The official "ZDoom on Wolfenstein 3D" thread. (aka ECWolf)

Software projects like source ports (3DGE, Eternity, etc), launchers like ZDL, and other useful utilities belong in this forum.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: The official "ZDoom on Wolfenstein 3D" thread. (aka ECWo

Postby Dr. Shotgun » Mon Mar 12, 2018 7:27 pm

Is there a way to prevent this from happening at boot?

Spoiler:
Last edited by Dr. Shotgun on Mon Mar 12, 2018 7:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Dr. Shotgun
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2016

Re: The official "ZDoom on Wolfenstein 3D" thread. (aka ECWo

Postby Blzut3 » Mon Mar 12, 2018 7:32 pm

Given your resized image I can't quite make it out, but are you still using 1.3.2? 1.3.3 uses SDL2 and should center the window.
Blzut3
Pronounced: B-l-zut
 
Joined: 24 Nov 2004

Re: The official "ZDoom on Wolfenstein 3D" thread. (aka ECWo

Postby Dr. Shotgun » Mon Mar 12, 2018 7:51 pm

Blzut3 wrote:Given your resized image I can't quite make it out, but are you still using 1.3.2? 1.3.3 uses SDL2 and should center the window.

Removed the resize.

I only downloaded this a few months ago. I'm not sure which version that is; when I open the file details it says version "0.0.0.0" for some reason.
Dr. Shotgun
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2016

Re: The official "ZDoom on Wolfenstein 3D" thread. (aka ECWo

Postby Blzut3 » Mon Mar 12, 2018 9:07 pm

Considering 1.3.3 was released in 2016 I'm doubting that you really only downloaded a few months ago (unless you downloaded it from an unofficial source for some reason). The version is in the title of the window and also shown on the first screen of the game.
Blzut3
Pronounced: B-l-zut
 
Joined: 24 Nov 2004

Re: The official "ZDoom on Wolfenstein 3D" thread. (aka ECWo

Postby Dr. Shotgun » Mon Mar 12, 2018 9:49 pm

Yeah, it's 1.3.2.

I don't know how that happened. I only got Wolfenstein a few months ago off of GoG. And I downloaded right from the ECWolf page, though I do recall getting confused. I don't remember how or why since the link is right there but...
Dr. Shotgun
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2016

Re: The official "ZDoom on Wolfenstein 3D" thread. (aka ECWo

Postby Dr. Shotgun » Mon May 07, 2018 11:46 am

Sorry for the double post (but in my defense it's been about two months), but what is the status of old mods for ECWolf? I know the page says it's not compatible with wolf4SDL mods, but what about mods for DOS Wolfenstein, such as End of Destiny (which never got a Wolf4SDL port unlike its predecessor)?
Dr. Shotgun
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2016

Re: The official "ZDoom on Wolfenstein 3D" thread. (aka ECWo

Postby Blzut3 » Mon May 07, 2018 11:53 am

The FAQ entry on Wolf4SDL mods also applies to DOS mods. If the mod ships with an exe then it's not a vanilla mod and thus not compatible with ECWolf. If it runs on an unmodified wolf3d.exe then it can work.
Blzut3
Pronounced: B-l-zut
 
Joined: 24 Nov 2004

Re: The official "ZDoom on Wolfenstein 3D" thread. (aka ECWo

Postby Kizoky » Fri May 11, 2018 2:29 am

How does ECWolf handle palettes? Is it possible to replace it or currently it's not supported?
User avatar
Kizoky
Who thought Hugaholics would be a good idea?
 
