Special Operations: Action Tactical mod [Beta 2 Release!]

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
lizardcommando
Posts: 1489
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 12:24 pm
Location: Boringland, California

Re: Special Operations: Action Tactical mod [Beta 1 Release!

Post by lizardcommando »

Strange, I thought I changed it to 5. Are you using the Beta 1 version or the Alpha version? I know that the Alpha version, that pickup code was messed up but it should have been fixed in Beta 1. Also, that just reminded me that I completely forgot to change the pickup sound for that Rocket Launcher.
Zombieguy
Posts: 1880
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 4:38 pm
Location: C:\Earth>

Re: Special Operations: Action Tactical mod [Beta 1 Release!

Post by Zombieguy »

Oh, you changed it in the Beta version? I haven't downloaded the Beta version yet, I'm using the Alpha version.
User avatar
Bitterman
Posts: 564
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2012 12:06 pm
Location: Stranded on Lh'owon

Re: Special Operations: Action Tactical mod [Beta 1 Release!

Post by Bitterman »

Played it, not so bad keep it up!
User avatar
-Ghost-
Posts: 1786
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 4:58 pm

Re: Special Operations: Action Tactical mod [Beta 1 Release!

Post by -Ghost- »

I like it so far. The combat shotgun feels like it has a little too much spread though. Maybe tighten it slightly?
Zombieguy
Posts: 1880
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 4:38 pm
Location: C:\Earth>

Re: Special Operations: Action Tactical mod [Beta 1 Release!

Post by Zombieguy »

It does feel like a little too much spread, actually.
User avatar
lizardcommando
Posts: 1489
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 12:24 pm
Location: Boringland, California

Re: Special Operations: Action Tactical mod [Beta 1 Release!

Post by lizardcommando »

I could probably tighten it up a tiny bit. I purposely left the spread for the combat shotgun to be wide since that gun is supposed to fill in the SSG's role of being the perfect CQB gun. The Model 1887 fills the Doom Shotgun's role of being the "sorta" sniper-rifle at medium range firefights.

Alright, so I'm trying to figure out how to have grenades you can use at any time while using any weapon like in Call of Duty 4, however, I want it so that it'll play the animation of the player throwing the grenade. How would I go about and doing that?
User avatar
-Ghost-
Posts: 1786
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 4:58 pm

Re: Special Operations: Action Tactical mod [Beta 1 Release!

Post by -Ghost- »

It might need a bit more punch then, since it feels like it's just a weaker version of the 1887 right now.
Zombieguy
Posts: 1880
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 4:38 pm
Location: C:\Earth>

Re: Special Operations: Action Tactical mod [Beta 1 Release!

Post by Zombieguy »

lizardcommando wrote:Alright, so I'm trying to figure out how to have grenades you can use at any time while using any weapon like in Call of Duty 4, however, I want it so that it'll play the animation of the player throwing the grenade. How would I go about and doing that?
GZDoom is tricky when it comes to this. Download Brutal Doom, and take a peek at the PLAYER lump. You'll probably get the idea. This is one of the lines in the player's spawn state:

Code: Select all

TNT1 A 0 A_JumpIfInventory("FistsSelected", 1, "FistsStand")
Unfortunately I can't go into detail about this.
Last edited by Zombieguy on Wed Aug 22, 2012 10:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
lizardcommando
Posts: 1489
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 12:24 pm
Location: Boringland, California

Re: Special Operations: Action Tactical mod [Beta 1 Release!

Post by lizardcommando »

Yeah, I suppose I could boost up the strength for the Combat Shotgun. It was pretty hard to try and balance these two guns.
User avatar
Matt
Posts: 9696
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 5:37 pm
Preferred Pronouns: They/Them
Operating System Version (Optional): Debian Bullseye
Location: Gotham City SAR, Wyld-Lands of the Lotus People, Dominionist PetroConfederacy of Saudi Canadia

Re: Special Operations: Action Tactical mod [Beta 1 Release!

Post by Matt »

lizardcommando wrote:Alright, so I'm trying to figure out how to have grenades you can use at any time while using any weapon like in Call of Duty 4, however, I want it so that it'll play the animation of the player throwing the grenade. How would I go about and doing that?
In the Mutiny (and Hexen come to think of it) I'm pretty sure it's a CustomInventory "Use" state that shoots the projectile. This is the simplest method but the grenade spawns instantly without any animation.

To have a weapon animation you can either code in a grenade-throwing state for every weapon, or figure out a way to instantly switch to a grenade weapon and back to your old weapon using a mix of inventory flags and ACS (again for every weapon, but at least the actual state is in one weapon only so you don't have to edit every single weapon every time you want to adjust the grenade throw).
User avatar
lizardcommando
Posts: 1489
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 12:24 pm
Location: Boringland, California

Re: Special Operations: Action Tactical mod [Beta 1 Release!

