IPX with Win32 ZDoom

Talk about multiplayer ZDoom games here.
Forum rules
Image
Anonymous

IPX with Win32 ZDoom

Post by Anonymous »

I have an old(ish) DOS box that is networked via IPX with my windows machine (for Dooming). I've tested this setup with the standard doom2.exe/doom.exe stuff and it works fine (eliminating the possibility of network error). Also, ipxsetup picks up the second node, and executes ZDoom.

The DOS version of ZDoom works fine via ipxsetup (apparently, anyhow. It does not crash until the other system does). The Win32 version (1.2.2 or 47.cab) does not.

Is it possible to use IPX with ZDoom ?

Thanks!

Cheers,
Blue
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
Posts: 4065
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 12:19 am
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Post by Kappes Buur »

This from the thread: modem support
randy wrote:
HotWax wrote:All of Doom's modem code has been ripped out from ZDoom. The only multiplayer support is now via TCP/IP.
Actually, there was never any modem code in Doom to begin with. It was all inside of sersetup.exe. Doom just had some stub routines that called into sersetup.exe to handle the connection.

And to be more accurate, the networking is actually UDP, not TCP, though most people probably don't know the difference, since they're both part of the Internet.
Alas, the same holds true for IPX networking.
User avatar
Hirogen2
Posts: 2033
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 6:15 am
Graphics Processor: Intel with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: Central Germany

Post by Hirogen2 »

Mighty Windows (or DirectPlay) does it all for you.
Thrasher
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 3:08 am
Location: Imperial Moon Base: Thal Vaishet

Post by Thrasher »

What sucks, is that the Windows OS is not cross compatible, I wasted over 3 hours trying to figure it out, finally one of my friends tole me that you can't connect Win98 with WinXP. Thanks alot Bill Gates, you jerk!

I'll have to wait untill september to get the new computer my Mom's friend is giving me. But at least I can run 2 Win98 machines so I can set up a cool multiplayer HeXen game. :D
User avatar
Sticky
Posts: 836
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2003 12:29 pm
Location: Denver, CO How do they get teflon to stick to the pan?

a jerk......

Post by Sticky »

There is some way to do it, but it's tricky I think.
I dunno, I'll have to talk to my uncle and find out what he did... until then, don't give up hope! :-)
boris
Posts: 713
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 3:37 pm

Post by boris »

Thrasher wrote:finally one of my friends tole me that you can't connect Win98 with WinXP
Haha that's complete bullshit.
User avatar
Use3d
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2003 12:06 am
Location: USA

Post by Use3d »

Thrasher wrote:What sucks, is that the Windows OS is not cross compatible, I wasted over 3 hours trying to figure it out, finally one of my friends tole me that you can't connect Win98 with WinXP.

Yeah, completely false. Not only do I play zDoom networked with my 98 machine and xp machine, I play other networked games too like q3a and diablo2 and several others.
Thrasher
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 3:08 am
Location: Imperial Moon Base: Thal Vaishet

Post by Thrasher »

There is some way to do it, but it's tricky I think.
I dunno, I'll have to talk to my uncle and find out what he did... until then, don't give up hope!
Does he know how to do it with a USB-USB Network Bridge cable?
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
Posts: 4065
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 12:19 am
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Post by Kappes Buur »

For USB network connectivity, I am almost certain that you need those:

http://www.dlink.com/products/?pid=134
User avatar
HotWax
Posts: 10002
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2003 6:18 pm
Location: Idaho Falls, ID

Post by HotWax »

Thrasher wrote:What sucks, is that the Windows OS is not cross compatible, I wasted over 3 hours trying to figure it out, finally one of my friends tole me that you can't connect Win98 with WinXP. Thanks alot Bill Gates, you jerk!
Ummm....

/me turns around to gaze at his GF's Win 98 machine.
/me checks the cabling and hub connecting his machine to hers.
/me brings up his XP run prompt and types //prit/c to make sure he can still access her hard drive.

Yeah, I think you might just be mistaken.
User avatar
randomlag
Posts: 405
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 10:10 pm

Post by randomlag »

Actually, there CAN be problems connection Win98 to XP. My 1 machine (of 4) originally refused to connect. All the addresses, etc were correct.

I think it has to do with how the browse master is set up. Anyway, that's how I fixed it. What you need to do is disable the browse master on the Win98 machine, reboot and try again.
User avatar
HotWax
Posts: 10002
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2003 6:18 pm
Location: Idaho Falls, ID

Post by HotWax »

Windows XP has a networking wizard, and while I typically loathe use of Wizards, one of its options is to make a disk that will automatically configure the other machines, including Win98 machines, for the network. I found that using such a disk was the easiest way to get the machines to talk to each other.
User avatar
Biff
Posts: 1061
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 5:29 pm
Location: Monrovia, CA, USA

Post by Biff »

I've had people come to LAN parties with XP and I have win98 on my machines. They were able to network but had to work at a few settings, I didn't pay attention because of distractions. Here's what the worthy doomer LordUnum had to say when I asked him about the process:


Hmmm... well to start, XP has a ton of built-in drivers for generic and
popular net adapters. Mine was detected automatically. Proceed as you
would w/9x (ensuring that the adapter appears in Device Manager).
Right-click on 'My Network Places' or click on 'Network Connections' in
Control Panel. If it hasn't been run before, click on 'New Connection
Wizard.' A dialog-box will pop-up asking for area-code and dialing info
(modem setup). That can be filled out or canceled. Of the listed
options, select 'Setup a home or small office network.' If one didn't
exist before, a 'Local Area Connection' will now be listed under
'Network Connections.'

Clicking on the 'Local Area Connection' will bring up the connection's
status which'll show basic info like throughput the length and speed of
connection (10mbps, 100mbps, etc.). Clicking on 'Properties' will
introduce a menu similar to that brought up when right-clicking 'Network
Neighborhood' in Windows 9x. Aside from indicating the PC’s name and
workgroup (that info will be found in ‘Control Panel => System’ under
‘Computer Name’), it’ll be much like 9x again from here on out (make
sure TCP is installed, proper IP’s indicated, etc.).

What I did in the command line at the LAN BTW was just use ipconfig to
release and renew IP info on the adapter. Why MS didn’t include winipcfg
to neatly do this from the GUI like in 9x is beyond me.
User avatar
Hirogen2
Posts: 2033
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 6:15 am
Graphics Processor: Intel with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: Central Germany

Post by Hirogen2 »

And I doubt you will be able to play DOS-DOOM-IPX with ZDoom-IPX
User avatar
randomlag
Posts: 405
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 10:10 pm

Post by randomlag »

Read about what BrowseMaster does and then you'll see why this becomes a problem.

http://www.wown.com/j_helmig/browse.htm

Briefly somebody looks over all the machines and no wizard will fix this potential problem on the Win98 machine. This is mostly a problem for existing Win98 networks. The ordering of the network has a great deal of influence.

So some people get it working just like that and others tear their hair out.

There was originally a similar problem with Win95 and Win98 machines.

Return to “Networking”