Widescreen statusbars (v2206)

For high-res texture/sprite projects, sprite-fix patches, music add-ons, music randomizers, and other graphic/sound-only projects.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
Posts: 1316
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 12:29 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Widescreen statusbars (v2206)

Post by NightFright »

You aren't even in widescreen mode judging from that screenshot. In that case you wouldn't need any of the statusbars from this project, TBH.
User avatar
Fluuschoen
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2022 2:44 pm
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10 Home x64

Re: Widescreen statusbars (v2206)

Post by Fluuschoen »

NightFright wrote: Thu Nov 10, 2022 3:51 pm You aren't even in widescreen mode judging from that screenshot. In that case you wouldn't need any of the statusbars from this project, TBH.
It works just as well with 4:3, and I would need it, because I'd like to change the status bar. STARMS is buggy in wide screen as well.
User avatar
Delfino Furioso
Posts: 89
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2021 3:21 pm

Re: Widescreen statusbars (v2206)

Post by Delfino Furioso »

Fluuschoen wrote: Thu Nov 10, 2022 1:04 pm
Delfino Furioso wrote: Thu Nov 10, 2022 11:35 am add "+LogFile .\path\to\file.log" to your gzdoom command line
then post the resulting file here
It's DSDA-Doom v0.24.2.
then launch dsda manually from a command prompt, adding "1> .\path\to\file.log 2>&1" at the end of the command line
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
Posts: 1316
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 12:29 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Widescreen statusbars (v2206)

Post by NightFright »

Looks like the mystery is solved. He is trying to use widescreen statusbar replacements with pwads that don't include an STBAR lump on their own. That means the original STARMS is used, which is the expected behavior.

I'm afraid it's not meant to work like that, m8. However, you can fix it by manually copying the proper STARMS lump into the statusbar replacement wad, if you really need it that badly.
User avatar
Fluuschoen
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2022 2:44 pm
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10 Home x64

Re: Widescreen statusbars (v2206)

Post by Fluuschoen »

NightFright wrote: Sat Nov 12, 2022 5:44 pm Looks like the mystery is solved. He is trying to use widescreen statusbar replacements with pwads that don't include an STBAR lump on their own. That means the original STARMS is used, which is the expected behavior.

I'm afraid it's not meant to work like that, m8. However, you can fix it by manually copying the proper STARMS lump into the statusbar replacement wad, if you really need it that badly.
Yup, already did that, and it works!

doom1239b.jpg

Sorry, didn't know that STARMS is seperate from STBAR, hence I thought it's some kind of bug, and this is why I also didn't specifiy that I'd like to use it with all WADs, that have the original STBAR.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Return to “Graphic/Audio Patches”