[WIP]4xHi-res Sprites... and 4xHD?

For high-res texture/sprite projects, sprite-fix patches, music add-ons, music randomizers, and other graphic/sound-only projects.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
cq75
Posts: 1212
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 9:28 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Just beyond the line horizon

Re: 4x Hi-res Sprites [WIP]

Post by cq75 »

Chex quest is kind of anime style...

I'm going to go into 3d models eventually, I was thinking of starting with the chex quy as my first real model, I might do a few doom models after that for practice.
User avatar
Spleen
Posts: 497
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2008 7:07 pm

Re: 4x Hi-res Sprites [WIP]

Post by Spleen »

cq75 wrote:Chex quest is kind of anime style...
:lol:


Umm.. I meant more in the style of Final Fantasy 6 or Ragnarok Online.
User avatar
NeuralStunner
 
 
Posts: 12305
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:04 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: capital N, capital S, no space

Re: 4x Hi-res Sprites [WIP]

Post by NeuralStunner »

[quote="cq75"]I'm going to go into 3d models eventually, I was thinking Whatever you do, do not ignore the sprites' proportions. Some of the DooM models I've seen are terribly disproportionate to the point of looking silly. :(
CaptainToenail
Posts: 3975
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 9:16 am

Re: 4x Hi-res Sprites [WIP]

Post by CaptainToenail »

Um yeah, Chex Quest is about as anime as Scooby Doo.

Has anyone considered making *real* models and photographing them, like id originally did? Maybe you could pay one of those 'custom action-figure' dweebs to construct them? :lol:
User avatar
Caligari87
User Accounts Assistant
Posts: 6000
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 3:02 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him

Re: 4x Hi-res Sprites [WIP]

Post by Caligari87 »

I have, for a horror project I'll probably never finish. If I ever get around to actually making said model, I'll be sure to post it :D

8-)
User avatar
phi108
Posts: 976
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 6:28 pm

Re: 4x Hi-res Sprites [WIP]

Post by phi108 »

Gregor Punchatz said on the ZBrush forums that he still has the spider mastermind. He might be willing to take pictures of 16 angles at high resolution... (and of course vertical above and below angles for that extra realism when looking down at it).
User avatar
Salad Viking
Posts: 752
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 8:58 pm
Location: In high orbit

Re: 4x Hi-res Sprites [WIP]

Post by Salad Viking »

Strife had a unique hand-drawn style and plenty of hand-drawn artwork, but that seems to be the closest Doom has gotten to seeing Japanese art. I don't care much for Asian art styles. I prefer western art.
User avatar
ShadesMaster
Posts: 657
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 2:05 am

Re: 4x Hi-res Sprites [WIP]

Post by ShadesMaster »

Not a bad method... not bad at all!!!!
User avatar
Pandut
Posts: 231
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 4:47 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: existential dread

Re: 4x Hi-res Sprites [WIP]

Post by Pandut »

I followed your little video tut on how to make HD sprites, for something I'm working on that needs a little polishing due to horrendous speckling. However, when I re-convert it to the Doom palette, the image creates a black background whenever I try to upload into my mod via Slumped. Not sure if it's the Wad editor I'm using or if I'm just doing it wrong. I didn't watch your video all the way through, so I won't be surprised if you already covered that issue XD or if it was answered in the comments section on this thread, I have a tendency to overlook thing >_<.

I have to say, the work you've accomplished is incredible, however how would you go about exporting these into doom? Usually when I have a good graphic/sprite and convert it using the Doom palette (I have no idea how to save/get palette's for say, Heretic or Strife) the color scheme gets messed up so I have to go through every single frame and work out the color issues which takes quite a bit and the overall quality suffers.

Overall, good luck on this mod. It looks awesome, mate! :wub:

EDIT: Dammit, just saw that you noted to not ask you about the matter here. Urgh :(.
Last edited by Pandut on Thu Nov 11, 2010 2:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
TheMistress
Posts: 304
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 12:18 pm

Re: 4x Hi-res Sprites [WIP]

Post by TheMistress »

Pandut wrote:I followed your little video tut on how to make HD sprites, for something I'm working on that needs a little polishing due to horrendous speckling. However, when I re-convert it to the Doom palette, the image creates a black background whenever I try to upload into my mod via Slumped. Not sure if it's the Wad editor I'm using or if I'm just doing it wrong. I didn't watch your video all the way through, so I won't be surprised if you already covered that issue XD or if it was answered in the comments section on this thread, I have a tendency to overlook thing >_<.

I have to say, the work you've accomplished is incredible, however how would you go about exporting these into doom? Usually when I have a good graphic/sprite and convert it using the Doom palette (I have no idea how to save/get palette's for say, Heretic or Strife) the color scheme gets messed up so I have to go through every single frame and work out the color issues which takes quite a bit and the overall quality suffers.

Overall, good luck on this mod. It looks awesome, mate! :wub:
You first need to make it transparent, If i'm right its cyan wich is doom's transparant color, If i remember well someone once told me XWE automaticly made it transparent.
User avatar
NeuralStunner
 
 
Posts: 12305
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:04 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: capital N, capital S, no space

Re: 4x Hi-res Sprites [WIP]

Post by NeuralStunner »

TheMistress wrote:If i'm right its cyan wich is doom's transparant color
Better get your flak jacket on.

[wiki=File:Doompalette.gif]DooM's palette[/wiki] has no transparent color. Transparency is achieved literally by lack of pixels.
TheMistress wrote:If i remember well someone once told me XWE automaticly made it transparent.
This is true however, as XWE makes a few dumb assumptions.
User avatar
Shadelight
Posts: 5113
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 11:16 am
Location: Labrynna

Re: 4x Hi-res Sprites [WIP]

Post by Shadelight »

TheMistress wrote:You first need to make it transparent, If i'm right its cyan wich is doom's transparant color, If i remember well someone once told me XWE automaticly made it transparent.
No. We are not having another one of these arguments. :|

Edit: Arrrgh, ninja'd.
CO2
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 9:24 am

Re: 4x Hi-res Sprites [WIP]

Post by CO2 »

NeuralStunner wrote:[wiki=File:Doompalette.gif]DooM's palette[/wiki] has no transparent color.
This also means flats cannot have "holes" in them.
User avatar
Pandut
Posts: 231
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 4:47 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: existential dread

Re: 4x Hi-res Sprites [WIP]

Post by Pandut »

Alright, I think I got a way to fix it. Make the smudge adjustments, then flatten the image, that gets rid of the transparent background but also rectifies any dead/transparent pixels, then add the image to Alpha Channel and blammo -- No more black background. It's working so far, so heres to hoping.
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17719
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: 4x Hi-res Sprites [WIP]

Post by Gez »

NeuralStunner wrote:
TheMistress wrote:If i remember well someone once told me XWE automaticly made it transparent.
This is true however, as XWE makes a few dumb assumptions.
Slumped too; which is why I encourage everyone who uses it to upgrade to Slade 3. It's the new Slumped, made by the same guy, except it's less buggy and all-around better.

Return to “Graphic/Audio Patches”