Special Operations: Action Tactical mod [Beta 2 Release!]

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
Greenmarine
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 10:03 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Special Operations: Action Tactical mod [Beta 1 Release!

Post by Greenmarine »

lizardcommando wrote:That just ended up crashing ZDoom :/

Ok, oddly enough ... The ammo is being taken from BOTH the primary weapon and the grenade themselves. I don't know how the hell I didn't notice that before... Ugh, this is annoying to try and fix. >_<
That's because you have the "Use Ammo" flag set to 1 in the FireCustomMissile frame. After that you tell it to reduce your grenade count by one as well. Set the "Use Ammo" variable to 0 to fix that problem. As for crashing, that's because I was indeed [censored word], and your frame jump should probably skip a goto command like :

TNT1 A 0 A_JumpIfInventory("grenadepickup", 1, 1)
goto Ready
GRWU AB 3

Or something like that. With the frame jump set to 2, it's just skipping to the B frame of GRWU. Though I can't think of why it would crash the game the other way - unless of course we're forgetting to remove the "tossgrenade" inventory item after canceling the attack - that would create an infinite loop of going from Ready to Throw to Ready, causing an exception.
Vaecrius wrote:stuff
With all due respect, I believe the real problem I caused is due to the infinite loop from not removing the inventory item that activates the grenade tossing animation!
User avatar
Matt
Posts: 9696
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 5:37 pm
Preferred Pronouns: They/Them
Operating System Version (Optional): Debian Bullseye
Location: Gotham City SAR, Wyld-Lands of the Lotus People, Dominionist PetroConfederacy of Saudi Canadia

Re: Special Operations: Action Tactical mod [Beta 1 Release!

Post by Matt »

I suspect it's crashing because the check for going into the GrenadeThrow state is made in the ready state before any non-zero frames are played, resulting in a zero-length loop if there is no ammo.

My last post in this thread has the workaround, or otherwise it might just be better to have a 1-tic WeaponReady call in the ready state before all these jump checks are made.

EDIT:
With all due respect, I believe the real problem I caused is due to the infinite loop from not removing the inventory item that activates the grenade tossing animation!
That too! Will edit my previous post.
User avatar
Greenmarine
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 10:03 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Special Operations: Action Tactical mod [Beta 1 Release!

Post by Greenmarine »

You see I am dumb, but I am not so dumb :)
User avatar
lizardcommando
Posts: 1489
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 12:24 pm
Location: Boringland, California

Re: Special Operations: Action Tactical mod [Beta 1 Release!

Post by lizardcommando »

Alright, it looks like that code did the trick. I also figured out how to fix the ammo being taken from the primary weapon too!

So it turns I needed to comment out the Weapon.AmmoUse thing and put in the A_TakeInventory("ammo",1) for it. I just replace "ammo" with whatever ammo type the current weapon uses.

Nope, that method basically gives my primary weapons unlimited ammo. So now it's back to where the grenade ammo is completely dependant on the primary weapon's ammo. I need help figuring that problem out.
User avatar
Greenmarine
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 10:03 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Special Operations: Action Tactical mod [Beta 1 Release!

Post by Greenmarine »

The grenade is dependent on the primary weapon's ammo, because in the projectile spawn code you set the "UseAmmo" flag to 1. It needs to be set to zero.

GREN G 2 A_FireCustomMissile("GrenadeObj",-1,1,3,2)

The bolded number needs to be set to zero.

After that, you need to tell the animation to JumpIfInventory to check if there's any left before finishing the attack, then you need to decrease the grenade ammo count by one via takeinventory after the attack has concluded. Simple as that.
User avatar
lizardcommando
Posts: 1489
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 12:24 pm
Location: Boringland, California

Re: Special Operations: Action Tactical mod [Beta 1 Release!

Post by lizardcommando »

Awesome! It works now! Thank you! :D
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26540
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: Special Operations: Action Tactical mod [Beta 1 Release!

Post by Enjay »

I thought I'd posted about this already but I don't see my post so I guess not - I love the laser guided rocket. I don't think I've seen anything quite like it before. It's superb.
User avatar
TypeSaucy
Posts: 1000
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 9:31 am

Re: Special Operations: Action Tactical mod [Beta 1 Release!

Post by TypeSaucy »

i have to say... the laser-guided rockets is so far my favorite weapon. i don't see this as a big problem, but when i'm shooting a laser-guided rocket, and i do a 180 turn, the rocket hits you from behind.
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26540
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: Special Operations: Action Tactical mod [Beta 1 Release!

Post by Enjay »

Heh, I think that should get filed under "don't do that". ;)
User avatar
lizardcommando
Posts: 1489
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 12:24 pm
Location: Boringland, California

Re: Special Operations: Action Tactical mod [Beta 1 Release!

Post by lizardcommando »

Also, don't straferun forward while using the secondary function for the Laser-Guided Rocket Launcher. You'll blow yourself up.
Last edited by lizardcommando on Sun Aug 26, 2012 12:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Zombieguy
Posts: 1880
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 4:38 pm
Location: C:\Earth>

Re: Special Operations: Action Tactical mod [Beta 1 Release!

Post by Zombieguy »

Wouldn't that happen if you shot a regular rocket too? Because if the rocket is the same speed as the standard Doom rocket, then you shouldn't have any problem running past it.
User avatar
lizardcommando
Posts: 1489
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 12:24 pm
Location: Boringland, California

Re: Special Operations: Action Tactical mod [Beta 2 Release!

Post by lizardcommando »

In this mod? The rocket fired with the primary mode is a little faster than the Doom rocket.

Anyways, I think it's time to release Beta 2 of this mod:

*New item, hand-grenades! Default Key is 'F' to throw grenade!
*Added new item-pickup sounds for the Laser-Point Rocket launcher.
*The cell and cellpack have been changed to proper graphics.
*Tweaked the spread and strength for the Combat Shotgun.

The biggest feature added in this version would be the hand grenades.

Image
Hand Grenades
Just like in Call of Duty 4, you can throw a grenades while using any weapon. These things bounce pretty far so be careful when you toss it, otherwise they might bounce back and kill you!

Random Gameplay video!


Here's the beta: http://files.drdteam.org/index.php/file ... ops-b2.zip
Last edited by lizardcommando on Mon Aug 27, 2012 8:33 am, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
Matt
Posts: 9696
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 5:37 pm
Preferred Pronouns: They/Them
Operating System Version (Optional): Debian Bullseye
Location: Gotham City SAR, Wyld-Lands of the Lotus People, Dominionist PetroConfederacy of Saudi Canadia

Re: Special Operations: Action Tactical mod [Beta 2 Release!

Post by Matt »

Why a new key and not just using the item that appears in your inventory? :|

And why are the weapon sounds in stereo?
User avatar
lizardcommando
Posts: 1489
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 12:24 pm
Location: Boringland, California

Re: Special Operations: Action Tactical mod [Beta 2 Release!

Post by lizardcommando »

I plan on having recovery and support items appear in the inventory and grenades be their own separate thing. The sounds were originally in stereo. Is it a bad thing to have it in stereo?
User avatar
Matt
Posts: 9696
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 5:37 pm
Preferred Pronouns: They/Them
Operating System Version (Optional): Debian Bullseye
Location: Gotham City SAR, Wyld-Lands of the Lotus People, Dominionist PetroConfederacy of Saudi Canadia

Re: Special Operations: Action Tactical mod [Beta 2 Release!

Post by Matt »

IIRC it does interfere with the engine being able to play a locatable sound ingame.

In any event, I only really noticed this with the shotgun always sounding like it was being fired somewhere to my left.

Return to “Gameplay Mods”