Maps of Chaos - Overkill RC1 out!

New maps, and other projects whose primary focus is new maps, belong here.

Note: This forum, and all forums below it, are not for questions or troubleshooting! Threads created here are for active projects only! If you have questions please feel free to use the Editing subforums or General forum.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
Valherran
Posts: 1391
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 12:58 pm

Re: Brutalized Doom & Doom 2 - Overkill RC1 out!

Post by Valherran »

Nems wrote:
Mr. Chris wrote:I forgot to mention that this project is an addon under the Brutal Doom ModDB page? Someone else uploaded the first RC over there.
Yeah, TheUnbeholden has uploaded quite a few Doom/2 mods to MODDB without the permission of their authors and many of said authors weren't pleased about it. x:
That's because they don't read the fine print:
If the author does not want this published here, PM me to take it down.
A vast majority of the WADs he put up are old, forgotten, or overlooked. Which is why he does it.
User avatar
Armaetus
Posts: 1252
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 3:55 pm
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: New York State

Re: Brutalized Doom & Doom 2 - Overkill RC1 out!

Post by Armaetus »

I would prefer having control of my addon page there, so I have sent ModDB an email to see if I can sort this out so the addon shows up on my page, not Unbeholden's.
User avatar
wildweasel
Moderator Team Lead
Posts: 21579
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Win10 22H2, Win11 22H2, macOS 11.7
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Brutalized Doom & Doom 2 - Overkill RC1 out!

Post by wildweasel »

Valherran wrote:A vast majority of the WADs he put up are old, forgotten, or overlooked. Which is why he does it.
Which does not explain why he uploaded my Accessories to Murder mod.
User avatar
Armaetus
Posts: 1252
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 3:55 pm
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: New York State

Re: Brutalized Doom & Doom 2 - Overkill RC1 out!

Post by Armaetus »

wildweasel wrote:
Valherran wrote:A vast majority of the WADs he put up are old, forgotten, or overlooked. Which is why he does it.
Which does not explain why he uploaded my Accessories to Murder mod.
Oh he did that to you too I see, it doesn't hurt to sent ModDB an email regarding your upload w/o permission. I know I don't mind the exposure but he could have at least asked me before doing so.
User avatar
Valherran
Posts: 1391
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 12:58 pm

Re: Brutalized Doom & Doom 2 - Overkill RC1 out!

Post by Valherran »

Mr. Chris wrote:
wildweasel wrote:
Valherran wrote:A vast majority of the WADs he put up are old, forgotten, or overlooked. Which is why he does it.
Which does not explain why he uploaded my Accessories to Murder mod.
Oh he did that to you too I see, it doesn't hurt to sent ModDB an email regarding your upload w/o permission. I know I don't mind the exposure but he could have at least asked me before doing so.
He exposes the MOD and provides the public links to DL it and displays the credits.
User avatar
wildweasel
Moderator Team Lead
Posts: 21579
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Win10 22H2, Win11 22H2, macOS 11.7
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Brutalized Doom & Doom 2 - Overkill RC1 out!

Post by wildweasel »

If I want my mods on ModDB, I will put them up myself. I'm not against the exposure, but I really, really wish he'd ask permission!
User avatar
The Zombie Killer
Posts: 1528
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 12:06 am
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

Re: Brutalized Doom & Doom 2 - Overkill RC1 out!

Post by The Zombie Killer »

wildweasel wrote:If I want my mods on ModDB, I will put them up myself. I'm not against the exposure, but I really, really wish he'd ask permission!
Quoted for truth
User avatar
Armaetus
Posts: 1252
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 3:55 pm
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: New York State

Re: Brutalized Doom & Doom 2 - Overkill RC1 out!

Post by Armaetus »

New region of E3M3 to explore..

Image
LegendaryFalco
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 11:45 pm

Re: Brutalized Doom & Doom 2 - Overkill RC1 out!

Post by LegendaryFalco »

Mr. Chris wrote:New region of E3M3 to explore..

Image
good stuff looking foward to the rest of it
User avatar
Woolie Wool
Posts: 1712
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2003 3:36 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Brutalized Doom & Doom 2 - Overkill RC1 out!

Post by Woolie Wool »

The red/blue color contrast is ghastly. I would highly recommend retexturing that room.
User avatar
Armaetus
Posts: 1252
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 3:55 pm
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: New York State

ModDB fucked up

Post by Armaetus »

What about ash black (FLOOR6_2)?

Edit 12/21: There has been some major error in regards my communication to ModDB, whoever changed permissions ended up putting my name in place of Mark's ._. This is really embarrassing. I asked for the addon here that was uploaded to Brutal Doom's page to change TheUnbeholden's name to mine, what they ended up was giving me the Brutal Doom ModDB page. :| I have already replied after seeing the big mistake they did.

TL;DR ModDB accidentally gave me the Brutal Doom page instead of changing a name for an addon for it.

Edit 12/22: Mixup has been resolved. I will have to upload Brutalized Doom & Doom 2 myself so ModDB can remove Unbeholden's copy.
User avatar
Armaetus
Posts: 1252
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 3:55 pm
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: New York State

Re: Brutalized Doom & Doom 2 - Overkill RC1 out!

Post by Armaetus »

I have send a request for Unbeholden's copy of my mod to be removed from the list so my version is the only one there.
thesleeve
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 10:57 am

Re: Brutalized Doom & Doom 2 - Overkill RC1 out!

Post by thesleeve »

Chris, I finally got around to trying this out. Good stuff! I'm a big fan of the outdoor transitional areas. It adds to the immersion.

Playing this on Brutal v19's "Black Metal" difficulty (fast monsters + 50% damage received) is very tough!
...in other words, this is exactly what I was looking for!
User avatar
Armaetus
Posts: 1252
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 3:55 pm
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: New York State

Re: Brutalized Doom & Doom 2 - Overkill RC1 out!

Post by Armaetus »

Glad you enjoyed it.

On another side note, I find it funny that this Unbeholden guy is trying to keep his unauthorized upload of RC1 on ModDB, tho I just uploaded a slightly updated version on there myself (RC 1.2).

On top of that, the description on mine isn't as messy.
thesleeve
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 10:57 am

Re: Brutalized Doom & Doom 2 - Overkill RC1 out!

Post by thesleeve »

Out of curiosity, I checked the total enemy count for the original Doom 2 campaign in UV difficulty mode compared to the Mr. Chris Overkill version of Doom 2. Here's the comparison in case you're interested:

Total enemy count in all 32 maps on UV Difficulty
Doom 2 Original: 3,737
Brutalized Doom 2 Overkill: 7,323

That's roughly double!

I'm a big fan of the use of "back-filling" using monster closets. This keeps it from getting boring when you go back through the same part of the level for the second time. A great example is E1M3 (Toxin Refinery), in which the opening room (with the toxic pit) easily becomes the most challenging part of the level when you pass through it on the way back to the blue door.

Return to “Levels”