[Sprites] Doom 64 reloading animations (UPDATE - Chaingun!)

Sprites, textures, sounds, code, and other resources belong here. Share and share-alike!
Forum rules
Before posting your Resource, please make sure you can answer YES to any of the following questions:
  • Is the resource ENTIRELY my own work?
  • If no to the previous one, do I have permission from the original author?
  • If no to the previous one, did I put a reasonable amount of work into the resource myself, such that the changes are noticeably different from the source that I could take credit for them?
If you answered no to all three, maybe you should consider taking your stuff somewhere other than the Resources forum.

Consult the Resource/Request Posting Guidelines for more information.

Please don't put requests here! They have their own forum --> here. Thank you!
User avatar
Cage
Posts: 471
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2006 2:47 pm
Location: San Escobar

Re: [Sprites] Doom 64 reloading animations (UPDATE!)

Post by Cage »

Here's the sprite sheet with plain doom hands and unconverted to D64 colours, if someone wants to mess around ;) I don't have time myself
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Captain Awesome
Posts: 580
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 2:17 pm
Location: U.S.A.

Re: [Sprites] Doom 64 reloading animations (UPDATE!)

Post by Captain Awesome »

Ceeb wrote:
Captain Awesome wrote:Not conceited, I promise!
I call BS.
Whatever, have fun trolling.

Anyways, thanks Cage. I'll maybe take a look at it in Photoshop later. :thumb:
User avatar
Lexus Alyus
Posts: 4220
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:07 pm
Location: Nottingham, UK

Re: [Sprites] Doom 64 reloading animations (UPDATE!)

Post by Lexus Alyus »

@Captain Awsome: I think people fully understood what you first said. Dooms pallett only has 256 colours, so if you take a high colour image that uses lots of shades of the same colour (or lotws of colours that are way out of dooms pallet) then you can loose considerable detail when convering it to a much lesser colour pallet (we're talkng between 64 thousend (16 bit) up to like 16 million (24 bit) colours! Big difference).

Can regular ZDoom use more than 256 colours? If it can then there is no need to convert to the Doom pallet. If not, I see the problem...
User avatar
wildweasel
Posts: 21706
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): A lot of them
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Re: [Sprites] Doom 64 reloading animations (UPDATE!)

Post by wildweasel »

Lexus Alyus wrote:Can regular ZDoom use more than 256 colours? If it can then there is no need to convert to the Doom pallet. If not, I see the problem...
It will only do so on computers with appropriate video hardware. My laptop will not do this properly, for example, as the S3 SavageIX chipset does not have sufficient Direct3D support to do it.
User avatar
Chris
Posts: 2945
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 12:07 am
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support

Re: [Sprites] Doom 64 reloading animations (UPDATE!)

Post by Chris »

wildweasel wrote:
Lexus Alyus wrote:Can regular ZDoom use more than 256 colours? If it can then there is no need to convert to the Doom pallet. If not, I see the problem...
It will only do so on computers with appropriate video hardware. My laptop will not do this properly, for example, as the S3 SavageIX chipset does not have sufficient Direct3D support to do it.
Should note, though, that ZDoom will load true-color PNGs (or PNGs with a different palette) just fine. It automatically converts them to the game's palette as needed.
User avatar
Ghastly
... in rememberance ...
Posts: 6109
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 2:34 pm

Re: [Sprites] Doom 64 reloading animations (UPDATE!)

Post by Ghastly »

Will you be making a smoother animation for the Chaingun, as well?
User avatar
mathey bu
Posts: 120
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 9:39 am

Re: [Sprites] Doom 64 reloading animations (UPDATE!)

Post by mathey bu »

hey man i am working in a new system of doom 64, i like these types of animationm, can you allow me to use?
User avatar
Cage
Posts: 471
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2006 2:47 pm
Location: San Escobar

Re: [Sprites] Doom 64 reloading animations (UPDATE!)

Post by Cage »

Ghastly_dragon wrote:Will you be making a smoother animation for the Chaingun, as well?
Maybe :) For sure not a the moment
mathey bu wrote:hey man i am working in a new system of doom 64, i like these types of animationm, can you allow me to use?
Sure, just give credit please.
User avatar
mathey bu
Posts: 120
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 9:39 am

Re: [Sprites] Doom 64 reloading animations (UPDATE!)

Post by mathey bu »

ok, thanks.
User avatar
Captain Awesome
Posts: 580
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 2:17 pm
Location: U.S.A.

Re: [Sprites] Doom 64 reloading animations (UPDATE!)

Post by Captain Awesome »

Lexus Alyus wrote:@Captain Awsome: I think people fully understood what you first said. Dooms pallett only has 256 colours, so if you take a high colour image that uses lots of shades of the same colour (or lotws of colours that are way out of dooms pallet) then you can loose considerable detail when convering it to a much lesser colour pallet (we're talkng between 64 thousend (16 bit) up to like 16 million (24 bit) colours! Big difference).

Can regular ZDoom use more than 256 colours? If it can then there is no need to convert to the Doom pallet. If not, I see the problem...
I am an 8-bit artist/spriter/whatever you want to call it. I convert palettes all the time. I know very well what all this means. I am in no way trying to sound condescending with that. My intention with my request to Cage was that he made these weapons less Doom64 and more Doom I-II. Either way, he's too busy to do this himself so just drop it.
User avatar
DenisBelmondo
Posts: 380
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 6:26 pm
Location: Two-Key Return

Re: [Sprites] Doom 64 reloading animations (UPDATE!)

Post by DenisBelmondo »

Oh my Lord...
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17839
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: [Sprites] Doom 64 reloading animations (UPDATE!)

Post by Gez »

About the palette issue, let's not forget that Doom 64 uses 256 colors per weapon. Doom uses 256 colors for everything. Shoehorning the 256 distinct colors into just one range of maybe 16 colors is going to result in palette-rape, whatever you do.
Last edited by Gez on Thu May 13, 2010 5:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
scalliano
Posts: 2848
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2005 1:16 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: [Sprites] Doom 64 reloading animations (UPDATE!)

Post by scalliano »

Captain Awesome wrote:My intention with my request to Cage was that he made these weapons less Doom64 and more Doom I-II.
Kind of defeats the purpose, doesn't it?
User avatar
Ceeb
Posts: 5125
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 4:07 pm
Location: Castle Wut

Re: [Sprites] Doom 64 reloading animations (UPDATE!)

Post by Ceeb »

Gez wrote:About the palette issue, let's not forget that Doom 64 uses 256 colors per weapon. Doom uses 256 colors for everything. Shoehorning the 256 distinct colors into just one range of maybe 16 colors is going to result in palette-rape, whatever you do.
Who figured that out, anyway? My money is on Kaiser, he knows every-goddamn-thing Doom 64. :P
User avatar
DOOMERO-21
Posts: 1423
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 10:02 pm
Location: Chile

Re: [Sprites] Doom 64 reloading animations (UPDATE!)

Post by DOOMERO-21 »

oh nice concept! will be very cool doom 64 with those reloading sprites...is possible remade the revenant, chaingunner or mastermind with the doom 64 colors?

Return to “Resources”