New Community Project: "Knee Deep in ZDoom"

News about ZDoom, its child ports, or any closely related projects.
[ZDoom Home] [Documentation (Wiki)] [Official News] [Downloads] [Discord]
[🔎 Google This Site]

[Tap Here for Mobile-Friendly Forums]

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Re: New Community Project:

Postby Remmirath » Sat Sep 27, 2008 2:30 pm

What do you mean with "not playing properly"? I didn't get any issue in cutscenes on GZDoom... :?
User avatar
Remmirath
Slowest mapper on Earth
 
Joined: 23 Dec 2007
Location: My house
Discord: Remmirath#0424
Twitch ID: TheRemmirath
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: New Community Project:

Postby Gendo » Sat Sep 27, 2008 5:51 pm

afair there was only black screen. well, gonna check how it works with the newest version then.

edit: well, the intro works only with software renderer... otherwise that's what i get:

Image
Image
User avatar
Gendo
Marduk
 
Joined: 02 Jun 2005

Re: New Community Project:

Postby Unknown_Assassin » Tue Sep 30, 2008 3:12 pm

Gendo wrote:indeed ;) anyway, i noticed KDiZD's cutscenes not playing properly with gzdoom, anyone else had this issue? (for the time being i stick to playing that wad in regular ZD)


Hmmm...I'm getting this issue too. I'm using GZDoom 1.1.4. :?
User avatar
Unknown_Assassin
Bow down to the Protoss Race!!
 
Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Location: Where dead carcasses lie

Re: New Community Project:

Postby Graf Zahl » Tue Sep 30, 2008 3:27 pm

The more important question is: What graphics card are you using - and what resolution?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: New Community Project:

Postby Unknown_Assassin » Tue Sep 30, 2008 9:53 pm

Graf Zahl wrote:The more important question is: What graphics card are you using - and what resolution?


Graphics card: Mobile Intel(R) 965 Express Chipset Family....this probably is a shitty graphics card, but the computer was at a pretty good price.

Resolution: 1024 X 768
User avatar
Unknown_Assassin
Bow down to the Protoss Race!!
 
Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Location: Where dead carcasses lie

Re: New Community Project:

Postby Rachael » Tue Sep 30, 2008 10:32 pm

Unknown_Assassin wrote:Graphics card: Mobile Intel(R) 965 Express Chipset Family....this probably is a shitty graphics card, but the computer was at a pretty good price.

You would expect better from Intel. You really would. For shame. Real shame.

Seriously. Some laptops have upgradable video cards. You might look into it, if you can, unless you plan on trashing the laptop soon, anyway.
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: New Community Project:

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed Oct 01, 2008 2:14 am

Intel's graphics cards are garbage. This looks like it doesn't properly read the screen buffer for the camera texture. Do in-game monitors work properly?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: New Community Project:

Postby Unknown_Assassin » Wed Oct 01, 2008 2:28 am

Graf Zahl wrote:Intel's graphics cards are garbage. This looks like it doesn't properly read the screen buffer for the camera texture. Do in-game monitors work properly?


Sorry to sound so dumb, but by in-game monitor (my first time with that term :( ), do you mean the ability to play (actually playing them, not loading them) wads like KDiZD in GZDoom without getting a blank screen? If so, then yes.
User avatar
Unknown_Assassin
Bow down to the Protoss Race!!
 
Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Location: Where dead carcasses lie

Re: New Community Project:

Postby Enjay » Wed Oct 01, 2008 2:46 am

I think he may mean the camera textures on the walls in the levels that show you things like what happens when you hit a switch. There's one very early on in Z1M1.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: New Community Project:

Postby Unknown_Assassin » Wed Oct 01, 2008 3:18 am

Enjay wrote:I think he may mean the camera textures on the walls in the levels that show you things like what happens when you hit a switch. There's one very early on in Z1M1.


Oh...that's not a problem. I can see the in-game monitors.
User avatar
Unknown_Assassin
Bow down to the Protoss Race!!
 
Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Location: Where dead carcasses lie

Re: New Community Project:

Postby Gez » Thu Oct 02, 2008 9:09 am

SoulPriestess wrote:You would expect better from Intel. You really would. For shame. Real shame.


You would, but you shouldn't. It's really disappointing from such a brand, but Intel's chipsets are only good at 2D rendering. Whatever they can claim about them, they're totally unsuitable for games or other modern 3D applications. No pixel or vertex shader and a completely screwed Z-buffer are just the beginning.

My advice: get another laptop. Keep this one for doing stuff on Word or Excel and for surfing the net if you want, or give it a nephew/younger sibling/random bum on the streets. And when you get your new laptop, insist categorically on having an ATI or nVidia graphic chipset (either one work okay) but sternly dismiss as rubbish unworthy of even a cursory glance anything with an Intel graphic chipset.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: New Community Project:

Postby Enjay » Thu Oct 02, 2008 9:50 am

The problem is that so many desktop computers and laptops are shipping with those awful graphics cards/chipsets these days. :?
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: New Community Project:

Postby Cutmanmike » Thu Oct 02, 2008 10:00 am

You guys need to stop posting in this forum. That's twice I've got my hopes up for a Randy announcement :(
User avatar
Cutmanmike
Not dead
 
Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Location: United Kingdom

Re: New Community Project:

Postby Gez » Thu Oct 02, 2008 10:11 am

Enjay wrote:The problem is that so many desktop computers and laptops are shipping with those awful graphics cards/chipsets these days. :?

Yeah, but the supply is still greater than the demand, so if you insist and aren't afraid of ordering something or taking a walk to the next shop, you should be able to get a laptop in the same price range with an acceptable card.

I fell in the Intel chipset trap once, and I won't do it ever again. Playing Morrowind when everything flickers randomly in and out of existence because the hardware cannot make up its mind on whether a door is before or beyond a building, if some guy's hair is above or under his head, and so on, is painful. And pathetic.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: New Community Project:

Postby Unknown_Assassin » Thu Oct 02, 2008 2:08 pm

Gez wrote:You would, but you shouldn't. It's really disappointing from such a brand, but Intel's chipsets are only good at 2D rendering. Whatever they can claim about them, they're totally unsuitable for games or other modern 3D applications. No pixel or vertex shader and a completely screwed Z-buffer are just the beginning.

My advice: get another laptop. Keep this one for doing stuff on Word or Excel and for surfing the net if you want, or give it a nephew/younger sibling/random bum on the streets. And when you get your new laptop, insist categorically on having an ATI or nVidia graphic chipset (either one work okay) but sternly dismiss as rubbish unworthy of even a cursory glance anything with an Intel graphic chipset.


That graphics card came with this laptop. I wanted a nvdia GEForce, but that laptop cost about 1300 bucks compared to this 600 something. Plus getting another laptop......... D: I can't afford another one.
User avatar
Unknown_Assassin
Bow down to the Protoss Race!!
 
Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Location: Where dead carcasses lie

PreviousNext

Return to ZDoom (and related) News

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Discord [Bot] and 1 guest