Doom sprites HD (8x) version v03 released

Projects that have specifically been abandoned or considered "dead" get moved here, so people will quit bumping them. If your project has wound up here and it should not be, contact a moderator to have it moved back to the land of the living.
iLikeTheUDK
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue May 22, 2012 11:10 am
Location: Tel Mond, Israel

Re: Doom sprites HD (8x) version v03 released

Post by iLikeTheUDK »

Not so impressive. It just made everything have round edges (even the things which need to have angular edges!). And they all still look blurry. VERY blurry. We need to enhance the detail manually.
User avatar
RV-007
Posts: 1501
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 9:00 pm
Location: Dying w/ civilization or living after it

Re: Doom sprites HD (8x) version v03 released

Post by RV-007 »

While blurry, I must admit that the sprites are becoming image quality.
iLikeTheUDK
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue May 22, 2012 11:10 am
Location: Tel Mond, Israel

Re: Doom sprites HD (8x) version v03 released

Post by iLikeTheUDK »

What do you mean, becoming image quality?
User avatar
RV-007
Posts: 1501
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 9:00 pm
Location: Dying w/ civilization or living after it

Re: Doom sprites HD (8x) version v03 released

Post by RV-007 »

@ the very least, the sprites are distinctly recognizable from its pixelated counterpart. I guess there won't be blurs up front in the future.
User avatar
hfc2x
Posts: 645
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 11:37 am
Location: Chule

Re: DOOM64 Replacers n Stuff

Post by hfc2x »

Kaal979 wrote:These files are different from the old D64 wads and allow
direct replacing of original Doom2 monsters (but also weapons).
Also included are all stuffs like maps or textures.
The point of this post being...
User avatar
TheMorden
Posts: 72
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2012 7:09 am

Re: Doom sprites HD (8x) version v03 released

Post by TheMorden »

whats with everyone talking about doom 64
iLikeTheUDK
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue May 22, 2012 11:10 am
Location: Tel Mond, Israel

Re: Doom sprites HD (8x) version v03 released

Post by iLikeTheUDK »

I've been asking myself the EXACT same question.
User avatar
wildweasel
Moderator Team Lead
Posts: 21577
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Win10 22H2, Win11 22H2, macOS 11.7
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Doom sprites HD (8x) version v03 released

Post by wildweasel »

Because someone saw fit to spam about someone's Doom 64 project for no reason whatsoever. Hey, Kaal979, in the future, maybe don't do that, please?
User avatar
RaVeN-05
Posts: 286
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 5:57 am
Location: Ukraine

Re: Doom sprites HD (8x) version v03 released

Post by RaVeN-05 »

How about this 2x scaling method?
Spoiler: GIGANTIC IMAGES spoilered for bandwidth sanity. -mgmt
Last edited by wildweasel on Wed Oct 10, 2012 10:23 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: PLEASE use spoilers to contain large images!
iLikeTheUDK
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue May 22, 2012 11:10 am
Location: Tel Mond, Israel

Re: Doom sprites HD (8x) version v03 released

Post by iLikeTheUDK »

Nice, but not that detailed. You must understand that vector scaling is a no-go, at least as final results. It might be possible to use vector-scaled sprites as base, and then paint details onto them. But simply slapping vector scaling onto it and calling it HD sprites doesn't make it HD - It just makes it look...weird. It actually distorts it a bit.
User avatar
wildweasel
Moderator Team Lead
Posts: 21577
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Win10 22H2, Win11 22H2, macOS 11.7
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Doom sprites HD (8x) version v03 released

Post by wildweasel »

iLikeTheUDK wrote:But simply slapping vector scaling onto it and calling it HD sprites doesn't make it HD - It just makes it look...weird. It actually distorts it a bit.
Not to mention, GZDoom et al can actually do this in real-time, natively, by turning on the HQ2X/3X/4X scalers in OpenGL options. There's no point in doing it "manually" without touch-ups.
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26440
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: Doom sprites HD (8x) version v03 released

Post by Enjay »

HQ*X scaling can slow the game down in a way that resized sprites wouldn't but, agreed, this type of resizing really doesn't give much in the way of quality improvements (though it's not bad - I've certainly seen worse) and it doesn't really seem to be consistent with the aims of this project.
User avatar
Blox
Posts: 3728
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 9:35 am
Location: Apathetic Limbo

Re: Doom sprites HD (8x) version v03 released

Post by Blox »

You guys are really overestimating how good hq*x scaling is. It would likely blur the hell out of the sprites, and have plenty of very sharp artifact-looking edges.

Also that big tree looks really good.
iLikeTheUDK
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue May 22, 2012 11:10 am
Location: Tel Mond, Israel

Re: Doom sprites HD (8x) version v03 released

Post by iLikeTheUDK »

Blox wrote:You guys are really overestimating how good hq*x scaling is. It would likely blur the hell out of the sprites, and have plenty of very sharp artifact-looking edges.
You're pretty much repeating what I commented in different words.
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26440
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: Doom sprites HD (8x) version v03 released

Post by Enjay »

There is something odd about these images. If you zoom right in to the edges of any of the sprites you can see a border around each one that is a compromise between the colour of the sprite and the white background. Has the image host resized them or something?

Image

As an aside...
The management wrote:GIGANTIC IMAGES spoilered for bandwidth sanity. -mgmt
I was under the impression that the images still loaded if they were spoilered, they just aren't displayed. Is this incorrect?

Return to “Abandoned/Dead Projects”