float in the air when they land next to thin platforms.
User avatar
Gifty
Posts: 615
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2013 8:21 pm

Re: Smooth Doom (Now Customizable!)

Post by Gifty »

Update just went up addressing several things you guys have mentioned; bullet casings behave a lot more naturally now, and I've also added dummy frames to the mugshot to prevent it from changing size in GZDoom mode, just as a temporary measure until I can properly finish it. More fixes in the changelog.

Many, many many MANY thanks to NiGHTMARE for the beautiful texturework (SMOOTH FIREBLU; MY DREAMS ARE FULFILLED!), and to Zrrion whose liquid flats I've finally managed to cram into the terrain file (I would have done it sooner but I know nothing about texture lumps and I had to hackjob it together by trial and error). I said earlier that I wasn't looking for new liquid textures, but it turned out Zrrion's were better and not overly bright like the old ones, as NiGHTMARE rightly observed. The nuke/blood fall textures are also dramatically better, I think.

Aside from that, I've continued faffing around with stupid extras, go and see what they are! I'm quite fond of these ones. Smooth switches are the next order of business, and infinity plus-one thanks to Flynn for tracking those down. I've been looking for them!
DrMoney wrote:Any chance of a Monsters Only offshoot of this? It's not playing nice with my other mods and I can't figure out how to edit the rest of the stuff out. Thanks!
I'm really trying to avoid splitting the mod up, but this is looking more and more likely, unless I can learn how to write a magic script that will shut off the weapons decorate.
Yutrzenika wrote:So I'm playing through with GZDoom, the red blood drops don't appear to work, but the green and blue ones do.
I was having this issue as well, but recently it seems to have inadvertently resolved itself. Try the latest version and let me know if you're still getting it.
User avatar
Average
Posts: 626
Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 4:28 am

Re: Smooth Doom (Now Customizable!)

Post by Average »

Thanks for a new update (and thanks for the Doom 64 chainsaw!). I've downloaded the new version but there's an issue with at least one of the textures. I tried TNT.wad and the floor and ceiling are a warping texture and it's the same issue in NRFTL too. I'm sure it's something easy to fix though.

Also, just a nitpick about the flames on the torches. There's a slight 'hiccup' between two of the frames. It's tiny and only noticeable when you look for it but a I'm a geeky pedant so what would anyone expect!
Flynn Taggart
Posts: 207
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 6:59 pm

Re: Smooth Doom (Now Customizable!)

Post by Flynn Taggart »

Good job on the new release. The new liquids look great and now Mt. Erebus looks pretty crazy with the new FIREBLU animation. I also spotted a bug with rockets where they always cause the player and monsters to gib even if they don't take enough damage to cause gibbing. Also just a random idea, but have you given thought about doing smooth Ultimate Doom intermission animations?
Average wrote:I've downloaded the new version but there's an issue with at least one of the textures. I tried TNT.wad and the floor and ceiling are a warping texture and it's the same issue in NRFTL too. I'm sure it's something easy to fix though.
I've seen this too on MAP06 and MAP30 of Doom II. Possibly because of the extra slime animations overriding the SLIME09-16 flats already in Doom II/Final Doom.
User avatar
Jaxxoon R
Posts: 772
Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 7:22 pm

Re: Smooth Doom (Now Customizable!)

Post by Jaxxoon R »

That D64 Shotgun is one sexy beast of a weapon, but why do spectres use the pinkies' sound definitions instead of their own? You know... "spectre/sight" and such.
User avatar
Gifty
Posts: 615
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2013 8:21 pm

Re: Smooth Doom (Now Customizable!)

Post by Gifty »

Jesus, what an oversight on those SLIME textures. Hotfix is live, sorry about that.
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26430
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: Smooth Doom (Now Customizable!)

Post by Enjay »

I was woondering, can effects like the FIREBLU not be managed with a TEXTURES file setting things up to fade from one patch to another rather than having to include new graphics?
Durrsly

Re: Smooth Doom (Now Customizable!)

Post by Durrsly »

Has anyone else had the issue where when starting up the mod it has a fatal error stating:

Code: Select all

Execution could not continue.

Script error, "SmoothDoom.pk3:player.txt" line 72:
Unexpected token string constant "64SawToggle"
I tried this with The Ultimate Doom and Doom II in GZDoom and Zandronum.
User avatar
Gifty
Posts: 615
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2013 8:21 pm

Re: Smooth Doom (Now Customizable!)

Post by Gifty »

That's weird; are you sure your Zdoom is up to date and that you're not accidentally autoloading any other mods? Also I should probably make an official statement that I don't test for Zandronum compatibility, nor will I.

Sorry I've gone dark recently; sitrep is I'm working on smooth switches and getting the last of the silly mutators out of my system (hopefully (for a while (maybe))). If anyone has noticed the slime 5-8 liquids not animating, I've already got a fix for that and it'll go up next update.

Return to “Gameplay Mods”