Joined: 14 Nov 2011
Location: Around weirdos, I'm the biggest weirdo among them
Discord: Kizoky#0375

Re: The official "ZDoom on Wolfenstein 3D" thread. (aka ECWo

Postby Blzut3 » Sat May 12, 2018 12:03 am

The palette code is from ZDoom. Only differences are you'd want to replace WOLFPAL/SPEARPAL/NOAHPAL depending on the game you're modding instead of PLAYPAL and that the COLORMAP lump supports 64 levels of brightness on top of the Doom style 32.
Blzut3
Pronounced: B-l-zut
 
Joined: 24 Nov 2004

Re: The official "ZDoom on Wolfenstein 3D" thread. (aka ECWo

Postby Dr. Shotgun » Thu Jun 14, 2018 3:24 pm

As someone who hasn't played the original DOS release of Wolfenstein 3D, I have to ask if the patrolling AI's pathfinding is supposed to result in them bunching up against a wall or if that's a bug in ECWolf.
Dr. Shotgun
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2016

Re: The official "ZDoom on Wolfenstein 3D" thread. (aka ECWo

Postby Lautum » Sat Jun 16, 2018 11:32 am

I have a question about the floor/ceiling textures. For some reason it is not working in my map (nothing shows up). 3rd plane is enabled, id of the flat is 1.

The texture is named FLAT01 (in flats folder) and defined in translator file like this :

Spoiler:


The mapinfo looks like this :
Spoiler:


Am I missing something ?
Lautum
 
Joined: 16 Jun 2018

Re: The official "ZDoom on Wolfenstein 3D" thread. (aka ECWo

Postby Blzut3 » Sat Jun 16, 2018 12:04 pm

Dr. Shotgun wrote:As someone who hasn't played the original DOS release of Wolfenstein 3D, I have to ask if the patrolling AI's pathfinding is supposed to result in them bunching up against a wall or if that's a bug in ECWolf.

Yeah, I'm not sure what bunching up you're referring to specifically, but there are a few things that cause that. First is that many of the patrol paths are not setup properly so they'll just end at a wall. There is also the case where dogs are placed on a patrol path with guards and they catch up to the guards and stop dead in their path (guards following when they eventually loop around). Thirdly if you're referring to chasing guards then the code that handles what to do if a wall is hit while you're out of sight favors one direction.
Lautum wrote:Am I missing something ?

A map definition to use your new translator. Or change the translator property in the gameinfo block if you want to affect every map including the already defined ones.
Blzut3
Pronounced: B-l-zut
 
Joined: 24 Nov 2004

Re: The official "ZDoom on Wolfenstein 3D" thread. (aka ECWo

Postby Lautum » Sun Jun 17, 2018 5:41 am

Blzut3 wrote:A map definition to use your new translator. Or change the translator property in the gameinfo block if you want to affect every map including the already defined ones.

I did that and it gave me this error in the console : "No tiles found for translation!" I don´t want to add new tiles yet, so should I make an empty block in xlat ?
Lautum
 
Joined: 16 Jun 2018

Re: The official "ZDoom on Wolfenstein 3D" thread. (aka ECWo

Postby Blzut3 » Sun Jun 17, 2018 3:38 pm

Now your issue is that your translator is just the flats. You can include the original translator by just doing:
Code: Select allExpand view
include "$base"
Blzut3
Pronounced: B-l-zut
 
Joined: 24 Nov 2004

Re: The official "ZDoom on Wolfenstein 3D" thread. (aka ECWo

Postby Dr. Shotgun » Sun Jun 17, 2018 5:12 pm

Blzut3 wrote:
Dr. Shotgun wrote:As someone who hasn't played the original DOS release of Wolfenstein 3D, I have to ask if the patrolling AI's pathfinding is supposed to result in them bunching up against a wall or if that's a bug in ECWolf.

Yeah, I'm not sure what bunching up you're referring to specifically, but there are a few things that cause that. First is that many of the patrol paths are not setup properly so they'll just end at a wall. There is also the case where dogs are placed on a patrol path with guards and they catch up to the guards and stop dead in their path (guards following when they eventually loop around).

Thank you.
Dr. Shotgun
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2016

PreviousNext

Return to Software and Ports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: TDRR and 0 guests