[Survey] How many of you CANNOT run GZDoom's OpenGL renderer

Discuss anything ZDoom-related that doesn't fall into one of the other categories.

Can your computer run GZDoom's OpenGL renderer?

Yes (perfect, smooth performance)
165
71%
No
40
17%
Yes, but very crappy performance (please elaborate)
27
12%
 
Total votes: 232

User avatar
phantombeta
Posts: 2101
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 1:27 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Brazil

Re: [Survey] How many of you CANNOT run GZDoom's OpenGL rend

Post by phantombeta »

@MarisaKirisame
OpenGL 3.x for GZDoom 2.x. Either 3.1 or 3.3 specifically, I think...
User avatar
leileilol
Posts: 4449
Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 10:16 am
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Location: GNU/Hell

Re: [Survey] How many of you CANNOT run GZDoom's OpenGL rend

Post by leileilol »

ibm5155 wrote:Plus, md3 models with a nice transparency support (instead of breaking a model in two for add the alpha parts on it).
That would introduce sorting artifacts.
duke 3d
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 2:07 pm

Re: [Survey] How many of you CANNOT run GZDoom's OpenGL rend

Post by duke 3d »

Screw doom community. Half of it want pure doom, doom without any enhancements. The other half wants doom on steroids, doom with as much advanced features as they can put in.
User avatar
wildweasel
Posts: 21706
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): A lot of them
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Re: [Survey] How many of you CANNOT run GZDoom's OpenGL rend

Post by wildweasel »

duke 3d wrote:Screw doom community. Half of it want pure doom, doom without any enhancements. The other half wants doom on steroids, doom with as much advanced features as they can put in.
You are not being constructive at all. If you don't want to be part of the community, then you need not ask. You can feel free to disappear at any time.
User avatar
Zanieon
Posts: 2059
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 4:13 pm
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: Somewhere in the future

Re: [Survey] How many of you CANNOT run GZDoom's OpenGL rend

Post by Zanieon »

The fact is that he is posting such argument in the ZDoom Forum, which is simply the most advanced Source Port where Newschool stuff happens, saying such thing about "Half of the community" don't counts for ZDoom Community, here, i'm sure that almost everyone uses ZDoom or GZDoom to try new things in Doom than play it originally as it is, because for that, other Source Ports exists such as PrBoom+ or Chocolate Doom.
User avatar
Marisa the Magician
Posts: 3886
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:15 am
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Operating System Version (Optional): (btw I use) Arch
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Vigo, Galicia

Re: [Survey] How many of you CANNOT run GZDoom's OpenGL rend

Post by Marisa the Magician »

I wonder what kind of results I'd get by using llvmpipe.

Edit: Nope, still segfaults.
User avatar
DoomKrakken
Posts: 3487
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 6:45 pm
Location: Plahnit Urff

Re: [Survey] How many of you CANNOT run GZDoom's OpenGL rend

Post by DoomKrakken »

duke 3d wrote:Screw doom community. Half of it want pure doom, doom without any enhancements. The other half wants doom on steroids, doom with as much advanced features as they can put in.
And then there's the one percent that complains about everything he possibly can, and expects Doom and Doom mods to run perfectly on a laptop that's older than the game itself (probably isn't older than Doom... but you get my drift).

Want some cheese and crackers to go with that whine?
FireFish
Posts: 95
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2015 1:34 pm
Location: your screen

Re: [Survey] How many of you CANNOT run GZDoom's OpenGL rend

Post by FireFish »

because of some realy bad luck with my hardware (broken motherboard, power isseus, overheated CPU) i am now on a replacement "ancient" computer without even SSE2... so i cant run this renderer, and i wont be able to for a long time. :mrgreen: :( :cry: :blergh:
User avatar
DoomKrakken
Posts: 3487
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 6:45 pm
Location: Plahnit Urff

Re: [Survey] How many of you CANNOT run GZDoom's OpenGL rend

Post by DoomKrakken »

Ah... that sucks...
User avatar
Aerosplinter
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2017 2:14 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: [Survey] How many of you CANNOT run GZDoom's OpenGL rend

Post by Aerosplinter »

Yes, but now it's crappy performance, because I used to play GZDoom even if my laptop was plain hot. It does work fine on software mode though. My laptop (An HP-15f097nr with an Intel HD Graphics card) is probably NOT designed for AAA games like Overwatch or even Dark Souls, but then again it can, or in this case GZDoom it used to play old games on a decent fps. However for GZDoom on hardware mode: the fps is immediately lowered to a Slideshow at the menu screen. It takes basically 1 minute to confirm something, then when the menu shifts into the game it lasts 5 minutes!
User avatar
Ghost Prototype
Posts: 185
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 12:22 pm
Location: Philadelphia

Re: [Survey] How many of you CANNOT run GZDoom's OpenGL rend

Post by Ghost Prototype »

The updated Gzdoom can't handle having too many particles on screen at once unlike Gzdoom 2.1.0.
User avatar
juizzysquirt
Posts: 126
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 3:29 pm
Location: Knee-Deep in L.A. Meltdown

Re: [Survey] How many of you CANNOT run GZDoom's OpenGL rend

Post by juizzysquirt »

Hah, didn't realize this was such an old thread until I had already cast "Yes (perfect, smooth performance)".
User avatar
Rachael
Posts: 13629
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: [Survey] How many of you CANNOT run GZDoom's OpenGL rend

Post by Rachael »

Seeing as how this thread is so old I think a lot of what's been posted here may no longer be relevant, especially with the transition past GZDoom 1.8.x versions since that time which saw fundamental changes to GZDoom, itself. So therefore, I am going to lock it. It might be okay to create a new thread with a similar topic, in this case, though.

Return to “General”