Winter's Fury

New maps, and other projects whose primary focus is new maps, belong here.

Note: This forum, and all forums below it, are not for questions or troubleshooting! Threads created here are for active projects only! If you have questions please feel free to use the Editing subforums or General forum.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
ChronoSeth
Posts: 1631
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 2:04 pm
Location: British Columbia

Re: Winter's Fury: 1.2 Polish Update

Post by ChronoSeth »

Hareton wrote:Artificial difficulty is a feature of console games, which don't have any other way to find depth in gameplay.
Boss fights generally are console games feature, especially scripted ones.
Such things are of modern scripted corridor shooters and despicable cinematic games. Good PC games are interactive, not cinematic (passive) experience.
There is so much wrong with this that I don't even know where to begin.
Pyroscourge
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 2:04 am
Location: Australia

Re: Winter's Fury

Post by Pyroscourge »

idGamer wrote:Also, do those white flowers have some hidden meaning? I've played up to halfway through MAP02, and I've already seen one on each level.
Pyroscourge wrote:
Spoiler:
Hareton wrote: - difficulty level is wrong. There are too few medkits, and of course I played on easiest.
Damn, I was hoping that I had got the easier difficulty levels to be something that is actually easy, but I guess not. Perhaps reducing the amount of enemies and increasing the amount of health in some areas will help ease it off a bit. It's hard to get testing for the easier difficulties since many people around here can do Doom 2 with their eyes closed with only the chainsaw, and naturally play on the hardest/second hardest difficulty.Thanks for the heads up.
Hareton wrote: - boss fights, they were so sad and bad that I get through them on iddqd.
It's a shame you didn't enjoy the boss battles. However, I don't have any intention of changing them regardless of how much of a hit or miss they were.
Hareton wrote: - The scene in the first level when monster appears with dramatic music and you have to fight without way of escape.
Hah, the ONE cinematic that I keep in like that comes back to haunt me! :P
The only reason why I kept this in was so that the quiet atmosphere could transition nicely to the music, but if enough people dislike it I can cull this final interruption of gameplay. Also, you can escape. Just jump back through the window or open the door to continue. Not saying the imp won't chase you, though.
Hareton wrote: - Stop using fucking screen shake effects (rocket launcher, boss battles), it gives some people eye pain.
I apologize, but out of the some people who get eye pain you mentioned, you are the very first that I have seen to ever point out this problem. I don't think I will remove every single quake effect in the mod though. I feel like there may be a way to modify ZDoom's code to make the radius_quake() script not actually work, but I wouldn't really know. I apologize again for any inconvenience it caused.
User avatar
Captain J
 
 
Posts: 16857
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 2:20 am
Location: A Year old Pizza Box

Re: Winter's Fury: 1.2 Polish Update

Post by Captain J »

i thought that quake effects were harmless to me, maybe you should make those quakes little bit lower.

also, that's right. difficulty is the major problem of this game. well, i can manages to beat the bosses down, though. if you want to do that, don't forget the vanilla difficulty setting; easier difficultys should be lower the enemies amount also damages, and set hard ones oppositely of course.

and third difficulty is enough for gameplay, and others are doesn't.
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17718
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: Winter's Fury: 1.2 Polish Update

Post by Gez »

Thread says it's a Polish Update, but I see nothing from Poland in the mod. :P
Pyroscourge
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 2:04 am
Location: Australia

Re: Winter's Fury: 1.2 Polish Update

Post by Pyroscourge »

Ethril wrote:so what language is the next update going to be?
Gez wrote:Thread says it's a Polish Update, but I see nothing from Poland in the mod. :P
I already made a compilation of the 'looks cool' jokes, do I have to do this too? :P
User avatar
Hareton
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2013 2:59 am

Re: Winter's Fury: 1.2 Polish Update

Post by Hareton »

I feel like there may be a way to modify ZDoom's code to make the radius_quake() script not actually work, but I wouldn't really know.
Great clue, it could remove the problem in all mods that use screen shake, so I will check it out.
User avatar
Captain J
 
 
Posts: 16857
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 2:20 am
Location: A Year old Pizza Box

Re: Winter's Fury: 1.2 Polish Update

Post by Captain J »

or, you can less the number of quake values.
Pyroscourge wrote:
Ethril wrote:so what language is the next update going to be?
Gez wrote:Thread says it's a Polish Update, but I see nothing from Poland in the mod. :P
I already made a compilation of the 'looks cool' jokes, do I have to do this too? :P
oh, you guys. i really love this happen when it has a different meanings.
User avatar
Patriot1776
Posts: 425
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2008 10:24 am
Location: Moonshine Still, North Carolina Mountains

Re: Winter's Fury: 1.2 Polish Update

Post by Patriot1776 »

Gotta agree. Difficulty is still way too high, and I was playing on 'Frostbite' difficulty. Still not near enough medkits/soulspheres/megaspheres for the number of enemies in later levels of it. I'm especially one really apt to point this out because I do have lots and lots going on away from the computer and so do not play this game as much as I once did, and simply cannot afford the time dedication to get my skills super sharp again. Did get through the second boss battle, where you first fight the Ice Cyberdemon, without cheating a single bit up to that point. But after that, especially in the shipping/receiving bay, first had to use them to make it, and the need for cheats just kept going up and up after that.