Post by lizardcommando »

Alright, I kinda got the grenades to work. I've only got it to function with the Colt 1911 so far, but Vaecrius's first method was what I'm going with. Unfortunately, I seem to be running into a small problem. I end up having unlimited grenades. Not sure what I'm missing here:

Code: Select all

ACTOR Colt1911 : Weapon replaces Pistol
{
   +NOALERT
   +NOAUTOFIRE
  Weapon.SelectionOrder 1000
  Weapon.AmmoUse 1
  Weapon.AmmoUse2 0 
  Weapon.SlotNumber 2
  Weapon.AmmoGive 10
  Weapon.AmmoType "Clip"
     //AttackSound "weapons/coltfire"  
  Obituary "%o was capped by %k's Colt 1911."
  +WEAPON.WIMPY_WEAPON
  Inventory.Pickupmessage "Picked up a Colt 1911."
  States
  {
  Ready:
    TNT1 A 0 A_JumpIfInventory("TossGrenade", 1, "GrenadeThrow")
    1911 A 1 A_WeaponReady
    Loop
  Deselect:
    1911 A 1 A_Lower
    Loop
  Select:
    1911 A 1 A_Raise
    Loop
  Fire:
    1911 A 1
	1911 B 0 A_AlertMonsters
	1911 B 1 Bright A_PlayWeaponSound("weapons/coltfire")
    1911 B 1 Bright A_FireBullets(3,2,-1,7,"BULLETPUFF",1,0)
    1911 C 1
    1911 D 2
    1911 E 1
    1911 D 1
	Goto Ready
  GrenadeThrow:
        TNT1 A 0 A_JumpIfInventory("grenadepickup", 1, 2)
		GRWU AB 3
        GREN ABC 3
        GREN D 4 A_PlayWeaponSound("weapons/pinpull")
        GREN E 3
		TNT1 A 6
        GREN F 2 A_PlayWeaponSound("weapons/grenadethrow")  
        GREN G 2 A_FireCustomMissile("GrenadeObj",-1,1,3,2)
		TNT1 A 0 A_TakeInventory("grenadepickup",1,TIF_NOTAKEINFINITE)
        GREN HI 2
        TNT1 A 4
        Goto Ready
  AltFire:
    KICK A 2 A_PlayWeaponSound("weapons/kickgo")
    KICK B 2
    KICK C 0 A_Recoil(-5)
	KICK C 2 A_CUSTOMPUNCH(10,0,0,"KickPuff")
	KICK B 3
 Goto Ready
  Spawn:
    PIST A -1
    Stop
  }
}
User avatar
lizardcommando
Posts: 1489
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 12:24 pm
Location: Boringland, California

Re: Special Operations: Action Tactical mod [Beta 1 Release!

Post by lizardcommando »

Hey guys, I've got another question. So why is it bad to do the "Sister weapon" route for berserk weapons? I wanted it to powerup not only the fists and its altfire kick attack, but the knife as well.
User avatar
Greenmarine
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 10:03 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Special Operations: Action Tactical mod [Beta 1 Release!

Post by Greenmarine »

I assume that the "JumpifInventory" at the beginning of GrenadeThrow is meant to check if you have any explosives left before you toss them, but it seems that it merely skips a couple frames - I think what you meant to do was have the JumpIfInventory skip a frame that cancels the attack.

IE

GrenadeThrow:
TNT1 A 0 A_JumpIfInventory("grenadepickup", 1, 2)
GRWU AB 3 A_Jump(256, "ready") //cancel attack if there are no more grenades left
GREN ABC 3 // continue attack
etc

I could be just too tired/stupid at this moment though.
User avatar
lizardcommando
Posts: 1489
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 12:24 pm
Location: Boringland, California

Re: Special Operations: Action Tactical mod [Beta 1 Release!

Post by lizardcommando »

That just ended up crashing ZDoom :/

Ok, oddly enough, I don't know how I ended up not catching this at all, but the coding seems to be dependent on the primary weapon's ammunition. For example, the ammo is being taken from the Colt 1911 rather than the grenades themselves. The ammo is being taken from BOTH the primary weapon and the grenade themselves. I don't know how the hell I didn't notice that before... Ugh, this is annoying to try and fix. >_<
User avatar
Matt
Posts: 9696
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 5:37 pm
Preferred Pronouns: They/Them
Operating System Version (Optional): Debian Bullseye
Location: Gotham City SAR, Wyld-Lands of the Lotus People, Dominionist PetroConfederacy of Saudi Canadia

Re: Special Operations: Action Tactical mod [Beta 1 Release!

Post by Matt »

1. Never copypaste another person's code into a main project until you understand every line of code you are pasting.
1.1. If you ever see an A_Jump/Check with a number instead of a named state, never take anything for granted that it would work as planned, without double-checking where everything jumps to.
2. Do a string search for A_Jump and A_Check and check all jump states.
3A. If you set an A_Jump/Check call on a non-zero length frame and it does in fact jump, the jump occurs before the length of the frame such that you do not see the calling frame at all.
3B. Always, always check jumps to and from "ready", "spawn", "see" or other frequently defaulted-to states to make sure that you never end up in a zero-length loop.

Greenmarine's suggestion crashes because of 3A and 3B.
Here's my version, which moves the A_Jump/Ready call to after the AB frames have finished playing:

Code: Select all

GrenadeThrow:
  TNT1 A 0 A_JumpIfInventory("grenadepickup", 1, "GrenadeReallyThrow")
  GRWU AB 3 //play these frames and cancel attack, if there are no more grenades left
  TNT1 A 0 A_TakeInventory("GrenadeThrowFlagOrWhateverYouNamedIt",999999) //EDIT: gotta remove this or you're stuck in a loop, zero or otherwise
  TNT1 A 0 A_Jump(256,"Ready")
GrenadeReallyThrow:
  GREN ABC 3 // continue attack
  ...
Last edited by Matt on Fri Aug 24, 2012 12:58 am, edited 3 times in total.

Return to “Gameplay Mods”