'The Void' was absolutely impossible without cheats, to say nothing about the final one. On the the 'Void', the enemies are too freaking strong and hard to see and the fact their attacks might as well completely bypass your armor, combined with being too numerous, made that level completely unfair. Now granted, I did not find a BFG before that point, and there may not be one even in the game, but the 'Void' and the final level deserve to have a BFG available at the lower two skill levels.
User avatar
Ed the Bat
Posts: 3060
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 1:18 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Maryland, US

Re: Winter's Fury: 1.2 Polish Update

Post by Ed the Bat »

http://edthebat.com/doom/Winterexp.wad
Hope I'm not overstepping any boundaries with this, but I've taken the liberty of fixing a few technical issues with this project. In terms of visible changes, I fixed the problem with certain guns not putting themselves away when out of ammo, and set the new Berserk to actually select this player's melee weapon instead of "Fists", which he doesn't have. I also did some under-the-hood work, such as fixing the formatting/cleaning up poor practices in DECORATE (there's still so much more to do, but I've already reduced it by over 600kb of bloat), condensing various common scripts/functions into a Library, moving the Snow and Torch toggles from keybinds to CVARs (available in the options menu), and of course, moving the playerclass to MAPINFO. :P

There's still more that can be fixed. For instance, I notice that pressing Fire to skip a cutscene actually literally fires the player's weapon, meaning he may start one bullet shy. It really should be rewritten with GetPlayerInput instead.

Aside from all of this, it SHOULD run exactly the same as the current official version (1.2), so if I messed anything up, please let me know.
Pyroscourge
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 2:04 am
Location: Australia

Re: Winter's Fury: 1.2 Polish Update

Post by Pyroscourge »

Thank you very much for this Ed! It really should be something I should do myself but when I do think about it, it causes me to remember the colossal mess that everything is and I quickly shy away from the idea. Many of the poor scripting practices that are in there are mostly due to my poor ACS/DECORATE knowledge back in 2009, and throughout the project I was too lazy to go back and change things once I learnt better ways to do them. Granted, even now I wouldn't be able to do it the best way, so it wouldn't make that much of a difference.

Regardless, it's great to see you were able to survive the onslaught that laid within the code!
User avatar
Ed the Bat
Posts: 3060
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 1:18 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Maryland, US

Re: Winter's Fury: 1.2 Polish Update

Post by Ed the Bat »

Pyroscourge wrote:Thank you very much for this Ed! ...it's great to see you were able to survive the onslaught that laid within the code!
My pleasure! I consider this a particular talent of mine. I'm nowhere near as creative a content producer as you, or many others in the community, but I fancy myself one heck of a code doctor! :)
User avatar
Average
Posts: 626
Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 4:28 am

Re: Winter's Fury: 1.2 Polish Update

Post by Average »

Hey Ed. Should your above WAD be run alongside Pyroscourge's or is it standalone? Sorry if that's a silly question!

@Pyroscourge: Expect a PM anon. :)
User avatar
Captain J
 
 
Posts: 16857
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 2:20 am
Location: A Year old Pizza Box

Re: Winter's Fury: 1.2 Polish Update

Post by Captain J »

or, he'll combine ed's wad if he liked it much, though.
User avatar
Ed the Bat
Posts: 3060
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 1:18 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Maryland, US

Re: Winter's Fury: 1.2 Polish Update

Post by Ed the Bat »

Average wrote:Hey Ed. Should your above WAD be run alongside Pyroscourge's or is it standalone? Sorry if that's a silly question!
It's standalone. I would've made it just a simple patch (to save on download size), but some of the stuff I changed wouldn't really mesh kindly with the existing official version, so I went ahead and made it a complete rebuild.
Captain J wrote:or, he'll combine ed's wad if he liked it much, though.
Yep. If my adjustments meet Pyro's approval, I would assume they would, soon enough, become part of the official build. But yes, if you'd like to try out my changes before that, you're more than welcome to run the build I linked.
User avatar
Hareton
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2013 2:59 am

Re: Winter's Fury: 1.2 Polish Update

Post by Hareton »

Captain J wrote:or, you can less the number of quake values.
How is it done, in zdoom or in the wad?

Return to “Levels”